We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice lunch on a snowy afternoon.”
Review of Powers Irish Pub

Powers Irish Pub
Ranked #34 of 152 Restaurants in Clifton Park
Price range: $10 - $20
Cuisines: Irish, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch
Description: Power's is set in a 225 year old historical inn. Featuring classy comfort food, 3 daily specials made to order and 18 rotating craft beers on draft. We have 8 charming dinning rooms all with private seating and cozy corners. Or have the time of your life at our historic Irish pub
Reviewed January 9, 2018

First time here since it was The Old Dater Inn. Nice lunch in the bar area. All on the wait team were very friendly and helpful. Good selection of better than average pub grub. We enjoyed beer & wine w/ our sandwich & salad. Very good value in an unhurried atmosphere. We will stop back for sure.

Date of visit: December 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank napngs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BGiffy, Owner at Powers Irish Pub, responded to this reviewResponded January 11, 2018

Thank you so much for stopping in. Cheers

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (75)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

11 - 15 of 75 reviews

Reviewed December 3, 2017

Having lived in the UK for years, I can be picky when a place calls itself a pub here. We were here for a girls afternoon out. I had the ruben, and the others had sandwiches as well. All were good, with large portions of fries, onion rings etc. I think it would be a great place to meet for drinks and casual fare. Hoping to try dinner there soon, maybe outside of sandwiches the pub food maybe more authentic. Although, their shepherds pie is made with beef, which is actually called cottage pie. Shepherds pie is made with lamb, see, there I go again, being a pub snob!

Date of visit: November 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Marca P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2017 via mobile

We stopped for our first visit on an early Thursday evening. Bar was crowded nobody using the 5 or 6 small Dining Rooms. Hostess greeted us and took us to a tiny room with little light upstairs which appeared to be in an attic. We asked to be put in a larger room with more light. Remember we were the only diners in the restaurant. The hostess who seemed upset. took, us to another room. We ordered gourmet hamburgers. They were dry and tasteless. The coleslaw was good. Waitress was excellent. Needless to say we were thankful we didn’t try the dinner menu. All in all good coleslaw, good waitress, unrecognizable hamburger.

Date of visit: October 2017
Thank medster77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2017

Our son brought us here for dinner for the first time. Our waitress was fast and friendly. We ordered wings which were very good. My husband had the meatloaf which he said was delicious. The rest of us ordered sandwiches which we all enjoyed.

Date of visit: August 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Darlene W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2017

We had dinner there last night and when the bill came I was astonished at the number of up charges on the bill. We were never advised that the selections we were offered with our meal at the time of ordering all came with additional charges. All the selections were presented to us as part of the meal price. They also did this to the drinks we ordered. We asked to speak with the manager who did admit that some of the charges were incorrect but only removed a few dollars and said they would not remove any additional charges. We have been to this restaurant a number of times but we will not be going back. It's unethical to up charge customers without telling them. Bad practice.

Date of visit: August 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank freda4950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BGiffy, Owner at Powers Irish Pub, responded to this reviewResponded August 25, 2017

I'm very sorry for any misunderstandings you had with your dining experience with us. All the upcharges for the hand battered onion rings and side salad sides are clearly listed on the menu with the sandwiches/burgers as they are not the normal French fries. The additional drink charges are standard additions as the order was for 2- local Pick 6 Vodka Martini's not a standard vodka and soda. When a 10oz glass of straight signature liqour is ordered I'm sure, one would expect to pay more then $6.50 for it.
Our manager was trying to take some charges off in good faith and customer service, but nothing unethical was performed by our family owned restaurant.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Powers Irish Pub also viewed

 

Been to Powers Irish Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing