We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Seafood Platter”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Matt's Cape House

Matt's Cape House
Ranked #38 of 138 Restaurants in Clifton Park
Price range: $5 - $30
Cuisines: American, Healthy, Seafood, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: New England style, family owned and operated business providing the freshest seafood in the Capital Region. Straight from the Coast!
Clifton Park, New York
Level Contributor
148 reviews
104 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Great Seafood Platter”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2013

Went here for dinner last night and loved the Seafood Platter. Shrimp and scallops especially good. We all had the chowder too and loved it. Informal, reasonable, and FRESH seafood.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Ellen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    12
    5
    5
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cossayuna, New York
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Love the Fried Oysters!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2013

Can't eat fried like I use to (an age thing:(, but do love their fried oysters and do stop and have sometimes and "get away w/ it!!". Husband likes the same, but he has the same problem w/ fried foods too. but we manage to do OK, not heavy batter, not greasy. Always a treat!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Cossayuna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, NY
Level Contributor
151 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Great Seafood in Upstate NY”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2011

We went several nights ago for a fun date night, we had both been craving lobster rolls for a couple weeks and boy did these hit the spot! We ordered mozzarella sticks, two lobster rolls (they come with two sides) and drinks all for $34, which I think was a great deal. The food came out fast and was fresh. We ordered the lobster rolls warm, they came on large buns and were piled high with tender large chunks of tail and claw. There was butter you could add if you wanted. I ordered fries and coleslaw, the fries were crispy and hot and the coleslaw was nice and creamy with a good consistency, not too runny. He also ordered fries and the potato salad which he said was very good as well. Service was prompt and friendly, we had a great time and can't wait to go back.

  • Visited August 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank athena15AlbanyNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cohoes, NY
Level Contributor
209 reviews
167 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“A good meal at a good price”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2011

Last night my husband and I went to Matt's for dinner. We go here when we are in the mood for seafood and want to be casual. Matt's is a no frills kind of place: clean, counter service, seat yourself dining room,and picnic place settings. The seafood is excellent:their lobster roll is my favorite, I have also eaten their shrimp, haddock and whole belly clams. All of their seafood is fresh, tasty and large portions. Most meals come with 2 sides. I really like their coleslaw. Their lobster bisque and clam chowder are filled with flavor. When I eat at Matt's, I feel as though I am at the New England shore. A good meal at a good price.

  • Visited June 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank smartcookie1916
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fresh seafood, terrific staff.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2010

Great food at reasonable prices. One of those spots you'll find yourself adding to your list of favorites. Staff is exceptionally friendly.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank David_B_Russell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Matt's Cape House also viewed

 

Been to Matt's Cape House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing