We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Great Learning Experince” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Antique Boat Museum

Antique Boat Museum
Ranked #1 of 16 things to do in Clayton
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This museum houses an impressive collection of wooden sea vessels.
Clayton, New York
Level Contributor
102 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“A Great Learning Experince”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2013

This is a one of a kind place to visit. I have been there many times and there is always something new - or something that I had not seen. Great history and really nice things to see. And it's not all about the boats. Great local items to see. Do not miss this place if you are in Clayton......

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank huffer24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

263 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    215
    41
    5
    0
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle, Canada
Level Contributor
159 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“A Trip Down Memory Lane”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2013

In the late 50's our family spent the summer holidays on our Cruiser going down the the Rideau Canal from Ottawa to Kingston, Gananoque, the Thousand Islands, and Alexandria Bay. We never stopped at Clayton, NY. This summer on our way back from Montreal with a 48 hour + shopping detour through New York State, we went to Sacket's Harbor and Clayton, the latter specifically to visit the Antique Boat Museum.

Of particular interest were the St. Lawrence Skiffs that I remember fishing guides using on the Rideau Lakes from Chaffey's Locks and the canoe exhibit including displays from the Rice Lake Canoe Company at Gore's Landing and the Peterborough Canoe Company both near wehere we live now. Aluminum, fiberglass and modern composites can not compare to varnished mahogany, oiled teak and copper riveted cedar strip!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Are J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland Heights, Missouri
Level Contributor
154 reviews
68 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“It's an antique boat museum yes”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2013 via mobile

I recently became so excited about sailing and therefore boating of all kinds. This has the history and know how. Very impressed with the history of local legend boltd boat house very well restored. The collection is impressive. I love the evolution of engines on display. Watching the restoration is exciting. The speed boats from eirly years were amazing. I loved the steamer that looked much like the African queen. Parked right on the street in front of the building. Walked right in. It's downtown by the pier. Small town charm. Big adventure.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank James V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
45 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“This modern museum is a must see in the Thousand Islands”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2013 via mobile

You will see a building full of acing boats of the past. Then head across the street and see History of fine boats from canoes, skiffs, to the elegant pleasure craft and even a grand Houseboat. You can ride a genuine mahogany speedboat. While there visit the store for neat items at low prices• the wife and I took a membership just to support this grand effort.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ltcfrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugene, Oregon
Level Contributor
141 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Very Interesting”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2013

The boat museum is a good value for the price of admission. A lot of 1930's wooden speed boats and old canoes. 4 or 5 buildings full of vintage boats. A must see if you are in Clayton

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ray425
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Antique Boat Museum also viewed

 

Been to Antique Boat Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing