We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Trip with friends”

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Clayton
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Mils Motel and Cottages
Reviewed September 8, 2013

We stayed a 1 bedroom cottage. The bed is a double so we brought an air bed with us. The cottage is clean but out dated. The bathroom window was rotting and held open with a board. The screened in front porch seemed to have some soft spots under the carpeting. The apartment sized refrigerator that is advertised is actually full sized. The bathroom was small. However, the shower water was hot. The grounds around the cottages were well kept. There are grills available for your use. They have a fire pit which is great for roasting marshmallows. There a picnic tables all around. The sunsets made it all worth it.

Room Tip: Even if you are only two people, pay the extra money and get a 2 or 3 bedroom cottage. The extra spa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank weluv2travel7408
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (14)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

8 - 14 of 14 reviews

Reviewed September 16, 2012

We stayed at the motel for two nights this past August with our 2 children. The room was clean but very outdated. It's a throwback to the 70s. The old wooden windows were difficult to open and close. The beds were springy and not all that comfortable. My kids were disappointed in the game room (which doubles for the motel storage room). Some of the games didn't work and there was only 1 pool cue for the pool table and it had a broken tip. The swimming pool area was decent. It's definitely a no frills place. There was no coffee maker in the room and coffee wasn't offered at the office. Not really worth the $75/night.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Melissa V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2012

My fishing partner and I stayed at Mil's motel on September 6th thru the 8th 2012. We arrived early and were greated by Alan the owner. The first thing we noticed is how well the appearance of the facility was, neat and clean. We then went to our motel room and We could tell that Alan and Lesley cared about their business, the room was very clean and up to date. The AC worked great, beds were comfortable, plenty of towels, mini frige worked great. We rented a boat and motor for our trip from Alan and even though we were early, Alan hustled to get us a boat and motor ready within minutes of us asking. He also informed us of where the spots were to get some great fishing. The rates are very very reasonable along with the boat rental which didn't have any leaks and the motor ran like a champ. We plan on coming up next year and we now dont have to worry about where to stay because Mil's has every thing you could need for a great time.

Room Tip: Book early, I dont think rooms will last long
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank maransom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2012

My husband and I sure lucked out when a cancellation came up for the 4th of July week on one of the upper cottages. Although this is not a fancy place, it had everything we needed for a week of fishing in the Thousand Islands region. You need to bring your own towels, but bedding and kitchen utensils are provided. The bathroom features a tub and shower, and the kitchen has a stovetop range (no oven) and fridge/freezer. Our cottage was uphill from the boat docks but was still convenient, and offered plenty of privacy, along with some great views from the deck. We brought our own boat. Although Mil's does not have a boat launch, there is one right next door at Lanz's motel/cottages. There is a fish cleaning station right at the Mil's dock. There is also a pool area next to the motel and office, which we used part of the time. You can tell that the owners take pride in providing their guests a great experience.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robert B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2012

We have been vacationing as a family at Mils for over 15 years now and it is a wonderful family environment. The owners Al and Leslie are wonderful people and do a great job. These are clean comfortable cottages that fit the bill for us year in and year out. The rates are reasonable and the dockage and location on the river is excellent. The fishing is usually very good, we like to pike fish early and perch fish during the late morning to the early afternoon then cook them up for lunch or dinner!! If you want to rent a boat there, bring your own or go out on a fishing charter it is all available to you right there at Mils or in Clayton. My brother has stayed at the motel and he said it is clean and comfortable as well with a nice pool right by the motel! The River is a great place for boating, tubing or just floating in one of the many bays nearby to just relax! By the way I have seen some of the most awesome sunsets in my life while on that river with a cold one in my hand sitting on their dock!

Room Tip: Call with as much advance notice as possible to check for avalability!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gene S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2012

We stayed here a few years ago and were very pleased. Stayed at the motel and was very pleased with the staff. The room was comfortable and the rates resonable. We plan on staying there again when w reurn to Clayton NY.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank baron1940
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2011

We rented one of their small 10hp boats to go fishing for the day off-season, and we were so impressed that we are coming back! The cottages are right on the water in a small semi-private cove and the docks are right there. It looks like there are more cabins up away from the shore for the landlubbers. The owner was more than gracious and accommodating and we felt much taken care of. The superior service and hospitality made a little boy’s birthday a most happy one!

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steel-N-Water
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Clayton
1.7 mi away
1000 Islands Harbor Hotel
9.1 mi away
Riveredge Resort
Riveredge Resort
#6 of 14 in Alexandria Bay
575 reviews
9.3 mi away
Bonnie Castle Resort
Bonnie Castle Resort
#3 of 14 in Alexandria Bay
994 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.0 mi away
Rock Ledge Motel
Rock Ledge Motel
#1 of 14 in Alexandria Bay
211 reviews
11.7 mi away
Angel Rock Waterfront Cottages
9.0 mi away
Capt. Thomson's Resort
Capt. Thomson's Resort
#4 of 14 in Alexandria Bay
396 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mils Motel and Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mils Motel and Cottages

Address: 40115 NYS Rte 12, Clayton, NY 13624
Location: United States > New York > Clayton
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 Specialty Lodging in Clayton
Number of rooms: 10

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing