We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful Perfection.”
Review of The Fern Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Fern Lodge
Ranked #1 of 8 Chestertown B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 19, 2013

We have had the good fortune to stay at The Fern Lodge twice so far and we are so looking forward to returning. Upon arrival we felt as though we were coming home with both Sharon and Greg there to welcome us.Within minutes we were all settled into our room and relaxing in front of the fire enjoying a glass of wine with our hosts. Every detail of the lodge has been thought of and attended to. And we slept so exceptionally well - we did not hear a single sound - which is exactly what we needed.

The Fern Lodge truly is a special place for a perfect couples getaway. We look forward to returning again this spring.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SNOWBLIZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (223)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

155 - 161 of 223 reviews

Reviewed January 29, 2013

Perfection. I'm ashamed that it's taken me so long to write this. We stayed Memorial Day weekend 2012. The only thing that could have been improved upon was the weather - which really wasn't bad. The photos of the Lodge were spot on. Our room (Pine) actually seemed larger in person. Can't wait to go back!

Room Tip: The Pine room had everything that we wanted/needed!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John_and_Michele
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2013

My husband & I celebrated our 19th wedding anniversary and it was awesome. Very clean, excellent & private. We stayed in the Birch room and was able to reconnect and let all the anxieties roll off us. If you want a fantastic view, great food, wonderful wine, relaxation, loads of amenities, then this is the place for you. It is worth EVERY single cent. I have visited lots of B&B and this one is definitely among my favorites.

Room Tip: I saw all the rooms here and you can't go wrong with any of them.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Veronica A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2013

I almost don't want to give too favorable a review, as we were looking to return, and now I feel that w may never get a room!

I will be brief.

Sharon *& Greg who are former owners of nearby Inn have certainly got the right formula when it comes to entertaining high end travelers seeking a luxurious experience. My only negative comment is that I wished we could have stayed TWO night 9or longer) instead of just one, but she was booked, and rightfully so. Charming, lakefront (and I mean lake front0-gorgeous million dollar picturesque setting) Lovely inviting warm living room with giant fireplace welcoming you to comfy intimate lodge setting. Roaring fire-charming furnishings-heavy rugs, beamed ceilings, windows, light, hand hewn beams-a large Labrador retriever. Downstairs to our incredible lower levl oasis-equipped with gym, top shelf honor bar, wine cellar, giant screen movie theatre (seating 12) with a million movies, spectacular sauna. our room was FOREST and spacious and bight. Lovely furnishings (think R Lauren eclectic) incredibly comfortable King Sealy Bed with down comforters and plush linens. Bed was created artfully from birch twigs. very high gas fireplace-and incredible bathroom like you have never seen. Boulders in the shower with 20 spickets of blasting water. We the family of 3 gleefully showered together happy as clams. My daughter had her own adjoining comfortable room with queen or double bed and writing desk and rocking chair. Although she had her own room we all very very comfortably slept all together. the views outside were snow covered and gorgeous all the way own to the lake. In the warmer weather, she has outdoor fireplaces and charming seating areas, we delighted ourselves in the freezing cold in the large outdoor Jacuzzi as it snowed on us. Wonderful experience.

It happened to be N Years Eve so after feasting on our 5 course meal nearby spectacular dinner, we arced back to the Inn to watch the ball drop and drank champagne with the Innkeepers and some of their friends who dropped by for dinner. We all laughed the night away discussing various topics and headed downstairs around 2am where I played ping pong with my daughter until the wee hours.

VERY TIRED the following day-and thoroughly enjoyed Sharon's delicious breakfast that she skillfully whipped up in her 1200Sf deluxe kitchen. My daughter happily consumed her chocolate chip pancakes while my wife and I enjoyed an interesting and flavorful frittata before getting on the road to watch the crazies leaping into the artic lake George-and then off for some ski mobiling nearby.

Look forward to our return in the Spring-

Room Tip: We stayed in the DELUXE Forest room, however we had a chance to peek into other rooms upstairs that...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank busier80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SharonTaylor, Owner at The Fern Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded January 7, 2013

Wow! Thank you for your kind words! Come see us in another season- we would love to share our beautiful lake with you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 17, 2012

My husband and I stayed in the Forest room and it was truly beautiful. We stayed 3 nights. We used the outdoor jacuzzi a couple of nights. It was so peaceful and quiet. We also took advantage of the movie room and we played a lot of pool. The owners, Sharon and Greg were wonderful as was the staff- Brittany & Sue. Breakfast was delicious each morning. It was a great way to get away from it all and just relax for a few days. I would highly recommend this resort if you are looking for a little R&R or a romantic getaway.

Room Tip: When you stay in the Forest Room you have your own private patio and you feel like the whole basemen...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Vicki V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2012

Everything was on point...from the room, to the view, to the hospitality. No detail was left unattended. This is the perfect place to spend a relaxing night before a day of skiing at Gore. Highly recommend!

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cuddlefish44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 5, 2012

This is, by far, the best place we've stayed! From the moment we arrived and were greeted by Susan, we felt right at home. We stayed in the Pine Room and the attention to detail was such a pleasant surprise! The Lodge is PRISTINE! When you walk in, you're welcomed by relaxing music, a roaring fire, subtle lighting, and you will immediately relax. And, as much as we felt were part of the family at the Fern Lodge, we also never felt like our privacy was over-stepped. There's no need to feel that awkward feeling of "how much do I have to interact with other guests and the innkeepers if I just want to be alone?". Someone's there if you need them, providing you with wine, snacks, coffee, as well as conversation if you're interested, and recommendations on where to eat and what to do. But, if you want to catnap in your room and read in front of the fireplace, not a soul will bother you! We spent one whole day never even leaving the lodge as it had more than enough to keep us comfortable and happy. We cannot wait until we can come back---maybe we'll have to stay for a week next time!!
THANK YOU Sharon, Greg, and Susan!

Room Tip: Pine room is rustic luxury at its best!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank AmyfromLitchfieldCty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chestertown
8.6 mi away
The Alpine Lodge
The Alpine Lodge
#2 of 4 in North Creek
134 reviews
8.2 mi away
Gore Mountain Lodge
Gore Mountain Lodge
#1 of 4 in North Creek
129 reviews
14.3 mi away
Garnet Hill Lodge
Garnet Hill Lodge
#1 of 1 in North River
69 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.0 mi away
Bonnie View on Lake George
Bonnie View on Lake George
#1 of 8 in Bolton Landing
236 reviews
1.1 mi away
Friends Lake Inn
Friends Lake Inn
#2 of 8 in Chestertown
180 reviews
2.9 mi away
Pine Tree Motel & Cabins
Pine Tree Motel & Cabins
#1 of 1 in Chestertown
59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Fern Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fern Lodge

Address: 46 Fiddlehead Bay Rd, Chestertown, NY 12817-1949
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Chestertown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Chestertown
Price Range: $435 - $498 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Fern Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our luxury Adirondack lodging includes a choice of five intimate guest rooms that are uncommonly comfortable ~ both rustic and elegant, even magnificent.Other hotels in the Adirondacks cannot live up to our resort standards. All guest accommodations have king-size beds, large stone fireplaces and wonderful lake and / or mountain views. All rooms have private luxury baths with deep-soaking Jacuzzi tubs, and all rooms have refrigerators. The nightly rate for Adirondack lodging at our Southern Adirondack Mountain resort includes an unforgettable breakfast, an evening boat tour of Friends Lake (seasonal) with wine and hors d'oeuvres, a full "help yourself" honor bar, nightly turndown service with chocolate truffles, Wi-Fi and a wide variety of on-site activities. Consider our private getaway for your elegant Adirondack wedding or honeymoon.In addition to luxury Adirondack lodge style accommodations, enjoy relaxing in the mission-influenced classically elegant Adirondack Great room with vaulted log ceilings and magnificent stone fireplace. In the evening, gather round the out door fireplace on the screened in porch. The ground floor of our hotel on Friends Lake walks out to the lake features many relaxing sitting areas, a pool table, bar, wine cellar, a game table, a nine-person theatre, a sauna and exercise equipment (Bowflex, free-weights, an elliptical, medicine ball, Swiss ball).Our 70-acre wooded property borders on pristine Friends Lake. Use our kayaks or lounge in the sun before a dip in the lake. The lake is well known for small mouth bass fishing. There is very nice hiking, cross-country skiing and snowshoeing right here on the property.Our beautiful 24' ELCO electric launch is used for a late afternoon boat tour of beautiful Friends Lake complete with beverages and hors d'oeuvres. Fern Lodge is unmatched among romantic Upstate NY hotels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Fern Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Fern Hotel Chestertown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing