We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Christmas gataway”
Review of The Blue Boar Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Blue Boar Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Pembroke, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
134 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Christmas gataway”
Reviewed January 3, 2014

Went to the blue boar for 3 nights including Christmas day . Where we enjoyed a fantastic Christmas dinner , could not eat it all so we took the cheese platter up to our room and had it in the evening. the Christmas menu was varied and many excellent choices.

Room Tip: try room 15
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Philipwhitehead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

411 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    135
    147
    74
    31
    24
See reviews for
79
199
18
31
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hemel Hempstead, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 23, 2013

I stayed here for 2 nights in December to visit a friend. The service was above average, the food and drinks nicely presented good portions that tasted good. The room was clean and tidy, along with the bathroom. If I had to look for negatives, I could point out that you can hear the occupants in the rooms right next to you, but can't we always, wherever we go? (Unless of course you are in a detached house).
The location provides easy access to Stratford, but is still in a quite little spot, views of peaceful meadows. All about relaxing.

Room Tip: Rooms towards the meadow have nicer views, with slight traffic noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Viktoria R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwick, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed December 16, 2013

We visited on Monday evening and were looked after by a charming gentleman. There was nothing that was too much trouble and his thoughtfulness was duly noted. The food was good pub food. It was warmly decorated for Christmas and we enjoyed the unexpected folk singers caroling. It was a very happy atmosphere. We will return in the New Year with great expectations.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan-Elise01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chorley, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 27, 2013

Nice pub and hotel from the outside. Good real ale. Menu quite comprehensive and a good selection but out of the four of us - two were disapointed with what we got.
We had two rooms at the top of the stairs. Everything that happens in one room could be heard next door (ablutions). The shower cubicle had black (mouldy) silicon holding it together. If anyone used the stairs the whole upstairs would know. Any traffic on the road outside also added to the lack of sleep.
Breakfast very good but they didn't like being asked for sweeteners.
On checkout I told them the rooms had been paid for and should only be paying the bar tab. For what ever reason they couldn't see the payment so charged me the full amount. I got this back about a month later when I could show them the company and credit card statement.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Simon T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2013

I stayed at the Blue Boar Inn with three friends for a night in October 2013.

The main reason why we chose this hotel was because it offered a room for four people to share. The room we were allocated was split into two adjacent room: one had a double bed, the other had three single beds.

The room was generally clean; there were a few dust balls on the walls, and a few holes in the bed sheets. The room and décor were quite old and dated, although the tvs were new.

The main issue that we had was that the drain in the shower cubicle was partially blocked. After a couple of minutes you had to turn off the water and wait for it to drain before restarting or else it would overflow from the shower recess into the bathroom. As we were only staying for one night we only bothered reporting it when checking out.

Breakfast was fine, a full English breakfast with tea/coffee, juice and toast.

I would not stay at this inn again, and would not recommend it either.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank thecowgoesmoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redditch, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2013

We Bought a voucher off Groupon for an afternoon tea with champagne for the Blue Boar and were
looking forward to it as the pub had such a good reputation. We arrived and was immediately aware that our voucher was not such a bargain as the price was displayed on a board outside at about the same price as we had paid. The pub had few customers and we were shown to our table by the waitress she asked us if we wanted tea or coffee then disappeared, reappearing with a three tier slate stand with our sandwiches and cakes. This cake stand was unstable and we were worried it would fall apart if we touched it. The food consisted of a choice of two sandwiches cheese and pickle and ham and tomato on processed sliced bread which had obviously been made a while as they were very dry. The cakes were a defrosted mini eclair, half a mini cheesecake and a stale scone. Unfortunately these must have been put on one plate at some point as the caramel syrup out of the eclairs had soaked into the other cakes - not pleasant !
The champagne we had been told we would receive was actually prosecco from an already open
bottle and we waited for our coffee to arrive and eventually after finishing our food we had to find a member of staff to ask for it. We left feeling very disgruntled at the service and food, not one member of staff said goodbye or thanked us for our visit. We would not recommend or repeat our visit to The Blue Boar im afraid I wish we had read previous review before wasting our money

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank 986Debs2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2013

Me and my wife used to visit "The Blue Boar Inn" as a treat or for special occasions, it's a beautiful little pub with traditional values with a section set a side for restaurant clients. Up until recently I would have recommended this restaurant as one of the best in the area but on a recent visit for our Sunday lunch treat we were a little disappointed, we found that the high standard of food was now nothing more than average but still with the price range that would represent it's previous standard. I asked the question was there a new chef or had the pub changed hands to the reply that neither was the case so I can only assume that the reason for lowering there standards was a price issue. I thought this was reflected in the amount of custom to the restaurant, on past visits we have always found a bustling clientele for Sunday lunch and it was always best to book in advance, this appears to be no longer the case. So if your passing then may be drop in and check out this really old pub but as for going out of your way as we have in the past, I wouldn't bother...

Room Tip: We didn't stay in the rooms but you do get a beautiful view of the country side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GeoffHughes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Temple Grafton
4.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon
Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon
#7 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
2,223 reviews
11.8 mi away
The Limes Country Lodge Hotel
4.2 mi away
Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shakespeare Hotel
Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shak...
#14 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,754 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
The Stratford, A QHotel
The Stratford, A QHotel
#5 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
2,058 reviews
5.6 mi away
Stratford Limes Hotel
Stratford Limes Hotel
#1 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
863 reviews
4.1 mi away
The White Swan Hotel
The White Swan Hotel
#3 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,620 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Blue Boar Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Blue Boar Inn

Property: The Blue Boar Inn
Address: Temple Grafton, Stratford-upon-Avon B49 6NR, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Stratford-upon-Avon > Temple Grafton
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Temple Grafton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Blue Boar Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the heart of Shakespeare country only four miles from Stratford upon Avon the Blue Boar Inn represents the best of an old English country pub, the oldest parts of the building date back to the early 1600s. Stay in comfortable en suite bedrooms, some which still retain impressive original features, such as wooden beams and stone walls. Including a range of three, four and five bed family rooms. Food is available from lunchtimes 12.00 noon- 2,30pm and dinner 6.00pm- 9.00pm options include an à la carte restaurant menu and a homemade pub food menus complimented by a range of ales and wines.According to church records, William Shakespeare was married in Temple Grafton church in the year 1582 to one Ann Whateley. The name is thought to be a misspelling of Hathaway.Records show that there has been an alehouse at the inn since that time, also a glass-covered well in the restaurant bar is some 35 feet deep and its pure water was once used in the brewing process. today, the well is the home of a family of gold fish. From this comfortable and convenient relaxing base, you can explore Stratford Warwick, the Vale of Evesham, Cotswolds Slightly further afield, The Malvern Hills, and Birmingham and NEC is within about 30 minutes' drive by car.Here at the Blue Boar we are here to cater for your every need and can arrange hire cars, taxis and packed lunches to compliment your touring of our wonderful local attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HRS so you can book your The Blue Boar Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Blue Boar Hotel Alcester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing