We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Memories of Lilliput”
Review of Wooden Boat Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Clayton
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Wooden Boat Inn
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Clayton
Certificate of Excellence
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Memories of Lilliput”
Reviewed September 4, 2013 via mobile

This reviews well and shows up positively in pictures. However, in reality the rooms are tiny. The bathroom almost demands that you breathe in to find space - and when will proprietors realise that providing the cheapest possible toilet tissue just results in twice as much being used. Car parking is adequate - but be sure to use your numbered space! Over a three-day stay, I never laid eyes on the proprietor. Although it's not a great distance to walk into town, it's certainly not central - and in high Summer you'd probably want to drive. Would I stay here again - NO.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Garatshay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    89
    18
    5
    0
    2
See reviews for
18
59
6
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Massena, New York
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2013

My husband and I decided at the last minute to go to Clayton and found this motel on a side
street. We had to call a number to check in and get a key from a lock box. The room was very
clean. We found the bathroom was very small and the shower was hard to move around in. The
other guests were loud when returning late but the owners have no control over that. We would
probably stay here again. Not too far from downtown (walking distance).

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dreamweaver11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2013

A very lovely place. Very clean inside and on the grounds. Nice patio with picnic tables, general room w coffee, frig, microwave, washer and dryer. Stayed in Room 6 which also has a microwave and frig. 1/2 mile walk to town on residential streets. Very quaint, cute town.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lala941
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, Delaware
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2013

We were lucky to get a three night rental for the house. The owners usually only rent it by the week, but they were not booked when we called on short notice. This place was perfect! It was clean, well equipped, and located on a quiet street just blocks from the waterfront. We had a late arrival and the key was left for us in the described location as promised. We hope to be able to stay against next year.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank SJAdventures
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chico, California
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2013

My only negative comment is that there was no one in the office when we arrived and no instructions on how to get our ro key. Thankfully one of the other guests had us check the mailbox. That same guest also gave us a great orientation to the Inn and the area. We loved both!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laylee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2013

We just happened upon the Wooden Boat, after knocking on doors of Clayton bed and breakfasts and finding no one home. Our good fortune! Number to call was on office door, with note that there was vacancy. Called owner, obtained combination to lock box, gave card info, checked in within minutes. Reminded me of home in southern Indiana- friendly, trusting- very refreshing! CLEAN room and bathroom; updated; updated, tasteful. Nice screened-in porch, coffee, fridge, microwave, all clean and neat as a pin. Few blocks walk to town. Lovely!!!!!

Room Tip: Very small motel; would guess every room is just as nice and clean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank E Adele S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2013

We returned to Wooden Boat Inn last week. Wonderful, once again. As long as we are traveling back and forth to Ontario, this will be a favorite stop. We really enjoy the village of Clayton, and the beauty of the St Lawrence Seaway. Wooden Boat Inn offers us a very comfortable, quiet and affordable place to rest.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Graysea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Clayton
0.6 mi away
1000 Islands Harbor Hotel
11.3 mi away
Bonnie Castle Resort
Bonnie Castle Resort
#3 of 14 in Alexandria Bay
971 reviews
11.2 mi away
Riveredge Resort
Riveredge Resort
#4 of 14 in Alexandria Bay
552 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Clipper Inn
Clipper Inn
#3 of 7 in Clayton
33 reviews
11.1 mi away
Capt. Thomson's Resort
Capt. Thomson's Resort
#5 of 14 in Alexandria Bay
378 reviews
10.7 mi away
Rock Ledge Motel
Rock Ledge Motel
#2 of 14 in Alexandria Bay
195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wooden Boat Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wooden Boat Inn

Property: Wooden Boat Inn
Address: 606 Alexandria St, Clayton, NY 13624-1302
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Clayton
Amenities:
Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Clayton
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Wooden Boat Inn is located in Historic Clayton Village on the corner of Union and Alexandria St. Just one block from the world famous Antique Boat Museum. There are many unique shops to visit and restaurants to choose from. Enjoy a scenic boat tour around the Thousand Islands St. Lawrence River and be sure to visit the impressive Boldt and Singer Castles. Fishing and scuba diving guides and boat rentals are just a short drive from the village. There's also a public boat launch and overnight dockage nearby. Whatever it is that brings you here we want you to feel at home with us at the Inn. Make sure you ask Berny and Valeriee about their custom Captain Visgar Island Tour of 1892. ASK ABOUT THE ADMIRALTY SUITE. THIS IS A TWO PRIVATE STATEROOM, ENSUITE BATHROOMS, FULL KITCHEN, AND AN ARE THAT OVERLOOKS THE FINEST MARINA IN THE ISLANDS. ACTUALLY IT IS A 36 FOOT YACHT. A CLASSIC ALBIN TRAWLER. DUE TO THE SIZE OF OUR INN, THE LOCAL POLICIES OF OTHER INNS AND HOTELS, AND THE NATURE OF THE SEASONAL BUSINESS ATMOSPHERE THE WOODEN BOAT INN CANCELLATION POLICY IS 30 DAYS. CALL US IF THERE IS AN ISSUE AND MAYBE WE CAN RESOLVE IT WITH YOU. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing