We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An exquisite, romantic Adirondack getaway....”
Review of The Fern Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Fern Lodge
Ranked #1 of 8 Chestertown B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Syracuse, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“An exquisite, romantic Adirondack getaway....”
Reviewed September 24, 2010

We visited the Fern Lodge on our honeymoon, and enjoyed every minute. Very easy to access from the Northway, but tucked away on a quiet Adirondack Lake. The room we stayed in was large, comfortable, and quiet-- & we really felt indulged by the excellent service. The inn keepers (Sharon & Greg) are very knowledgable about the area, and-- as cyclists & skiers themselves-- are great sources of outdoor info. They also make excellent local restaurant recommendations (we loved dinner at "The Owl at Twilight"). Sharon's breakfast cooking is healthy, creative & delicious.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank acharp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

207 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    193
    5
    5
    2
    2
See reviews for
11
181
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mechanicville, New York
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 19, 2010

My wife and I recently stayed at the Fern Lodge and it was awesome. Greg and Sharon Taylor are incredible hosts and work very hard to make sure your stay is as relaxing as possible. Their Lodge is beautiful and captures the essence of the Adirondack great camp but is far from camping. It is luxury hidden away on a peaceful Adirondack lake. This was our second stay with the Taylors and we can't wait to return.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bd3ci
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cooperstown, NY
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2009

The lodge was absolutely outstanding. The room was fantastic. The setting perfect. The hosts were wonderful. We hated to go home. Put this place on your "must go list."

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DruidPiper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 4, 2009

Exceptional lodging offering many special amenities. Very private and quiet, great lake and wooded location. Stunning lodge, our lodge room choice was the Birch suite, it is even more beautiful than the photos can capture. The private screened in porch with lake views, the luxury bathroom, huge see through gas fireplace and sitting room jacuzzi were only part of this lovely room's charms. Our hosts were friendly and helpful, experienced at knowing the perfect balance of treating us as special guests, yet casual and family like. The breakfasts were very tasty and provided an opportunity to meet other guests. The experience left us thinking, who could ask for anything more in a lodging? Our only complaint was that we had to leave!!!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank YankeeTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SF/CA
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2009

Fern Lodge is perhaps the Best B&B I have ever stayed in. To the dismay of those who would like to keep the Lodge a secret, I award them my highest rating.

Accommodations are luxurious, spacious, clean, and not cute or overdone. Our room (Oak) had a Most comfortable king bed, fireplace, fridge & wet bar, open, spacious porch overlooking Friends Lake, huge bathroom with the Best-Ever shower for two, 2 sinks, and large jacuzzi tub. That was just our room -- the common areas are also spacious and plentiful (living room, pool and dart room, movie theatre, boat house, patios). You have your run of the Lodge (a large beautiful new building), its grounds (lakefront) and kayaks. You need only leave the property for dinner, there’s so much to do, take in, and enjoy.

And the people? The owners Sharon and Greg, and their staff, Susan and Lindsay, are Top-Notch. They all have perfected the balance between being friendly and being professional. Sharon’s boat tour of the Lake with wine and hors d’oeuvres was the highlight of the day, and Susan’s quiet but engaging and helpful conversation at breakfast and through the day was so warm and welcoming.

One more note (another pet peeve of mine) -- there are no signs telling you what to do and what not to do! You can come to breakfast whenEver (within reason) you please. I cannot recommend this B&B too much.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SkyShelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syracuse
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2009

Poor customer service. Did not return phone calls for booking. Mixed up our daughter's honeymoon reservations and would NOT make it right. I would not recommend doing business with them.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank law5951
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SharonTaylor, Owner/Manager at The Fern Lodge, responded to this review, July 29, 2009
Ah yes, I was expecting this low blow.

We did understand this reservation was for August 27-30; we are heartily sorry, it should have been for July 27-30 and we erred. We did confirm our understanding of the reservation in writing to the Grooms Mother -in-Law aka "law5951" (who was paying for the reservation), the travel agent, and the Groom. None of the 3 apparantly read the confirmation.

A week before, we received a call from a relative looking to book some "extras" for the honeymoon couple and the "error" (yes, it appears that it was our error) presented iteself. We alerted "law5951" and the Travel Agent and suggested comparable options in the area that we had sought out prior to making those dreaded telephone calls. The Travel Agent wanted no further contact with us and "Law5951" was too busy to speak with us at all.

In subsequant e-mails the Travel Agent DEMANDED that we call the other Honeymoon couple that had booked the room for 7/27-30 and cancel THEM (they of course had received a written confirmation for their correct dates). The 2nd demand by the Travel Agent and "law5951" was that we pay the excessive difference between our rate and the resort they had newly booked for the Honeymooners. We declined, in face of threats, as we had never had the dates of 7/27-30 avaialble and we had confirmed the dates that we understood to be correct 8/27-30.

Furthermore; we did 2 things. We extended an invitation directly to the bridal couple via a telephone call and an e-mail to join us for a personal tour of Friends Lake in our electric launch with hors d'oeuvres and wine (usually a highlight of our guests stay with us). We invited them to allow us to "roll out the red carpet" to show our dedication to personal service. They have, unfortunately, not taken us up on our offer this week thus far..... We also delivered at our expense without being asked (in fact, we never were informed that it was coming!) to the Honeymoon couple's new lodging establishment, 12 heavy cases of medical supplies.

I am very sorry for our error- I would have never knowingly confirmed incorrect dates. I believe I handled the situation as best I could as we were already booked solid- with guests that had received written confirmation of their intended stays- we are a small intimate exclusive property of only 4 guest rooms... We are in the business of exceeding guest expectations as our reviews show. I'm very sorry that is not the experience of "law5951", her daughter and new son-in-law, and travel agent. But, I am sure you can see that it is the experience of our guests that have stayed with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 31, 2009

The lodge was just fantasic. We enjoyed ourselves very much. Rooms were lovely. I would recommend staying here. Staff was great. Very relaxing environment. Enjoyed the owner taking us out on the lake for a boat ride with wine, cheese and crackers. Will not forget this place. Looking forward to going back!

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank steveconnecticut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chestertown
8.6 mi away
The Alpine Lodge
The Alpine Lodge
#2 of 4 in North Creek
127 reviews
8.2 mi away
Gore Mountain Lodge
Gore Mountain Lodge
#1 of 4 in North Creek
108 reviews
14.2 mi away
Garnet Hill Lodge
Garnet Hill Lodge
#1 of 1 in North River
47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Lake George
15.3 mi away
Courtyard Lake George
Courtyard Lake George
#3 of 89 in Lake George
134 reviews
15.7 mi away
Fort William Henry Hotel and Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Fern Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fern Lodge

Property: The Fern Lodge
Address: 46 Fiddlehead Bay Rd, Chestertown, NY 12817-1949
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Chestertown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Chestertown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Fern Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our luxury Adirondack lodging includes a choice of five intimate guest rooms that are uncommonly comfortable ~ both rustic and elegant, even magnificent.Other hotels in the Adirondacks cannot live up to our resort standards. All guest accommodations have king-size beds, large stone fireplaces and wonderful lake and / or mountain views. All rooms have private luxury baths with deep-soaking Jacuzzi tubs, and all rooms have refrigerators. The nightly rate for Adirondack lodging at our Southern Adirondack Mountain resort includes an unforgettable breakfast, an evening boat tour of Friends Lake (seasonal) with wine and hors d'oeuvres, a full "help yourself" honor bar, nightly turndown service with chocolate truffles, Wi-Fi and a wide variety of on-site activities. Consider our private getaway for your elegant Adirondack wedding or honeymoon.In addition to luxury Adirondack lodge style accommodations, enjoy relaxing in the mission-influenced classically elegant Adirondack Great room with vaulted log ceilings and magnificent stone fireplace. In the evening, gather round the out door fireplace on the screened in porch. The ground floor of our hotel on Friends Lake walks out to the lake features many relaxing sitting areas, a pool table, bar, wine cellar, a game table, a nine-person theatre, a sauna and exercise equipment (Bowflex, free-weights, an elliptical, medicine ball, Swiss ball).Our 70-acre wooded property borders on pristine Friends Lake. Use our kayaks or lounge in the sun before a dip in the lake. The lake is well known for small mouth bass fishing. There is very nice hiking, cross-country skiing and snowshoeing right here on the property.Our beautiful 24' ELCO electric launch is used for a late afternoon boat tour of beautiful Friends Lake complete with beverages and hors d'oeuvres. Fern Lodge is unmatched among romantic Upstate NY hotels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Fern Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Fern Hotel Chestertown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing