We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“incredible place”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Fern Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Fern Lodge
Ranked #1 of 8 Chestertown B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Rochester, New York
1 review
“incredible place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2014 via mobile

I have to say....the place was amazing. The accommodations were beyond fantastic and the hospitality was five star. I would highly recommend the fern lodge to anyone who is looking for that perfect getaway place. Thank you Sharon and Greg for making our time there perfect!!!

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank mike d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sharonChestertown, Owner at The Fern Lodge, responded to this review, August 2, 2014
Thank YOU for such a lovely review. Come back soon! Sharon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

192 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    178
    5
    5
    2
    2
See reviews for
8
169
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Albany, New York
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2014

My boyfriend & I visited Jan.11-12 and had the most incredible time. Besides the room (Birch) being unbelievable & gorgeous in every way, the staff was beyond top notch. Susan & Brittany and Chef Chris were incredible. So wonderful and just the most accommodating and welcoming staff imaginable. Susan, especially, was a gem- so kind and we had such a nice time chatting with her throughout the course of our stay. Everything about the Fern Lodge was perfect, from the grounds, to the lodge, to the food, and even sweet little Shadow & Noche! We are already looking forward to making a return sometime in the spring/ summer! It is the best of the best.

Room Tip: The Birch Room was GORGEOUS with the double sided fireplace and a nice view over the lake!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MWhite23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SharonTaylor, Owner at The Fern Lodge, responded to this review, February 7, 2014
We are so glad you enjoyed yourselves! Susan is a great Innkeeper and we are very proud to have such great people. Glad we could provide you with a 4-legged guide-in-training as well, but how did you get her to sit still long enough to take a picture?
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakin, Kansas
Level Contributor
29 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2014

My husband and I stayed here for our honeymoon. You know the kind of cabin you dream about? The one with fireplaces and rustic furniture and big soft beds and of course, a view of the water? Well, check check and check. This one goes even beyond your dreams. Can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GertyAnne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SharonTaylor, Owner at The Fern Lodge, responded to this review, February 7, 2014
Wow! Thank you for your review and PLEASE come back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Slingerlands, New York, United States
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2013

Words can't describe this place. We will be back very often as the Fern Lodge gave us just what we needed to get away from city life and recharge our lives back to reality. Being situated on a lake gave us the tranquility but only minutes away from the mountain hikes that gave us our exercise for the week. It is truly a paradise snuggled away in a perfect setting.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SteveZ299
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SharonTaylor, Owner at The Fern Lodge, responded to this review, November 10, 2013
Come back soon! Many of our guests enjoy trying a different room or a different season- try us in the winter with the fireplaces blazing. Gore Mountain is great skiing and just 18 minutes away!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2013 via mobile

We booked at the last minute due to an cancellation and had no idea how lucky we got.
Sharon the owner was so so friendly and the ultimate hostess!
The lodge is first class all the way from the decor to the setting.
They spared no expense.
Sharon took us on a boat ride after a delicious breakfast.we highly recommend and hope to return again and again!!!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rstregis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SharonTaylor, Owner at The Fern Lodge, responded to this review, October 19, 2013
We love to exceed your every expectation- glad we succeeded! The boat ride is a favorite part of my day also!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyde Park, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2013

My fiancé and I spent a night at the Fern Lodge and found out quickly that this is not enough time to fully enjoy this beautiful Lodge. The Fern Lodge offers many options for fun including, a pool table, cinema, ping pong, a full bar and our favorite, kayaks.
I had booked the trip as a surprise for my fiancé and the innkeepers Sharon and Greg made it even more special by upgrading us from the Oak room to Birch. Birch is a beautiful room which is larger then our apartment! Birch offers a very large jacuzzi, a screened in patio with beautiful views of the lake, steam shower, double sided fire place and even heated floors!
It seems every small detail is thought of here from the heated floors to turn down service with chocolates. We loved the Fern Lodge so much that we are thinking of having our wedding here! Take it from me, if you are thinking about the Fern Lodge, think no more and book it! You will have no regrets!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JonathanOltz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SharonTaylor, Owner at The Fern Lodge, responded to this review, October 19, 2013
WOW, thank you for the compliments! We hope you do plan your small wedding here- we would be honored to host you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Litchfield, Connecticut
Level Contributor
30 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

We spent three nights here and enjoyed it thoroughly. The hosts live on site with their children and friendly dog, although in a separate wing. The inn was recently built for its current purpose, and the guest rooms and common areas are spacious and comfortable, decorated in a traditional Adirondack style -- but clean and contemporary, not at all rustic or musty. Host/owner Sharon and her staff were extremely friendly and helpful with recommendations for activities and restaurants in the area. Breakfasts were more than ample and delicious, with very good variety. The setting on Friends Lake is ideal, with lovely views from several vantage points on the nicely landscaped grounds, and kayaks and canoes for guest use. Early evening cruise on the lake for new guests was a wonderful introduction to this peaceful spot. If you are a wine aficionado, Sharon's husband Greg has a very impressive cellar. Nice touches, like turned down beds with chocolates, are to be expected, given the relatively high price of the accommodations.

Room Tip: We stayed in the "Cedar" room, which was very spacious and comfortable, with dramatic cath...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank J J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SharonTaylor, Manager at The Fern Lodge, responded to this review, September 7, 2013
Thank you for your review! The Boat Tour is one of my favorite things to share with guests; Friends Lake is so beautiful and private and quiet. We are very proud of our breakfasts- Chef Chris started cooking a couple days per week and has definitely kicked our breakfast program up a few notches. Thank you for staying with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chestertown
8.6 mi away
The Alpine Lodge
The Alpine Lodge
#2 of 4 in North Creek
4.0 of 5 bubbles 126 reviews
8.2 mi away
Gore Mountain Lodge
Gore Mountain Lodge
#1 of 4 in North Creek
5.0 of 5 bubbles 105 reviews
14.2 mi away
Garnet Hill Lodge
Garnet Hill Lodge
#1 of 1 in North River
4.5 of 5 bubbles 39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.1 mi away
Black Mountain Lodge
Black Mountain Lodge
#4 of 4 in North Creek
3.5 of 5 bubbles 53 reviews
1.1 mi away
Friends Lake Inn
Friends Lake Inn
#2 of 8 in Chestertown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 170 reviews
8.8 mi away
The Copperfield Inn Resort
The Copperfield Inn Resort
#3 of 4 in North Creek
4.0 of 5 bubbles 80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Fern Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fern Lodge

Property: The Fern Lodge
Address: 46 Fiddlehead Bay Rd, Chestertown, NY 12817-1949
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Chestertown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Chestertown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Fern Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our luxury Adirondack lodging includes a choice of five intimate guest rooms that are uncommonly comfortable ~ both rustic and elegant, even magnificent.Other hotels in the Adirondacks cannot live up to our resort standards. All guest accommodations have king-size beds, large stone fireplaces and wonderful lake and / or mountain views. All rooms have private luxury baths with deep-soaking Jacuzzi tubs, and all rooms have refrigerators. The nightly rate for Adirondack lodging at our Southern Adirondack Mountain resort includes an unforgettable breakfast, an evening boat tour of Friends Lake (seasonal) with wine and hors d'oeuvres, a full "help yourself" honor bar, nightly turndown service with chocolate truffles, Wi-Fi and a wide variety of on-site activities. Consider our private getaway for your elegant Adirondack wedding or honeymoon.In addition to luxury Adirondack lodge style accommodations, enjoy relaxing in the mission-influenced classically elegant Adirondack Great room with vaulted log ceilings and magnificent stone fireplace. In the evening, gather round the out door fireplace on the screened in porch. The ground floor of our hotel on Friends Lake walks out to the lake features many relaxing sitting areas, a pool table, bar, wine cellar, a game table, a nine-person theatre, a sauna and exercise equipment (Bowflex, free-weights, an elliptical, medicine ball, Swiss ball).Our 70-acre wooded property borders on pristine Friends Lake. Use our kayaks or lounge in the sun before a dip in the lake. The lake is well known for small mouth bass fishing. There is very nice hiking, cross-country skiing and snowshoeing right here on the property.Our beautiful 24' ELCO electric launch is used for a late afternoon boat tour of beautiful Friends Lake complete with beverages and hors d'oeuvres. Fern Lodge is unmatched among romantic Upstate NY hotels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Fern Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Fern Hotel Chestertown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing