We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The Best Mexican in WNY” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of El Ranchito Mexican Restaurant

El Ranchito Mexican Restaurant
Ranked #3 of 43 Restaurants in Clarence
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $25
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Television, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
buffalo ny
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“The Best Mexican in WNY”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2014

We've tried every Mexican restaurant in WNY and this is the best. We love Mexican food as we visit Mexican Resorts 2 times a year for 2 weeks each time. We have been here numerous times since they opened. The service and food is great, never had a complaint. We'll be back!

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank stormatbuf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    61
    24
    7
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Buffalo, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Exceptional food & service! A "BEST RESTAURANT" pick for me in WNY!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2014

All I've ever been exposed to in WNY had been Mexican "chain" restaurants, which are really terrible. From the friendly and helpful service, to the quality of the freshly prepared food, El Ranchito changed all of that for me. For such terrific homemade food, the lunches are a true bargain. Warm chips and homemade salsa is placed before you just after you're seated, whether at lunch or dinner. My favorite is their beef Chimichanga. There's a chicken Chimichanga too (my wife says it's incredible!), it's just that I'm partial to ground beef. The beef (NOTHING in this restaurant is at all greasy!) is piled into a homemade soft taco-style shell. You also have a choice of a hard taco-style shell. It's then accompanied by freshly shredded lettuce, fresh sour cream and HOMEMADE(!), ultra-fresh guacamole! Your sides are beans and rice. El Ranchito's chicken soup is an incredible meal within itself! If there was ever a Mexican/Jewish grandmother, she's cooking this soup fresh for you here every day! Fresh cilantro is used within the soup, so if like me you're not fond of cilantro, kindly ask them to leave it out. This place is nothing short of spectacular!

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Steven F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, New York
Level Contributor
74 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Enjoyed it!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2013 via mobile

We went to El Ranchito with the kids (10 and 12) and really enjoyed it. The menu has everything and the food was tasty. As other reviewers found, the service was great and the food arrived piping hot. And the liquor license has arrived and beer and regular margaritas are available!

Helpful?
1 Thank DayTripper1630
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clarence New York
Level Contributor
24 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Dinner Outing”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2013

We went to dinner at this restaurant last weekend. Menu was bit too much and over complicated. I ordered the chicken tacos which were really good. My husband ordered enchiladas and tacos. The enchilada sauce was lacking in kick had a very mild flavor. Our meal came with an order of refried beans and rice on the side. The portions were just the right size not too much or too little. The beans were really good and the rice was lacking a bit of kick and flavor. The servers were very attentive and friendly. And they had salsa and chips which were really good. The food is good and would go back there to try something different.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank butterflysolo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clarence, New York
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“good food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2013

Very good, and you get a lot for the $.
Don't get carried away and order too much.
I recommend splitting a sampler platter and having some drinks.
There are few high end Mexican restaurants, so don't expect fillet or fancy garnish.
Kids loved the variety and of course the chips -n -sales.
I WILL return!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank mph2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Ranchito Mexican Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to El Ranchito Mexican Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing