We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (596)
Filter reviews
596 results
Traveler rating
452
102
22
10
10
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
452
102
22
10
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviews lawrence river fire pit river view beautiful hotel turn down service thousand island adirondack chairs balcony room double queen nicest hotel complimentary coffee watkins glen admiral suite sitting area rooms are spacious each morning walk in shower
Filter
Updating list...
561 - 566 of 596 reviews
Reviewed August 24, 2014

We visited the Thousand Islands region during the first week of August 2014. Family of four with two young teenagers. The hotel is brand new and beautiful. The rooms are very nice -- hard wood floors, which added a touch of charm. Great views of the St. Lawrence river. The outdoor area of the hotel in the lobby is a great place to relax, grab a drink and take in the views. The location of the hotel is charming. Clayton is a tiny little hamlet, along the river, perfect for a short stroll. This is place for calm and small-town charm, family oriented, with some good restaurants.

The service at the hotel was earnest, but they still have some learning to do -- it's obvious the hotel is new and they are just getting their act together; long wait time for the waitress to bring around our drinks, but we were not in a rush. The food at the hotel's restaurant was ok, but not great. There are better options in the town itself.

Overall, a very nice experience and a nice place to stay if visiting the Thousand Islands region with the family.

Date of stay: August 2014
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank jemabel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2014

We stayed at this hotel in August. We had traveled to Clayton to meet old friends and have dinner, so decided to book a room and stay the night.
The room we had was on the parking lot side of the hotel, therefore no river view, but a bit less expensive because of that. The hotel hasn't been open for long and it still has a very new feeling to it. It will need some time to settle into it's own "character". However, the furnishings and finishes are well chosen and everything was new and clean.
It was raining the evening we were there, but we ate lunch at the restaurant and sat outside. There are beautiful seating arrangements overlooking the river with fire bowls and shade which would have been a lovely place to have a drink in the evening if it wasn't so wet that day.
The rooms were lovely and new, crisp white linens and clean bedspreads! Lots of extra pillows and blankets if you need them. Nice flooring with no carpet, which I find much more hygienic. The one thing I think some families may miss is that it has a beautiful walk in shower, but no tub. Perhaps some of the rooms have a tub, but ours didn't. We also liked that it has a no pet policy. Although we love animals, allergies prevent us from sharing sleeping space with them. The front desk staff and any staff we crossed paths with in the hallways and elevators were friendly.
I also loved that there was free coffee available in the hallway on each floor in the morning. Nice to take one to your room while you get ready to go. We would definitely stay here again.

Room tip: I heard someone complaining at the front desk that the dinging elevator doors had disturbed their rest the night before, so perhaps ask for a room that is not near the elevators.
Date of stay: August 2014
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank snowdespisers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2014

The hotel is brand new and has been open a little over a month. We checked into the admiral suite to find the room pretty dusty and counter tops sticky. The outdoor balcony also had ashes on the table tops. Supposed to be non smoking. We were then moved to an end room, which we liked much better. Still had a floor with crumbs and ring marks on the table top and counters. After complaining the cleaning crew came up and cleaned the room better for us. The only rooms that seemed to be spotless was the bathroom and bedroom. The living spaces needed better attention to detail.
The staff was fabulous, would give them all 5 star rating. Everyone single employee treats you as family. There were several that really stood out such as Christian, Sammy and Morgan. We stayed for 4 nights and the only complaint would be the cleanliness of our room.
Forgot to mention that the A/C unit was quite loud in the bedroom also.

Room tip: The end rooms are fantastic as there are 2 balconies. The view of the harbor is fantastic too.
Date of stay: August 2014
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Carol F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2014

Like another reviewer wrote, so many of the great places in this region have either gone downhill, or have closed. There are other decent places for less money, but the rooms are small, there aren't any amenities, etc...The rooms here could probably be about $50-$70 cheaper, but not much more than that. The food at the on site restaurant, Seaway Grill, is excellent. They offer room service, but with a 22% service fee it's not worth it, imo. The outdoor patio and eating area is very nice, and the view of the river and Calumet Island is spectacular. The beds are very, very comfortable and the room was very enjoyable to be in. You can walk to everything in Clayton, which has plenty of other less expensive food options. We didn't have any complaints about the staff, whatsoever, like some other travelers did. This hotel has it all; Beautiful rooms, spectacular views, and amazing food!

Date of stay: August 2014
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bladebauer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2014

We celebrated our 6th anniversary on 08/09/2014. You will not be disappointed if you stay here. The lobby is beautiful. I found the staff was very helpful. One of the bell staff Stuart was particularly helpful. A very nice addition to the staff. Our room was amazing. The views were breathtaking. We do not get away alone that often and this hotel made it worth every penny. Upgrade to the balcony water view room. The suites are AMAZING We stayed in the commodore suite. We are definitely planning a trip back. Can't wait!

Date of stay: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank loric660
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews