We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Cute, comfy cottage and attentive owner.”
other travelers have booked this property
The Cottage at Chichester
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Cottage at Chichester
South Lawn Living Room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
25 reviews
The Cottage at Chichester
South Lawn
Living Room
Living Room
Bath
Bath
Kitchen
Master Bed Room
Master Bed Room
Picnic Area with Fire Ring
Second Bed Room
Stoney Clove Stream
Third Bed Room
Deck
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
Chichester, Catskill Region, New York

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 25 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
Any
English first
lisasZ623...
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Cute, comfy cottage and attentive owner.”
Reviewed September 1, 2014 for a stay in August 2014
2
people found this review helpful

The cottage was lovely and exactly as advertised and as shown in the photos. The property and surrounding areas are beautiful. The owner was helpful and attentive when we needed his advice, but otherwise left us alone. The deck, equipped with grill was totally perfect, and the beds/mattresses were comfortable and in good shape. All linens and towels were provided. Only a couple small things to note - the largest bedroom is attached to the small living room. As a result, there is little privacy for the bedroom, and limited space for lounging together in the living room, if more than four people are staying together in the cottage. Secondly, though the supplies available were mostly great, and very much appreciated, a few items were sorely missed - we ended up purchasing a cast iron pan as the skillets and frying pans provided were all of the damaged teflon variety. Note that otherwise, there were plenty of pots, cooking utensils and bowls, dinner dishes, silverware, etc. Dishwashing liquid and dishwasher detergent were provided but basic spray surface cleaner for tidying up after cooking was not. Whereas the bathroom supplies (toilet paper and bath soap) were quite generous, the one small roll of paper towel provided for the four of us booked for five nights was not nearly enough for tidying up after grilling, cooking, etc, so we recommend you bring your own. All in all, this is a lovely place to stay, which is quiet and secluded but very convenient to Chichester (Chichester Yoga rocks!!!), Phoenicia, Tannersville, Woodstock, Saugerties, and the lovely North South Lake and Campgrounds. We highly recommend.

Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LovesDogs...
New Providence, New Jersey
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“EXCELLENT PLACE TO STAY”
Reviewed June 19, 2014 for a stay in May 2014
1
person found this review helpful

My husband and I plus our pooch 4recently spent 4 relaxing nights at the cottage. It is modern and updated with all necessities, yet has a nice cozy and comfy feel. Paul, the owner who lives next door, is very personable and helpful.
The master bedroom is a nice size with skylight window. Those who like to sleep late - beware of that morning sun! One thing to mention is that the house is not totally secluded, as you might think from the pictures. It is off the road, but far enough away, and the light traffic was not bothersome to us.
There is a spacious deck outside with grill. Although it's nice to be outside at night in summer, the bugs are out there, too!
We didn't encounter any animals on the property, but at night we could hear a lot of rustling, etc.
All in all, we had a most enjoyable time and would happily recommend the cottage.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndrewJV...
Jefferson Valley, New York
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Immaculate, up-to-date and comfortable cottage perfectly located for skiing and exploring.”
Reviewed March 4, 2014 for a stay in February 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Chichester Cottage was a perfect place for us to stay for our ski weekend. It's completely modernized, very comfortable, has everything we needed. It's immaculately clean. Paul was very friendly and made us feel right at home. I would definitely recommend this place and would stay here again without question.

Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RBCOOLB
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Total relaxation and rushing streams”
Reviewed December 29, 2013 for a stay in December 2013

Cute and comfy cottage -- with all the amenities we need and lovely rushing creek out back. Very convenient to hiking and great food! All basic conveniences including internet which was critical for adult kids...super restaurants -- Brio for inexpensive and Peekamoose for super NYC-type splurge and Phoenicia diner for in between. Fascinating little towns and shops all over the area.

Best part was 100% darkness with lovely starry sky through the skylights. Really great for the rental rate and Paul a terrific owner.

Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tesh0309
New York
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great cottage!”
Reviewed August 29, 2013 for a stay in June 2013
1
person found this review helpful

My husband and I with our two kids and our dog stayed here for a long weekend and we just had the best time. The cottage was nice and clean and it had everything we needed. When we arrived, Paul was really nice and very helpful. We walked down to the river and fell in love. The town of Phoenicia is about a 5 minute drive away and what a town it is! The food was great and the people were so nice. I can't wait to come back.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the location
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
N.Y.
Reviewed June 18, 2013 for a stay in June 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Luxury-minded travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
NY
Reviewed May 31, 2012 for a stay in May 2012
1
person found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Luxury-minded travelers Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing