We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely perfect”
Review of The Fern Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Fern Lodge
Ranked #1 of 8 Chestertown B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 16, 2012

Everything was on point...from the room, to the view, to the hospitality. No detail was left unattended. This is the perfect place to spend a relaxing night before a day of skiing at Gore. Highly recommend!

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cuddlefish44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (227)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

164 - 170 of 227 reviews

Reviewed December 5, 2012

This is, by far, the best place we've stayed! From the moment we arrived and were greeted by Susan, we felt right at home. We stayed in the Pine Room and the attention to detail was such a pleasant surprise! The Lodge is PRISTINE! When you walk in, you're welcomed by relaxing music, a roaring fire, subtle lighting, and you will immediately relax. And, as much as we felt were part of the family at the Fern Lodge, we also never felt like our privacy was over-stepped. There's no need to feel that awkward feeling of "how much do I have to interact with other guests and the innkeepers if I just want to be alone?". Someone's there if you need them, providing you with wine, snacks, coffee, as well as conversation if you're interested, and recommendations on where to eat and what to do. But, if you want to catnap in your room and read in front of the fireplace, not a soul will bother you! We spent one whole day never even leaving the lodge as it had more than enough to keep us comfortable and happy. We cannot wait until we can come back---maybe we'll have to stay for a week next time!!
THANK YOU Sharon, Greg, and Susan!

Room Tip: Pine room is rustic luxury at its best!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank AmyfromLitchfieldCty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2012

Our original two night stay was scheduled for Columbus Day weekend. Our reservations were made almost nine months in advance to confirm our stay at The Fern Lodge. Unfortunately, tragedy stuck two days prior with the passing of my mother. I contacted Sharon, who worked with us through this difficult time, and we made arrangements for a visit at a later date. Our stay was this past Thanksgiving weekend, and we were glad we were able to visit. The lodge is new, clean, and outstanding! Sharon not only rescheduled our reservation, but she was gratuitous to upgrade
us to a room at the lodge with a full walk-in shower, and walk out patio to the water! Sharon and Greg went "above and beyond" accommodating us with our stay. We sincerely appreciate all they did for us, and look forward to another great stay in the near future. My wife and I have visited over 20 bed and breakfasts in the last fifteen years, and The Fern Lodge is now our #1 B & B!

Room Tip: They are all excellent!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Scooter105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2012

We stayed in the Oak room and it was just beautiful. The entire place is as gorgeous as the pictures make it look. Sharon is an amazing host and just made us feel so at home. It truly was the most relaxing place we have been to and we can't wait to go back again. Everything was just right from the glass of wine (or two) by the fireplace in the evening to the delicious breakfast in the mornings. I just loved how when we were watching a movie in the theater and I felt a little chilly, so I went looking for a throw or something and low and behold there was a one sitting right there on the couch. Sharon has really thought of ever thing. Thank you so much for welcoming us into your home.

Room Tip: Not all rooms have TV's, so if that is a problem make sure you ask. I personally loved not havin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bonnie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2012

I booked a mini-honeymoon here for my daughter and son-in-law the weekend of October 19th-22nd. They absolutely raved about this place and want go back again! Wonderful location, gorgeous setting - I recommend this highly B&B to anyone who wants luxury in a private and quiet setting overlooking a lake. Makes me wish I could go there too!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sassylassy7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sharonChestertown, Owner at The Fern Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded November 5, 2012

You should come too! Thank you for your kind words; we have many couples celebrating their "special occasion- honeymoons, birthdays, and anniversaries. We are so glad they enjoyed themselves; hopefully they'll be back for their first anniversary!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2012

We booked a last minute trip to the Adirondacks for our anniversary, and had the good fortune to select the Fern Lodge for two evenings. The property is beautifully situated to explore the area - into the Adirondacks & over to Lake George. It also has a pretty amazing list of amenities - from an outdoor hot tub overlooking the lake, kayaks, sauna, lake-side fire pit, boathouse with a deck to read overlooking the lake and even a movie theater!

Best of all, the rooms are simply fabulous. We stayed in the "Oak" room, complete with a working fireplace, extraordinary "steam shower" and a deck with chairs and a swing with a fabulous vista of the lake.

Beyond the property, however, the owners and staff make the Fern Lodge a truly marvelous destination. We enjoyed complimentary hors d'ouevres and wine at happy hour each evening, allowing us to meet fellow guests from literally around the country and Australia! We woke to filling, gourmet breakfasts. And Sharon and staff are exceptionally well-informed about anything you might like to know about the area.

The weather kicked up and the lake was breezy during our stay, so my wife was disappointed we didn't get to take a boat ride around Friends Lake. Sharon kindly offered us a ride on our departure day, when the weather improved, capping our trip with a nice memory. (It would have been quite easy to say "too bad, maybe next time.")

We both enthusiastically recommend the Fern Lodge for a getaway to a truly scenic part of the Northeast!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank GregF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sharonChestertown, Owner at The Fern Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded November 5, 2012

We are so glad you enjoyed The Fern Lodge- and I'm so glad we squeezed in the boat ride as I consider it one of the highlights of the stay at the Lodge! I am always sad when its too late in the year to enjoy the boat and we move inside fireside...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2012

We absolutely loved this place! We spent 3 days here for our honeymoon in Oct 2012. The owners were very warm and welcoming the entire time. The room was gorgeous and super clean. The grounds and building was extremely well maintained with more than enough things to do. Breakfast was fresh and amazing. We will definitely be returning and suggest this place to everyone!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Lauren S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sharonChestertown, Owner at The Fern Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded November 5, 2012

Wow! Thank you- we are honored to have been the scene for your honeymoon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chestertown
8.6 mi away
The Alpine Lodge
The Alpine Lodge
#2 of 4 in North Creek
134 reviews
8.2 mi away
Gore Mountain Lodge
Gore Mountain Lodge
#1 of 4 in North Creek
131 reviews
14.3 mi away
Garnet Hill Lodge
Garnet Hill Lodge
#1 of 1 in North River
75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Friends Lake Inn
Friends Lake Inn
#2 of 8 in Chestertown
182 reviews
11.3 mi away
The Sagamore Resort
The Sagamore Resort
#1 of 8 in Bolton Landing
1,673 reviews
14.5 mi away
The Lodges at Cresthaven
The Lodges at Cresthaven
#12 of 89 in Lake George
188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Fern Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fern Lodge

Address: 46 Fiddlehead Bay Rd, Chestertown, NY 12817-1949
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Chestertown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Chestertown
Price Range: $422 - $498 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Fern Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our luxury Adirondack lodging includes a choice of five intimate guest rooms that are uncommonly comfortable ~ both rustic and elegant, even magnificent.Other hotels in the Adirondacks cannot live up to our resort standards. All guest accommodations have king-size beds, large stone fireplaces and wonderful lake and / or mountain views. All rooms have private luxury baths with deep-soaking Jacuzzi tubs, and all rooms have refrigerators. The nightly rate for Adirondack lodging at our Southern Adirondack Mountain resort includes an unforgettable breakfast, an evening boat tour of Friends Lake (seasonal) with wine and hors d'oeuvres, a full "help yourself" honor bar, nightly turndown service with chocolate truffles, Wi-Fi and a wide variety of on-site activities. Consider our private getaway for your elegant Adirondack wedding or honeymoon.In addition to luxury Adirondack lodge style accommodations, enjoy relaxing in the mission-influenced classically elegant Adirondack Great room with vaulted log ceilings and magnificent stone fireplace. In the evening, gather round the out door fireplace on the screened in porch. The ground floor of our hotel on Friends Lake walks out to the lake features many relaxing sitting areas, a pool table, bar, wine cellar, a game table, a nine-person theatre, a sauna and exercise equipment (Bowflex, free-weights, an elliptical, medicine ball, Swiss ball).Our 70-acre wooded property borders on pristine Friends Lake. Use our kayaks or lounge in the sun before a dip in the lake. The lake is well known for small mouth bass fishing. There is very nice hiking, cross-country skiing and snowshoeing right here on the property.Our beautiful 24' ELCO electric launch is used for a late afternoon boat tour of beautiful Friends Lake complete with beverages and hors d'oeuvres. Fern Lodge is unmatched among romantic Upstate NY hotels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Fern Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Fern Hotel Chestertown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing