We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“nice surprise”
Review of Shalimar

Shalimar
Ranked #15 of 141 Restaurants in Clifton Park
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
NY state
Level Contributor
32 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“nice surprise”
Reviewed August 4, 2012

We were there last night as a group of 5. Fri night. We called earlier and asked if they could get us a table. The man said they were full, but come on in. By the time we got there - 6:30 on Fri - we got a table right away! Our younger folks (in their 20s) all love the buffet. My husband and I ordered from the menu. Food was great - even though some spicy dishes were not spicy enough for my husband. I LOVED lamb makhani.
Best of all was staff. very helpful, well-mannered, patient, accommodating. Tables were set up with enough space to actually go back and forth to buffet and to be able to carry on a conversation at our table without having to yell over the noise. Lovely inexpensive restaurant!

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank aglow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    60
    28
    8
    2
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
New York
Level Contributor
31 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“A Hidden Gem”
Reviewed June 25, 2012

The Shalimar Indian Restaurant is a small place located in the Price Chopper Plaza. It has the best Lunch Buffet and now offers a Dinner Buffet Friday, Saturday and Sunday. This hidden gem has the best indian food and the prices are extremely affordable. The gentlemen that wait on you are desperate to make sure your dining experience is one of the best, very attentive to your needs. The Chicken Massala and the Chicken or Shrimp Vandeloo are my favorites. Don't miss out on this great restaurant !! As they say "Try it you'll like/love it"

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank sholla5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
77 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Nice lunch Buffet”
Reviewed June 23, 2012

I had a quick lunch here in June. There were enough choices, the food was fresh and not bland nor too spicy. Typical Indian buffet fare, pakora, dal, butter and tandori chicken. Nothing spectacular but not bad at all

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank DTTAMPA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Pierce,FL
Level Contributor
26 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great Indian Food”
Reviewed May 17, 2012

Had the Lunch Buffet, which is a bargain at 6.99. All items were good and plentyful. We go there once a month.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank oceanvillage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York State
Level Contributor
28 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Best in the area!”
Reviewed April 1, 2012

Hands down, they have the best lunch buffet in the area. I hate buffets, but their food is incredible! Great variety, excellent quality, and always fresh. Best Chicken Tikaa Masala and kheer (rice pudding) in the Capital District. Topped off with mango juice or a mango lassi - yum!

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank I_am_Bliss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shalimar also viewed

 

Been to Shalimar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing