We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Yuck in Residence!”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Cracker Barrel

Cracker Barrel
Ranked #3 of 57 Restaurants in Cicero
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids, Dining on a budget, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Brunch, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Half Restaurant. Half Store. All Country
Manlius, New York
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Yuck in Residence!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2013

This place was my second or third time to visit this chain while traveling the highways in the area and in Pennsylvania along Interstate 81. Eating here is like literally scraping the BOTTOM of the barrel! Food was totally insipid, borderline inedible, overcooked, poorly presented and served -- a place to use the rest rooms and move on.

Helpful?
Thank Gerry13104
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

177 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    58
    72
    33
    6
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa
Level Contributor
496 reviews
324 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 179 helpful votes
“Very good halt restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2013

Again I had fish, bit this time it was grilled fish which comes with 3 side choices. $9.99 very big portions.
Ejoy it...

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Me M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
160 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
“Great place, the breakfast was ok”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2013

I think this will be the last time I eat breakfast at Cracker Barel, the menu does not change, which for some this is what they are looking for, they do have a nice variety. I just found this perticular one in Syracuse was not very clean. Kind of makes me wonder about the kitchen cleanliness. The service is friendly and efficient, but the coffee is meak, they do not have lactose milk, but do have some teas for me. As for the store part, I always enjoy.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank axxiefox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syracuse, New York
Level Contributor
72 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Comfort Food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2013

This is a reliable restaurant for good, old-fashioned food. It has a Southern style for many of the entrees and sides and you can depend on the menu being consistent no matter where you go, it seems. A tip: Ask for biscuits/corn muffins to be brought before your meal if you want to have something while you're waiting - otherwise, unless things have changed recently, servers have been instructed to bring them towards the end of the meal for some reason. The atmosphere is comfortable and cozy - nothing formal here. Chicken and dumplings are one of my favorites to order. After the meal, I like to cruise through the country store - lots of nostalgic candy and other items. Always good to see a Cracker Barrel sign when you're traveling - you know what you're going to get.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank luv2travel48713
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
91 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Very average”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2013

Not really my cup of tea, the food is very average, bland. They also do not serve alcohol - I like to have a beer or a glass of wine with my meal so was not impressed with that.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank TravelonJo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cracker Barrel also viewed

 

Been to Cracker Barrel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing