We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old Friends and Long time customers”
Review of Jade Village - CLOSED

Jade Village
Cuisines: Chinese, Japanese
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Hillsdale, New Jersey
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Old Friends and Long time customers”
Reviewed April 20, 2013

Mary and her team make a meal you will never forget. excellent quality, affordability and fresh cuisine in combinations of Chinese and Japaneses dishes for all pallets. I had Steak Kew and Lobster fabulous entree with the Hot and sour soup, Perfect. my wife had dragon and phoenix, my friend had the house fried steak and his wife had triple delight. our Host had Peas and filet. all excellent and all enjoyable. stuffed to the gills wait was longer at table but our order was more than usual too.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Timo-Nu-Limo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

38 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    16
    5
    0
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bergen County, NJ
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Should have eaten at the establishment across the street”
Reviewed March 2, 2013

We were excited to come here. Reviews have been good and we drove into a packed parking lot. We even had to wait for a seat despite the fact that this place is in the middle of nowhere.

Service was good. The wait for food was a bit long, and they were not too attentive with the water. Nobody asked us if we wanted tea.

We were brought fried noodles with duck sauce and hot mustard. The noodles were good, but you could have greased Sha-Na-Na 's hair with it. My wife ordered the tofu wrapped vegetarian roll, and I ordered chicken satay.

The satay was very tasty. However, we will be using the tofu roll to sell as lubricant to GM for their manufacturing operations. It will definitely help pay for college for my daughter.

For the main dish, my wife ordered the Bird's Nest chicken and I got the Hunan duck. The duck was good and only slightly too greasy. The bird's nest was stale. The chicken in the nest was fairly good. The manager expressed surprise that it was stale since they re-fry the nest. That won't hide stale. They offered another nest, but no apology, no offer to not charge us for it, and not even an offer for a free dessert.

Overall, this ranks as the worst Chinese dinner I have ever had. Given that l live in Bergen County, where there are either bad or worse Chinese restaurants, that is really quite a difficult accomplishment.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank swpswp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
suffern
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Favorite chinese food”
Reviewed March 2, 2013 via mobile

The food here is always wonderful
Favs are Szechuan dumplings and grand marnier shrimp and filet mignon with orange sauce

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank rxrx46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franklin Lakes, New Jersey
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Amazing Food!”
Reviewed January 31, 2013

This is the best Chinese food! It's a bit out of the way, but it's certainly a gem and well worth the inconvenience! I can't stress how wonderful the food and dining experience is here. We used to live closer and was able to frequent more, but we still take a drive to go as often as we can. The Sushi is as fresh as can be and lobster cantonese can't be beat! We've been dining here for years and it's always high quality fresh food. You won't be disappointed!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank travelchatter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
132 reviews
101 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Love it”
Reviewed October 16, 2012

Very good food here and great service. They have both Chinese and Japanese entries. The meal tends to be a little pricey

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Stevec418
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jade Village also viewed

 
Chestnut Ridge, NY

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing