We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“victorian charm, clean country living!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cincinnatus
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Alice's Dowry Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 1 Cincinnatus B&B and Inns
Reviewed August 15, 2010

my wife and i visited the area and had a delightful vacation , our hosts were quite gracious, the food was delicious, and the wine tour was great, the dinner cruise boat rides on lake skaneateles were both historically informitive and scenically awesome. highly recomended, G.M.+K.M. Massachusetts.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sarge359
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (33)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

28 - 33 of 33 reviews

Reviewed August 12, 2008

This fully restored victorian home was spotless and extreamly comfortable.The period furnishings made for a truely wonderful experience.The gardens were just a perfect place to find a little piece of heaven to relax in and forget the 21st century.Mary and al were the perfect hosts.The charm of the small town is very apparent from the farmers market with its fresh baked goods to the warm smiles of the towns folks.there was just enough to do .Shopping at the local antique shops or jumping into an old time swimming hole!We really enjoyed our stay.We are sure to return next time we happen by.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vacationjoelynnMA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2008

My husband & I stayed at Alice's with friends for a beautiful relaxing weekend. The accommodations were like taking a step back in time. With beautiful decorations to suit the 1836 Victorian, yet very comfortable and modern amenities. The service was very friendly,we were treated like Kings & Queens. Breakfast was more than enough and very tasty! Alice's Dowry is located in a very quiet area with spectacular views, Mary and Al guided us with suggested activities and many area fairs, such as the wine tasting fair with local artists and the Lama farm down the street. Alice's Dowry also has a very interesting history which Mary & Al will tell you during your stay. The grounds are so inviting with a choice of areas to sit and read or listen to the frogs and watch the stars at night. We had so much fun we plan on making the an annual trip!

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank FreeSpiritTravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2008

I just spent a wonderful long weekend at Alice's Dowery. The house and gardens where magnificent. Your hosts Mary and Al showed an incredible amount of care to each and every detail. The meals were a culinary delight. I would strongly recommend this lovely B+B to all my friends. K. Marcelle

Stayed: August 2008
1  Thank Marcelle74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2007

My wife and i came across alices dowry on a return trip from the falls stopped for the night stayed for two cant wait to go back

1  Thank waterseekers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2007

We stayed at Alice's Dowry during freshman move-in week at Cornell. Housing in the Ithaca area was completely booked, so we had to leave Tompkins County and and book a suite at Alice's Dowry in Cortland County.
The B&B is immaculate. It is a 19th century home built as a wedding gift for the daughter of a local businessman (hence the name). It absolutely beautiful, and the owners, Rich and Lois, keep it that way. They are warm and friendly -- excellent and personable hosts. And they make a mean breakfast! Our suite was roomy and comfortable.
Cincinnatus is as rural a town as you are ever likely to see. It has one bank, one convenience store, an Agway store, and 2 churches. Don't come here for nightlife! The flipside is that the scenery is just stunning! If you are into scenic views of an unspoiled idyllic countryside, and you are willing to travel to shop, dine, and be entertained, this could be the perfect weekend getaway for you.
The one negative -- at it was a big one for us -- is the distance to a major town. We had to commute to Ithaca to get our son settled for his freshman year, and the commute was 1 hour away. Had we been free of this obligation, it could have been a very romantic weekend for us.
Note: Rich and Lois have the Inn up for sale as of this writing. There is a real question about whether this gem will be available much longer. Call ahead!

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank stixvelo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Alice's Dowry Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alice's Dowry Bed & Breakfast

Address: 2789 State Route 26, Cincinnatus, NY 13040-2218
Location: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Cincinnatus
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Cincinnatus
Price Range: $85 - $150 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This Historic Italianate Victorian was built as a wedding present circa 1876. Today as a bed & breakfast Alice's Dowry is where guest discover their own special corner of the world. Stroll the grounds, visit the pond, or relax in the wicker rockers on the veranda. Sip a cup of tea in the front parlor or curl up and watch TV in the common room. Enjoy a leisurely breakfast on the sun porch where tables for two, graced with china, silver and crystal await you. Settle into a spacious guest room featuring Queen size beds, private baths with shower and quiet sitting rooms. Suite option available. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing