We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Great Learning Experience”

Antique Boat Museum
Ranked #1 of 17 things to do in Clayton
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This museum houses an impressive collection of wooden sea vessels.
Clayton, New York
Level Contributor
102 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“A Great Learning Experience”
Reviewed July 29, 2013

A great place to visit. A loy of boating and local island displays. If you're in the area it is a can't miss place.............

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank huffer24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

271 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    222
    42
    5
    0
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
McLean, Virginia
Level Contributor
57 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“When craftsmanship mattered”
Reviewed July 23, 2013

The beautiful wooden skiffs in Clayton's Antique Boat Museum are a sight to behold! Be sure to cross the street and see the Quest for Speed exhibit, which spotlights powerboat racing. I'll bet teenage boys would love it! The houseboat was just my speed: Take the guided tour and get a glimpse of a more genteel time and the rarefied wealth that enabled it. Put aside about two hours for a relaxing and interesting visit--or a bit more if you spring for an invigorating speedboat ride!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allentown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fascinating Boat Museum”
Reviewed July 19, 2013

If you love boats or have just a passing interest, this is the place for you. We spent four hours exploring this museum, talking with the boat builder/restorer, going below deck on a couple of antique cruisers, getting a guided tour of George Boldt's two story houseboat. Be sure to have this on your list of things to see when in the Thousand Island area.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Brookie175
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reston, Virginia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“St. Lawrence Skiffs”
Reviewed July 16, 2013

I love all the exhibits including the ruby glass that was recently added. The gift shop has many nautical books and shirts. The main draw is the antique boats, the Antique Boat Show.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Barb169
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victor, New York, United States
Level Contributor
262 reviews
49 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 176 helpful votes
“A fabulous stop on our weekend getaway!”
Reviewed June 30, 2013

We recently spent a long weekend in Alexandria Bay. On our last day, we decided to make the short drive over to Clayton to visit the Antique Boat Museum. Boy, were we glad we did! The exhibits are fascinating, and the guided tour of George Boldt's houseboat is fantastic! If you're in the area, stop into this gem of a museum.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Heather B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Antique Boat Museum also viewed

 

Been to Antique Boat Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing