We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best view of the St. Lawrence River”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Clayton
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
West Winds Motel & Cottages
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Clayton
Syracuse, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best view of the St. Lawrence River”
Reviewed July 8, 2013

This was the 19th consecutive year that I have stayed with my family in the cottages next to the dock basin (top and middle cottages). The Hurleys and the staff of West Winds run a wonderful, friendly, family-oriented place. The view of the St. Lawrence River and the sunsets are superb from the property. You can watch the River from a new patio at the top of the river bank with chairs and a pergola if you are staying up the hill. The pool is well maintained and there is a camp fire area and screened in shelter with seating by the motel. The docks are very sheltered with electrical outlets available too. Lots of room for trailers to be parked. Clayton is less than two miles away and is a lovely town for strolling, shopping and eating. I've already made my reservations for 2014!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nancy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    85
    11
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
41
35
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Upstate NY
Level 6 Contributor
145 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2013

Our family has been staying at a cottage at West Winds since 2008 and this year was another great experience. We can always count on Sherry and Harv to be aware of areas that could use improvement and then act on it.

This year they have improved the parking near the stairs to the dock - more spaces and moved to a location that doesn't deter from the view. The addition of two pergola-covered seating areas are great additions to the property. One is located perfectly for enjoying views of the river and the gorgeous sunsets; the other is at the pool. Both offer protection from the sun but still allow the breezes to cool you off.

But this year's biggest surprise was new furniture in our living room and an air conditioner. Although this year's weather didn't require us to use it, it sure is nice to know that on a hot year in the future we'll have some relief.

Thanks to Sherry and Harv for creating and maintaining such a beautiful spot for families to enjoy together.

Room Tip: This property allows dogs on the property, so occasionally you'll hear dogs saying 'hello...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bookworm426
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belleville, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2013

This is the thrid year we've stayed at the West Winds and we have to say how much we love it. Once you've stayed, you'll definitely want to return again and again!

The motel and cottages are very clean and well maintained. Owners Sherry and Harv are lovely hosts, always warm and welcoming. All the staff are so helpful (a special thanks to Don for his assistance this stay!).

When we stepped into our cottage we immediately felt at home. The furnishings were comfortable and screened porch was a great place to enjoy a quiet cup of tea in the monring. The motel and cottages are pet-friendly and your pet is truly welcome. The pool is a fabulous place to relax and spend an afternoon. The nightly campfires are fun (feels like camping but without the hassles!). The river view is spectacular. The waterfront pergola, complete with three bistro sets, is a great place to sit and read, sip a glass of wine or simply watch the river flow by.

Families return to the West Winds year after year and that tells you what a special place it is.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anne-Girl5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2013

Four of us adults stayed at the West Winds for two nights last week. It is all that others have said. Remodeled, clean motel rooms; cozy evening fire pit; screened outdoor seating area. And the people who own it are great. We were late in cancelling our first reservation because of a family emergency, and they were wonderful about it. Later it worked out that we were able to travel and made our reservations once again. Would stay there again if we were in the area. Great breakfast at Koffee Kove in the lovely town of Clayton.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lwkempka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 10, 2013

Have been coming to west winds for 15 years and have stayed in motel rooms and cottages. All are extremely clean and well kept. Improvements are made yearly. The owners, Sherri and Harv, are on property. Staff, including Don,Gordy, Gale, and Tammy are always accomodating. The marina is protected and is also on property. Your boat is in walking distance from your room or cottage. The grounds and pool are well maintained. Will continue to return. Restaurants and shopping are close by.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CarolDSmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida, United States
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2013

We arrived very LATE on a Friday evening so the office was closed. I called to let them know and they said no problem! The light & heat in our room was on and our key was on the dresser. It was just my husband and I so we stayed in the motel, room #3. It was so very homey and comfortable - we will definitely be back to saty in a cottage closer to the river!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Angela B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Winfield, New York
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2012

It was two years ago in august we went as a family to Clayton and stayed at the West Winds hotel. It was super. At night the owners were start a fire in the fire pit. Everyone staying there would come over. We all would start introducing ourselfs to one another. That was the high light of the evening. They have nice outside pool. You can take a walk down to the dock to see the river. They also have beautiful cabins you can stay in. They fill up fast. Motel rooms are very nice too. Check it out.

Room Tip: I like a room close to the fire pit. So we know when to walk over enjoy it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Clayton
2.4 mi away
1000 Islands Harbor Hotel
13.1 mi away
Bonnie Castle Resort
Bonnie Castle Resort
#3 of 14 in Alexandria Bay
971 reviews
13.0 mi away
Riveredge Resort
Riveredge Resort
#4 of 14 in Alexandria Bay
552 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.4 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Thousand Islands Harbour District
2.6 mi away
Clipper Inn
Clipper Inn
#3 of 7 in Clayton
33 reviews
12.9 mi away
Capt. Thomson's Resort
Capt. Thomson's Resort
#5 of 14 in Alexandria Bay
378 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to West Winds Motel & Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about West Winds Motel & Cottages

Property: West Winds Motel & Cottages
Address: 38267 NYS Route 12E, Clayton, NY 13624
Location: United States > New York > Clayton
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Clayton
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax on our spacious 5 acre grounds in one of the most secnic areas on the the St Lawrence river. Our accomodations include 6 large 2-queen bed motel rooms, 6 deluxe 1-queen bed motel rooms, and 14 modern fully furnished housekeeping cottages ranging from 1 to 2 bedrooms. All our units are immaculate and are maintained as new and include cable/HBO and WiFi. Our picturesque grounds include picnic facilities throughout, a screened gazebo with patio firepit featuring nightly campfires, and regulation horseshoe, bocce, volley ball, and badminton courts. Our olympic sized pool is heated for your comfort. West Winds waterfront features an observation deck to view the breathtaking scenery, ships from all parts of the world and our gorgeous sunsets. Also, we have a 150' fishing pier and protected dockage for 16 boats. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
West Winds Motel And Cottages
West Winds Motel & Cottages Hotel Clayton
Westwinds Hotel Clayton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing