We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Clayton and the Thousand Islands, in winter”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Clayton
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
McKinley House Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 7 Clayton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Princeton, New Jersey
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Clayton and the Thousand Islands, in winter”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2012

My husband and I are long-time summer residents of the Thousand Islands and so are not commonly looking for tourist accommodations in the area, especially in January. Business brought us to Clayton this week and we spent two days at the McKinley House B&B.
It richly deserves all the kudos it has received in other reviews. The house was warm and inviting, the host was gracious and welcoming and the breakfasts outstanding, Imagine a fire in the fireplace and fresh raspberries on the table in January, with a snowstorm in progress.
Well done.
GFE

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Grace E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    12
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
11
30
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
albany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2011

My husband and I visit Clayton every year. We always stayed out in one of the motels along the river, but we have always loved Clayton and decided to try and find a place in town instead. Clayton is a quaint little village right on the river (not like so many of the other honky tonk 1000 island towns). We decided on the McKinley House and we are so glad we did. It is located a block from the main street/river, but it is on a quite street. The house has been beautifully restored and the grounds are lovely. We stayed in the Grindstone room which is actually a suite of sorts with two very large rooms and a spacious bathroom. The owners showed us all of the other guest rooms (4? total), and they were all equally nice. We liked the fact that there weren't any tvs in the rooms. The beds, btw, are fantastic... brand new, firm mattresses! The rooms are SPOTLESS! The owners were terrific! The only thing we would suggest are: 1) more blankets and pillows (the bedding was a little spartan), 2) a glass in the bathroom so I could take my medicine and 3) access to a refrigerator (owners were great about putting stuff in their kitchen fridge but it is nice not to always have to ask for access) - maybe a little fridge in one of the common areas?. We will most certainly be returning.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank QuietIsGood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodbridge, Virginia
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2011

Mc Kinley House, was a wonderful and much appreciate find for us when we were in the 1000 Island area this august, the entire completely renovated house, was beyond clean and comfortable. Our bedroom and attached bath, was lovely, the bath was very large and serviceable. We enjoyed the break from TV's, in the room. There was a large one in the living room if needed. A very relaxing afternoon on the porch, was just the change of pace we needed. Alyse Ritchie did a wonderful job as our hostess, seeing as how this was her first season. The only thing we have to say that is not perfect, was the breakfast was just so-so. Having stayed at many B&B"s in the states and abroad, we were a little disappointed. Alyse was very interested in feedback and was open to any suggestions. I'm confident she will have improved on this the next time we are there, Because YES we would definitely return, and highly recommend this wonderful B&B to everyone.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mariannjung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2011

After doing extensive research on the Thousand Islands on-line, we decided to skip Alexandria Bay and stay in Clayton. The McKinley House had several good reviews (an no bad ones), so we opted to stay there. I can honestly say, based on what I've now seen in Alexandria Bay and Clayton, this is BY FAR the best place to stay in the Thousand Islands! It is CLEAN, comfortable, impeccably kept, and the owners are as attentive as you could ask for. We had a few requests that were immediately accommodated without question, and an added plus is that it now has WiFi. You can't go wrong staying here, as the owners are among the best and most ethical people I've met in my travels. Skip the "resorts" and stay in a wonderful piece of history with outstanding owners...

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Adrian Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2011

My mom and I just returned from a wonderful 2 night stay at the McKinley House in Clayton. The hosts were extremely accommodating, the room was spacious and immaculate and the breakfast, delicious. What a pleasant surprise and just one block from the mighty St. Lawrence. We will definitely return and recommend this very affordable, restored Victorian B&B to our friends and family.

Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank pat_conlon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairport, NY
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2011

We have stayed in many B&B's up and down the east coast. We made a last minute decision to go to Clayton, NY (Thousand Islands) and found The McKinley House on Tripadvisor (they now have their own website). What a great place to stay, especially considering it was during the national Antique Boat Show in Clayton. McKinley house was very well restored and maintains it's 100+ year old elegant charm. Enjoying a glass of wine on the large wrap around front porch, along with the other guests was most enjoyable. Most import was both it's cleanliness and great service. Alyse Ritchie, owner operator, makes your stay as pleasant as anyone could hope for. Clayton was recently recognized as the "Best Small Town" in America. Make sure you include a visit to the Antique Boat Museum and a river cruise on the St Lawrence through the 1000 islands. Combining the McKinley House stay with this wonderful quaint town was a wonderful experience. We will definitely be returning as well as recommending this to others.

Room Tip: Book well in advance and ask for room's with private baths.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DRW_FairportNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palo Alto, California
Level Contributor
65 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2011

This recently re-opened B&B is a real gem. New owners Steven and Alyse Ritchie have restored a magnificent Victorian in the charming village of Clayton, NY into (in my opinion) the best place to stay in the Thousand Islands. The rooms are spacious, beautifully furnished and are very clean and comfortable. I stayed in July, so was especially grateful to have air conditioning for those few nights that things were a little warm. The B&B is on a quiet street, but very close to Clayton's shops and restaurants. I very much enjoyed my stay and look forward to returning! Note: Because McKinley House was just re-opened under new ownership after a lapse of a few years, contact info for the house you may find on the internet may be out of date. The current phone number is -------. Enjoy!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ElaineH94301
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Clayton
0.2 mi away
1000 Islands Harbor Hotel
11.0 mi away
Bonnie Castle Resort
Bonnie Castle Resort
#3 of 14 in Alexandria Bay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 882 reviews
10.9 mi away
Riveredge Resort
Riveredge Resort
#5 of 14 in Alexandria Bay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 535 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 mi away
The Gananoque Inn and Spa
The Gananoque Inn and Spa
#3 of 11 in Gananoque
4.0 of 5 bubbles 465 reviews
10.8 mi away
Capt. Thomson's Resort
Capt. Thomson's Resort
#4 of 14 in Alexandria Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 364 reviews
10.5 mi away
Otter Creek Inn
Otter Creek Inn
#1 of 14 in Alexandria Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 408 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to McKinley House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about McKinley House Bed and Breakfast

Property: McKinley House Bed and Breakfast
Address: 505 Hugunin St, Clayton, NY 13624-1007
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Clayton
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Clayton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The McKinley House offers elegance, comfort, and convenience in the center of Clayton Village, one block from the St. Lawrence River, and walking distance to the towns attractions. A Queen Anne Victorian built in 1890, the house has been restored to its original grandness, including a curved front porch furnished with wicker chairs. On premise parking is provided, and free wi-fi. The spacious, second-floor guest rooms have private baths, queen beds, sitting areas, air conditioning and ceiling fans. A continental plus breakfast is served in the dining room. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Mckinley House Hotel Clayton
Mckinley House b&b

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing