We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another Clayton winner”

ChannelSide Restaurant
Ranked #6 of 31 Restaurants in Clayton
Cuisines: American, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Scenic view, Kids, Romantic, Local cuisine, Bar scene, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
95 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Another Clayton winner”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

We visited Channelside this summer as it was just getting opened up. As such there was a sense of everyone kind of getting used to their jobs in this new place. Still, drinks and food were good, and the outdoor seating was scenic, if a little cramped, and in need of updating.

Once this place hits its stride, I am sure it is going to be a great place to go for dinner.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Ricochet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

178 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    70
    61
    31
    9
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Clayton, New York
Level Contributor
141 reviews
99 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Exceeding expectations!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2012 via mobile

We sat at the bar. The service was awesome. Had one of the best seared tuna servings ever. Perfect portions! And the ever changing mussel preparation is totally fun and always delicious!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cingalemille
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clayton, New York
Level Contributor
141 reviews
99 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Such a surprise!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2012 via mobile

We sat at the bar. The service was awesome. Had one of the best seared tuna servings ever. Perfect portions! And the ever changing mussel preparation is totally fu and always delicious!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cingalemille
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
massena
Level Contributor
64 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Second Chance”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2012

The food is good but the service needs attention. On my first visit we were left hanging at the "wait to be seated" sign while waiters and waitresses glanced at us. Eventually, someone came forward and said the dining room hostess was not in. Dah!! My second visit with a group of friends for a nite cap was another disappointing visit. We were told if we wanted to sit in a semi-private room not being used at the time that we would have to get our own drinks from the bar- if we were to have a waitress we would have to run a tab.
THEY NEED A LESSON IN HOW TO DO RUN A FRIENDLY BUSINESS. Perhaps they feel we were just driving through town but no- we are residents of the area.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank ladydancingbear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire, CT
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Nice view and good food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2012

This place is really busy, so don't be in a hurry because if you have to wait, it's worth it. Outdoor seating provides a view of the river and boats going by. The menu is varied and includes good appetizers (mussels are really great!), sandwiches, salads and interesting entrees all at reasonable prices for a resort town. The salmon burger is delicious! The staff is friendly and helpful with fast service from the bar even if the kitchen is a little slow. We've eaten here several times and have never been disappointed.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Judy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed ChannelSide Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to ChannelSide Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing