We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Family Dinner!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
1000 Islands Harbor Hotel
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Clayton
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 26, 2014

On August 5, 2014 the Herington Family had their annual family week dinner party at the 1000 Islands Harbor Hotel. Our party dinner took place on the outside patio. We were served by Amy H and Mary. The service was excellent, with the servers being very hospitable and professional. The setting was outstanding. The food quality was very good. We were very pleased with our evening at the new 1000 Islands Harbor hotel.

The Herington Family

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Bruce L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (496)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

463 - 469 of 496 reviews

Reviewed August 24, 2014

We visited the Thousand Islands region during the first week of August 2014. Family of four with two young teenagers. The hotel is brand new and beautiful. The rooms are very nice -- hard wood floors, which added a touch of charm. Great views of the St. Lawrence river. The outdoor area of the hotel in the lobby is a great place to relax, grab a drink and take in the views. The location of the hotel is charming. Clayton is a tiny little hamlet, along the river, perfect for a short stroll. This is place for calm and small-town charm, family oriented, with some good restaurants.

The service at the hotel was earnest, but they still have some learning to do -- it's obvious the hotel is new and they are just getting their act together; long wait time for the waitress to bring around our drinks, but we were not in a rush. The food at the hotel's restaurant was ok, but not great. There are better options in the town itself.

Overall, a very nice experience and a nice place to stay if visiting the Thousand Islands region with the family.

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank jemabel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2014

We stayed at this hotel in August. We had traveled to Clayton to meet old friends and have dinner, so decided to book a room and stay the night.
The room we had was on the parking lot side of the hotel, therefore no river view, but a bit less expensive because of that. The hotel hasn't been open for long and it still has a very new feeling to it. It will need some time to settle into it's own "character". However, the furnishings and finishes are well chosen and everything was new and clean.
It was raining the evening we were there, but we ate lunch at the restaurant and sat outside. There are beautiful seating arrangements overlooking the river with fire bowls and shade which would have been a lovely place to have a drink in the evening if it wasn't so wet that day.
The rooms were lovely and new, crisp white linens and clean bedspreads! Lots of extra pillows and blankets if you need them. Nice flooring with no carpet, which I find much more hygienic. The one thing I think some families may miss is that it has a beautiful walk in shower, but no tub. Perhaps some of the rooms have a tub, but ours didn't. We also liked that it has a no pet policy. Although we love animals, allergies prevent us from sharing sleeping space with them. The front desk staff and any staff we crossed paths with in the hallways and elevators were friendly.
I also loved that there was free coffee available in the hallway on each floor in the morning. Nice to take one to your room while you get ready to go. We would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: I heard someone complaining at the front desk that the dinging elevator doors had disturbed their re...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank snowdespisers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2014

The hotel is brand new and has been open a little over a month. We checked into the admiral suite to find the room pretty dusty and counter tops sticky. The outdoor balcony also had ashes on the table tops. Supposed to be non smoking. We were then moved to an end room, which we liked much better. Still had a floor with crumbs and ring marks on the table top and counters. After complaining the cleaning crew came up and cleaned the room better for us. The only rooms that seemed to be spotless was the bathroom and bedroom. The living spaces needed better attention to detail.
The staff was fabulous, would give them all 5 star rating. Everyone single employee treats you as family. There were several that really stood out such as Christian, Sammy and Morgan. We stayed for 4 nights and the only complaint would be the cleanliness of our room.
Forgot to mention that the A/C unit was quite loud in the bedroom also.

Room Tip: The end rooms are fantastic as there are 2 balconies. The view of the harbor is fantastic too.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Carol F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2014

Like another reviewer wrote, so many of the great places in this region have either gone downhill, or have closed. There are other decent places for less money, but the rooms are small, there aren't any amenities, etc...The rooms here could probably be about $50-$70 cheaper, but not much more than that. The food at the on site restaurant, Seaway Grill, is excellent. They offer room service, but with a 22% service fee it's not worth it, imo. The outdoor patio and eating area is very nice, and the view of the river and Calumet Island is spectacular. The beds are very, very comfortable and the room was very enjoyable to be in. You can walk to everything in Clayton, which has plenty of other less expensive food options. We didn't have any complaints about the staff, whatsoever, like some other travelers did. This hotel has it all; Beautiful rooms, spectacular views, and amazing food!

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bladebauer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2014

We celebrated our 6th anniversary on 08/09/2014. You will not be disappointed if you stay here. The lobby is beautiful. I found the staff was very helpful. One of the bell staff Stuart was particularly helpful. A very nice addition to the staff. Our room was amazing. The views were breathtaking. We do not get away alone that often and this hotel made it worth every penny. Upgrade to the balcony water view room. The suites are AMAZING We stayed in the commodore suite. We are definitely planning a trip back. Can't wait!

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lori C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2014

Loved staying at the new 1000 Islands Harbor Hotel! What a great addition to this part of the river. The property is beautiful, the rooms are cozy, and the firepit/patio was a great gathering place for my family. And, we loved the river view from our veranda! Originally from the area but now just a summer resident, its been hard to find a "nice" place to stay for the few days in-between. It's sad that so many of the greats have deteriorated to a point where I would never stay there, or have closed-- Bonnie Castle, Pine Tree, Riveredge to name a few. The hotel had only been open a week and have read the other complaints about the staff being properly trained but please….clueless and having no idea how to run a hotel is a gross exaggeration. And, this hotel should never be compared to any $100. rooms in the area. I hope the management keeps the price high enough to discourage the same failure from the other bigger hotels. There is definitely a need for a 4+ star hotel for the more seasoned traveler. Great Job, Hart Hotels! Cant' wait to stay again!

Room Tip: The best view is a river view, of course!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank QueenCityBee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Clayton
10.7 mi away
Riveredge Resort
Riveredge Resort
#6 of 14 in Alexandria Bay
579 reviews
10.8 mi away
Bonnie Castle Resort
Bonnie Castle Resort
#3 of 14 in Alexandria Bay
1,008 reviews
7.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Suites Gananoque
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 mi away
The Gananoque Inn and Spa
The Gananoque Inn and Spa
#3 of 10 in Gananoque
534 reviews
19.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Watertown-Thousand Islands
7.3 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites 1000 Islands
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 1000 Islands Harbor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 1000 Islands Harbor Hotel

Address: 200 Riverside Dr, Clayton, NY 13624-1159
Location: United States > New York > Clayton
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Clayton
Price Range: $105 - $336 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — 1000 Islands Harbor Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the 1000 Islands Harbor Hotel located on the St. Lawrence River in quaint Clayton, New York in the 1000 Islands region of New York State. We offer 105 deluxe guest rooms and six luxurious suites. The 1000 Islands Harbor Hotel offers nightly turn-down service with a novelty chocolate on your pillow. The hotel features an indoor pool, fitness center and an onsite professional concierge to help in the planning of your visit. The 1000 Islands Harbor Hotel features​ The Seaway Grille and 1000 Islands Bar for your dining pleasure. In the summer months, weather permitting, enjoy your meal outside on the Riverside Patio. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your 1000 Islands Harbor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing