We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great rental for families”
Review of Wooden Boat Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Wooden Boat Inn
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Clayton
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 25, 2013

We were lucky to get a three night rental for the house. The owners usually only rent it by the week, but they were not booked when we called on short notice. This place was perfect! It was clean, well equipped, and located on a quiet street just blocks from the waterfront. We had a late arrival and the key was left for us in the described location as promised. We hope to be able to stay against next year.

Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
Thank SJAdventures
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (126)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

102 - 108 of 126 reviews

Reviewed July 8, 2013

My only negative comment is that there was no one in the office when we arrived and no instructions on how to get our ro key. Thankfully one of the other guests had us check the mailbox. That same guest also gave us a great orientation to the Inn and the area. We loved both!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Laylee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2013

We just happened upon the Wooden Boat, after knocking on doors of Clayton bed and breakfasts and finding no one home. Our good fortune! Number to call was on office door, with note that there was vacancy. Called owner, obtained combination to lock box, gave card info, checked in within minutes. Reminded me of home in southern Indiana- friendly, trusting- very refreshing! CLEAN room and bathroom; updated; updated, tasteful. Nice screened-in porch, coffee, fridge, microwave, all clean and neat as a pin. Few blocks walk to town. Lovely!!!!!

Room Tip: Very small motel; would guess every room is just as nice and clean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank E Adele S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2013

We returned to Wooden Boat Inn last week. Wonderful, once again. As long as we are traveling back and forth to Ontario, this will be a favorite stop. We really enjoy the village of Clayton, and the beauty of the St Lawrence Seaway. Wooden Boat Inn offers us a very comfortable, quiet and affordable place to rest.

Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Graysea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2013

Last June my boyfriend planned a mini vacation for our anniversary. Harts Wooden Boat Inn was one of the places we stayed, and it was wonderful. Our room was clean, quaint and just what we needed for a little escape. The grounds are very well kept with a sitting area with a outdoor fireplace and a nice kitchenette in an additional building where you can have coffee and make anything you like to eat (that you bring in) There also is a nice screened in sitting area to read in or watch tv. It really is a lovely place to stay and VERY clean. We are coming back this year, and I can't wait!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JMaples27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2012

The Wooden Boat Inn was easy to find and centraly located. It was by far the nicest Hotel in Downtown Clayton. The shared patio and kitchenett was a great resource to have, and introduced us to other traverlers at the hotel. A very nice place at an affordable price.

Room Tip: The single rooms were cozy. If you are traveling with a big family you may want to rent the house on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cburtch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2012

We attended a wedding and decided to stay in Clayton rather than endure the overpricing and lousy service we've encountered in Alexandria Bay hotels. We're so glad we did! We stayed in romm 6, which had a large, very comfortable bed, a fridge, coffee maker, flat screen TV, and little seating area. The wood floors were also great--very clean, and no carpets to aggravate allergies. We would definitely stay again. Only concern would be loud guests in the house part of the shared structure.

Room Tip: We chose Room 6 for its spaciousness, but be sure to check out the website for views of the other ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank balhui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Clayton
0.6 mi away
1000 Islands Harbor Hotel
11.2 mi away
Riveredge Resort
Riveredge Resort
#6 of 14 in Alexandria Bay
579 reviews
11.4 mi away
Bonnie Castle Resort
Bonnie Castle Resort
#3 of 14 in Alexandria Bay
1,008 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.2 mi away
Rock Ledge Motel
Rock Ledge Motel
#1 of 14 in Alexandria Bay
212 reviews
0.8 mi away
Clipper Inn
Clipper Inn
#3 of 7 in Clayton
34 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wooden Boat Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wooden Boat Inn

Address: 606 Alexandria St, Clayton, NY 13624-1302
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Clayton
Amenities:
Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Clayton
Price Range: $108 - $331 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Wooden Boat Inn is located in Historic Clayton Village on the corner of Union and Alexandria St. Just one block from the world famous Antique Boat Museum. There are many unique shops to visit and restaurants to choose from. Enjoy a scenic boat tour around the Thousand Islands St. Lawrence River and be sure to visit the impressive Boldt and Singer Castles. Fishing and scuba diving guides and boat rentals are just a short drive from the village. There's also a public boat launch and overnight dockage nearby. Whatever it is that brings you here we want you to feel at home with us at the Inn. Make sure you ask Berny and Valeriee about their custom Captain Visgar Island Tour of 1892. ASK ABOUT THE ADMIRALTY SUITE. THIS IS A TWO PRIVATE STATEROOM, ENSUITE BATHROOMS, FULL KITCHEN, AND AN ARE THAT OVERLOOKS THE FINEST MARINA IN THE ISLANDS. ACTUALLY IT IS A 36 FOOT YACHT. A CLASSIC ALBIN TRAWLER. DUE TO THE SIZE OF OUR INN, THE LOCAL POLICIES OF OTHER INNS AND HOTELS, AND THE NATURE OF THE SEASONAL BUSINESS ATMOSPHERE THE WOODEN BOAT INN CANCELLATION POLICY IS 30 DAYS. CALL US IF THERE IS AN ISSUE AND MAYBE WE CAN RESOLVE IT WITH YOU. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Wooden Boat Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing