We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Relaxing”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Clayton
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Islander Marina & Lodge
Keeseville, New York
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Very Relaxing”
Reviewed October 15, 2013

Just got back from a lovely weekend away. Stayed at the Islander, and loved the room. We had the Beau Rivage which faces the marina and river. Comfortable bed, and the room was clean. The shower was small though water pressure on the shower head was wonderful. Off season rates make it a decent value. The balcony overlooks the river, and is a nice relaxing place to enjoy the sunset.

Short walking distance to the downtown area with shops and restaurants, though on Columbus Day weekend there was not a lot of traffic downtown. Overall a very enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank elorck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    9
    2
    3
    0
See reviews for
3
17
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wilmington, Delaware
Level 6 Contributor
341 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2013

Space is at a premium, the furniture is sparse but the bed has a foot board with sharp protruding edges. Well suited for style - but only in a much more spacious room. The bathroom was a good size, and the room was clean The person on staff, when she was present was very accommodating. No ice was available, water bottle adjacent to the Krupp s type coffee machine was empty. Location next to the Historical boat museum and only a 2.5 block walk to the center of town made the location very desirable.

I'm in the mattress business and I can assure you that the box springs or bases under the mattress are the cheapest and poorest quality available. The mattress were okay but every time you move on the mattress the box spring squeaks very loudly. Understand that I'm not bragging, but at 3:00 AM when the room next store pounds on the wall you are disturbing someone. I've been over 65 for a number of years, my significant other is past that age as well. I can assure you we weren't talking very loud. Had to be the box spring they were concerned about.

There are only 5 rooms, I can't say for certain but I think they are all about he same size. $ 135 + per night you might have the right to expect more amenities.

All in all it is a lovely area, Clayton is not to be missed.

Room Tip: Check the bed before you check in - if it squeaks - you better be prepared for the consequences. The...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Herm B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 5, 2013

We stayed in the Maple room (one of the most expensive rooms) that can be best described as "uncomfortably confining". Both my wife and I left with a sore area when our lower legs banged against the "pointed" wooden bed frame trying to navigate around it. The room would make a Microtel room look large. We asked if we could move on the second nite to a larger similar priced room that was not booked but was told no we couldn't. Second day we did not receive complimentary K-Cups coffee that we received when checking in and there was no coffee to be found in the building. The fruit that others have talked about was several days old. At $150 per nite in season rates this is unacceptable This building is not very sound proof.Late nite travelers checking could be heard with lots of banging going on. Stay here only if you have to!!

Room Tip: Don't stay here
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ron C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McLean, Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2013

Others have mentioned the friendly staff, but we didn't see a soul during our three-night stay. Envelopes with key were waiting on the "check-in" desk, and we let ourselves in. No personal check-out either: We dropped the keys and left. A note on the back door gave a name and phone number if we needed help; luckily, we didn't! Fooms are fresh and spotless, and a communal bowl of fruit and a coffeemaker in the large hallway were appreciated; unfortunately, a spring-water dispenser wasn't replenished. For the price, a continental breakfast--even just a tray of pastries and a pitcher of juice--would have been a nice touch. Luckily, breakfast in town is a treat: Try Bella's (great water view) or Koffee Kove (good locals' hangout).

Room Tip: Of the two water-view rooms, Maple and Beau Rivage, pick the latter: It's almost twice as large...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York, United States
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2013

Came to visit my sister in Clayton and she surpised us with a room for the night. It was offseason so we were the only ones staying there. Our room was breathtaking. Great view of the river. The bed was very comfortable. The room was very clean. I can't say enough on how great our stay was there. We will be visiting here again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dianne P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
birdybirdcars
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2012

I stayed here in the off season for business. It was great to be immersed in the marina, with a boat launch right next door and a gorgeous porch overlooking the water. This does, however, make for some noise, but it wasn't too bad. Another downfall to staying during the off season is that there is no internet in the hotel proper, but it is available a short walk to the lounge, which has a TV, Playstation, couches and tables, coffee, and more available 24 hours for guests. This lounge also boasts a wall full of windows overlooking the water on two levels. I was told the wifi is available in the hotel itself during the regular season. The rooms are nautical and classy, everything is brand new. The TV remote did have some buttons that didn't work which was mildly annoying. The availability of fruit and coffee (from pods!) was convenient. The town is a short quick walk from here, full of shops and restaurants.

Room Tip: Get a room on the right side (norht) for a better view, but there is more traffic from the dock on t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank birdybirdcars
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethel, AK
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 31, 2012

My guests stayed here for the 4th of July weekend. We had our wedding across the street at the Antique Boat Museum - the locationw as perfect. They could walk easily to downtown Clayton as well. The staff at the Islander took care of everything! I'd definitely recommend to a friend.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rob H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Clayton
0.5 mi away
1000 Islands Harbor Hotel
11.2 mi away
Bonnie Castle Resort
Bonnie Castle Resort
#3 of 14 in Alexandria Bay
967 reviews
11.1 mi away
Riveredge Resort
Riveredge Resort
#5 of 14 in Alexandria Bay
550 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Clipper Inn
Clipper Inn
#3 of 7 in Clayton
33 reviews
10.8 mi away
Otter Creek Inn
Otter Creek Inn
#2 of 14 in Alexandria Bay
412 reviews
11.0 mi away
Capt. Thomson's Resort
Capt. Thomson's Resort
#4 of 14 in Alexandria Bay
378 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Islander Marina & Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Islander Marina & Lodge

Property: Islander Marina & Lodge
Address: 500 Theresa St, Clayton, NY 13624-1212
Location: United States > New York > Clayton
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Specialty Lodging in Clayton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Islander Lodge, adjacent to the Antique Boat Museum Campus and overlooking spectacular sunsets on the St. Lawrence River, is a newly appointed seven room lodge. A deck overlooks the marina and seaway. Shops, restaurants and museums are all within walking distance in this historic village of Clayton. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing