We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful experience”
Review of The Fern Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Fern Lodge
Ranked #1 of 8 Chestertown B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Connecticut
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful experience”
Reviewed March 31, 2009

The lodge was just fantasic. We enjoyed ourselves very much. Rooms were lovely. I would recommend staying here. Staff was great. Very relaxing environment. Enjoyed the owner taking us out on the lake for a boat ride with wine, cheese and crackers. Will not forget this place. Looking forward to going back!

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank steveconnecticut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

212 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    196
    6
    6
    2
    2
See reviews for
12
185
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Manhattan
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 19, 2009

In true B&B form, we arrived to a friendly dog & wonderful note on the door, stating that the owners were out - to help ourselves to their cozy home & all of the amenities within and around the lodge.

Keeping with the magnificence of the Adirondacks, the lodge transcended all expectations.It's the perfect place to rekindle our romance. Sitting on the private porch in Cedar room among the wildlife & evergreens is a great way to re-connect with nature's tranquil beauty, myself & loved one! From a quick mid-week get away, to Valentines Day, our Anniversary, or when we need to check out & just be "us", there is no better place to do that than The Fern Lodge...our romantic haven!

Oh, and the bathroom! I enjoyed my Jacuzzi, over and over...too bad the hubby wanted to be romantic and join - almost every time!

Each morning we were greeted with a delicious family style breakfast and spoke with other lucky travelers, who had also found this haven. Sharon and Greg offered ideas for activities and dinner reservations - and their son delighted us with tales & showcasing his favorite toys- reminding us of ours at home - and how I missed them so!

We found ourselves several times in the living/foyer room sipping wines we reserved (and some suggested) with Greg and other couples, we newly met. To lively games of billiards, a movie in their home theatre, and exercise room (Bowflex, free-weights, an elliptical). There is as much to do as YOU want and the opportunity to meet some new friends!

We ventured out on the kayaks, but ran into under-laying ice preventing us from getting a paddle in - too bad hubby (yeah for me!)- weren't we suppose to be relaxing!?! We did, instead, venture out for some light snowshoeing right on the property!

There are delightful and interesting surprises everywhere you look. Every room has a guest book filled with happy and appreciative notes from honeymooners and seasoned couples. I enjoyed reading their comments. The hubby loved the wi-fi - god forbid he leave work behind!

=====

NOT TO MISS - a tour of The Alpine Lodge - Sharon's brand new motel/mini-lodge in North Creek- not too far away. The Lodge has a common “Great Room” and is perfect for hanging out apres ski with a bunch of friends & our kids at GORE - we've already used the ENTIRE Lodge for our exclusive use- simply AWESOME!

Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank LeanBack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2009

We had the fabulous fortune of booking the Fern Lodge when we were coming home from dropping our boys off for summer camp. The lodge was a little bit hard to find but Sharon owner guided us in and when we got there she made us very welcome. Our room was very spacious and cozy. We couldn't believe the setting on the lake and the solitude that fern lodge conveyed. Greg and Sharon gave us a great dinner recommendation and we enjoyed a lovely evening on Lake George. Breakfast the next morning was served on a spacious screen porch over looking the lake and the food was delicious. The grounds of the property are also beautiful with a nice path going down to the lake and a fire pit for at night.

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank studtrader
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saratoga Springs, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 6, 2009

There is no other word than AMAZING to describe this authentic Adirondack lodge. The accommodations provide comfortable, yet luxurious living. Our room was so wonderful with a Jacuzzi tube, steam shower, personal fireplace and private balcony overlooking the mountains we never wanted to leave. Would defiantly visit again and again!

Stayed April 2007, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank joslynvermont
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warren VT
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 24, 2009

I recently had the great pleasure of a stay at The Fern Lodge in Chestertown. I travel from time to time from VT to NYC on business and usually try to break the long drive with a stay in the Lake George region. I had known Greg and Sharon Taylor years ago from a few stays at the Friends Lake Inn, a wonderful place which they had created from a falling down old Inn. I was saddened to find that they had sold the Inn but was equally happy to hear that they had a new place just up the road. Greg and Sharon have built a truly beautiful lodge on the shore of Friends Lake. From Sharon's warm reception and wonderful breakfast, the beautifully appointed room and an evening with a great move in the lodge's theater... I could think of no better place to take my break. I look forward to many more stay's at the lodge and hope to spend some time with the Taylors this summer on Friends Lake at the Fern Lodge, a unique and beautiful place.

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sommeliersully
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, Delaware
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 24, 2009

This place was wonderful - set back in the mountains on a huge lake. With 4 feet of snow on the ground it was truly a site to be seen! Sharon and Jeff were so nice and welcoming as well as their dog Shadow! The rooms were amazing with gas fireplaces, a jacuzzi and a steam shower with body sprays (my personal favorite). There are no TV's in the room but there is a home movie theater downstairs with the most comfortable chairs I've ever laid in (think MTV Cribs)! Did I mention the phenominal breakfast?! I would highly recommend this place to anyone looking to get away from the world! Definately my favorite place by far!

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank angel802
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Latham, NY
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 23, 2009

Greg and Sharon are so down to earth and gracious. Our room was amazing with a shower fit for a king. We enjoyed a glass of wine by the beautiful fireplace and watched the snow fly.They recommended the Friends Lake Inn for dinner and I couldnt have been happier with their choice. We also took advantage of the theatre room and watched a movie before retiring to our room.From start to finish everything was more than I had expected.Wish I didnt have to leave.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alli312
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chestertown
8.6 mi away
The Alpine Lodge
The Alpine Lodge
#2 of 4 in North Creek
131 reviews
8.2 mi away
Gore Mountain Lodge
Gore Mountain Lodge
#1 of 4 in North Creek
112 reviews
14.2 mi away
Garnet Hill Lodge
Garnet Hill Lodge
#1 of 1 in North River
54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.0 mi away
Bonnie View on Lake George
Bonnie View on Lake George
#2 of 8 in Bolton Landing
223 reviews
15.3 mi away
Courtyard Lake George
Courtyard Lake George
#5 of 89 in Lake George
148 reviews
1.1 mi away
Friends Lake Inn
Friends Lake Inn
#2 of 8 in Chestertown
174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Fern Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fern Lodge

Property: The Fern Lodge
Address: 46 Fiddlehead Bay Rd, Chestertown, NY 12817-1949
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Chestertown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Chestertown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Fern Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our luxury Adirondack lodging includes a choice of five intimate guest rooms that are uncommonly comfortable ~ both rustic and elegant, even magnificent.Other hotels in the Adirondacks cannot live up to our resort standards. All guest accommodations have king-size beds, large stone fireplaces and wonderful lake and / or mountain views. All rooms have private luxury baths with deep-soaking Jacuzzi tubs, and all rooms have refrigerators. The nightly rate for Adirondack lodging at our Southern Adirondack Mountain resort includes an unforgettable breakfast, an evening boat tour of Friends Lake (seasonal) with wine and hors d'oeuvres, a full "help yourself" honor bar, nightly turndown service with chocolate truffles, Wi-Fi and a wide variety of on-site activities. Consider our private getaway for your elegant Adirondack wedding or honeymoon.In addition to luxury Adirondack lodge style accommodations, enjoy relaxing in the mission-influenced classically elegant Adirondack Great room with vaulted log ceilings and magnificent stone fireplace. In the evening, gather round the out door fireplace on the screened in porch. The ground floor of our hotel on Friends Lake walks out to the lake features many relaxing sitting areas, a pool table, bar, wine cellar, a game table, a nine-person theatre, a sauna and exercise equipment (Bowflex, free-weights, an elliptical, medicine ball, Swiss ball).Our 70-acre wooded property borders on pristine Friends Lake. Use our kayaks or lounge in the sun before a dip in the lake. The lake is well known for small mouth bass fishing. There is very nice hiking, cross-country skiing and snowshoeing right here on the property.Our beautiful 24' ELCO electric launch is used for a late afternoon boat tour of beautiful Friends Lake complete with beverages and hors d'oeuvres. Fern Lodge is unmatched among romantic Upstate NY hotels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Expedia, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your The Fern Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Fern Hotel Chestertown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing