We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unique and Peaceful... makes you want to return” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Fern Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Fern Lodge
Ranked #1 of 8 Chestertown B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Miami
Level Contributor
27 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Unique and Peaceful... makes you want to return”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2012

This lodge gives you the feeling that you are the owner of a very tasteful private home on an Adirondack lake... or, at the very least, a valued friend invited by such an owner for a weekend. Rather than feel like a small hotel, the Fern Lodge has the feel of an expansive high-end vacation villa. Sharon and Greg are expert hosts, with a wealth of experience and just the right mix of being hospitable without ever intruding in their guests "personal space".

This is a place for people, especially couples, who want to slow down and get re-acquainted in a warm and nurturing environment where you become more in touch with nature and with each other.

Room Tip: Each room is unique.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank GeorgeFreqTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

187 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    173
    5
    5
    2
    2
See reviews for
8
164
2
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Linthicum Heights, Maryland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2012

We have just returned from a trip to the Adirondacks and a stay at the Fern Lodge in Chestertown. The owners, Sharon and Greg and one of their staff, Jen were so welcoming and were fantastic hosts!!!! The minute we walked into our room the first thing we saw was the fabulous view of the lake. The decor was lovely and inviting and the bed very comfortable with turn down service. We played a game of pool and used the theatre room downstairs but didn't use the hottub. I did go swim in the lake ( a first experience for me.) the water was cool and refreshing and very clean. The breakfasts in the morning were wonderful, the raspberry pancakes my favourite. Sharon even took the time to make a special trip to take us out on the lake for a tour. When the weather was raining and a bit damp, Sharon started a cozy fire for us and some of the other guests and it turned out to be a great evening. My husband and I enjoyed our visit there so much and highly recommend a visit to the Fern Lodge. It is in a remote location, so if you are looking for a lot of action, this isn't the place for you, but if you are looking to relax in a warm homey environment with beautiful views and great service and don't mind driving a bit to adventure out then this is the BEST choice for you. ENJOY!!!!!!!!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Oak Room which had a fantastic view. We did get to see the Pine Room, right next to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank myrna s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baldwinsville, New York
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2012

Greg & Sharon do their best to make your stay memorable: through home cooked meals each morning including coconut french toast with Oscar's Smokehouse sausages, made to order omelettes or pancakes, by recommending great places to see during the day or where to dine in the evening and by sharing great stories of how they traded in the much larger Friends Lake Inn for a 5 room B&B. We also had the opportunity to go a boat ride during the afternoon with some other guests around Friends Lake and enjoy the hot tub with a fabulous view of the ducks and chipmunks in the surrounding woods....we already miss Shadow, their beautiful dog, and their staff including Jen and Susan.

Room Tip: We had the Oak Room which shares a balcony with another room, but the Oak has a great porch swing (w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mendon, New York
Level Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2012

We stayed in the Pine Room which is at the far end of the house on the main level. The room opens up onto a porch shared by one other room and has a great view of the lake. The lodge is beautifully decorated in an upscale adirondack lodge motif. The room is large and has a very nice gas fireplace. The room has a very cozy and romantic atmosphere. I could have spent a morning in the bathroom alone. The bathroom has a soaking tub with jets and there is a separate shower with 3 shower heads and a hand held shower head. The shower also has a steam option. I tried to use it but it didn't seem to be working. I didn't ask about it but I'm sure someone would have been happy to help me out with it. Sharon and Greg were welcoming and gracious hosts and their dog Shadow is a great companion on walks. The breakfasts were filling but nothing remarkable. However, I did love the blueberry scones we had on one of the mornings. It is a peaceful, tranquil and quiet place to unwind far away from the maddening crowd. My intention had been to relax for the three days we were there and just read a book. However I never opened a book once as there are so many other things to do around the lodge and within a 30 minute-drive-radius of the lodge. They have pool and fuse ball tables, exercise equipment and the 9 seat movie theatre and a sauna among other things. They have a fairly good selection of movies to watch in the theatre and a popcorn machine so you have something to munch on. The boathouse contains kayaks that you can take out on the lake. My husband enjoyed fishing from the dock and the shore. Please note that the Pine room does not have a TV. This isn't clearly stated on the website but I had a suspicion this was probably the case so we brought our laptop. There is Wi Fi throughout the lodge. And really I'm not sure I would want a TV in the room as it would mar the otherwise very peaceful and quiet atmosphere. If you need to be plugged into the world I would recommend that you bring your laptop. There are also two large TVs in the activities room where the pool table and exercise equipment are located. Both work. There was a lot of attention to detail keeping the guests comfort in mind and the lodge itself is very clean and well maintained. We had a wonderful stay. It is a very pricey place to stay and although I would be happy to return it would have to be for a very special occasion when I could justify paying the room rate of over $400 a night.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Love2Travel043
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
69 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 29, 2012

I am sorry my girlfriend and I are unable to recommend this place. We were disappointed almost from the moment we got there. Upon arriving, we were taken to our room - but soon found the fireplace did not work. Despite several requests, it was never fixed. While we are not big television watchers, we were amazed at the tiny (like maybe 10 inches across) screen located high near the ceiling. It was almost impossible to see. The movie room downstairs did not work easily -- we struggled to figure it out with another couple and gave up. Most of the lights on the steep walk down to the water were not working at night, so we both tripped and almost fell walking down in the dark. Most infuriating, very early on a Sunday morning a maintenance man started using a shovel to scrape up dirt from the driveway. Our room, the mountain view or something like that, actually opened up to the driveway. Amazingly noisy, which also made it impossible to sleep. And although not the fault of this place, there was a group of teenagers whooping it up in a place nearby - which went very late into the evening before we were then awoken early the next morning by the driveway scraper. We did enjoy kayaking the lake and had fun in the local ice cream parlor. But we were so unimpressed with the place that we left before our second night, despite pre-paying. This place is also pricey - and our experience is that for the money you can do much, much better.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
19 Thank geonat1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SharonTaylor, Owner at The Fern Lodge, responded to this review, April 2, 2012
We are so sorry to hear of your impression of The Fern Lodge, it certainly is not the norm in the 7 years we have been here- as witnessed in the other reviews here. We live on premise and strive to exceed every guests' expectation; we wish you had made your unhappiness known to us- any of the situations could have been immediately rectified.

Your room "Cedar" is the only room without a lakeview and did have a very small television in it (see the picture of Cedar)- it has been replaced with a large flatscreen television. "Cedar' and "Forest" are our only rooms with televisions at this time. However; the lodge is located in a very secluded, private, and very quiet location overlooking the private pristine Friends Lake.

Maintenance (gardening, lawn, housekeeping) is never scheduled before 10:30 am, but we should have noticed you not joining us for breakfast and sleeping late and averted any undue maintenance to disturb you.

There is a lighted path/steps from the outdoor patio with hottub to the lakeside firepit and boathouse. There is a regular evening lakeside fire and the lighting is most definitely required to get there safely. The lights are automatic and do turn off at midnight. Perhaps it was after midnight when you went down to the lake?

Again, we are so disappointed that you did not make any of your concerns known to us- your experience is not representative of what we offer here at The Fern Lodge.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Princeton, New Jersey
Level Contributor
59 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2012

My family just returned from ski trip at Gore and we were fortunate to stay at the Fern Lodge. Though it's about a twenty minute trip to the mountain, the beauty of the lodge and the wonderful gracious hosts Sharon and Greg made it worth the drive. Ideally this is a place for a romantic getaway and their Alpine Lodge better suited to the ski crowd. We'll be staying here again as soon as we can...

Room Tip: The forest room is perfect for small families. Our two boys shared the bed in the extra bedroom whil...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank flicklives
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maine
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2012

Loved the hot tub, movie theater room with popcorn... great environment and great amenities... however, you certainly pay for them. The cost for the rooms is overpriced... I have stayed in nicer rooms for less. Personally, the cost to stay here was not worth a reoccurring visit. The rooms were nice, but nothing to write home about. The service and the breakfast wasn't anything special either. Sorry but my expectations were much more for the price you pay to stay at this B&B in the middle of no-where.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
13 Thank melissa e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chestertown
8.2 mi away
Gore Mountain Lodge
Gore Mountain Lodge
#1 of 4 in North Creek
5.0 of 5 bubbles 101 reviews
8.6 mi away
The Alpine Lodge
The Alpine Lodge
#2 of 4 in North Creek
4.0 of 5 bubbles 125 reviews
14.2 mi away
Garnet Hill Lodge
Garnet Hill Lodge
#1 of 1 in North River
4.5 of 5 bubbles 38 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.3 mi away
Black Mountain Lodge
Black Mountain Lodge
#4 of 4 in North Creek
3.5 of 5 bubbles 52 reviews
16.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Lake George
1.1 mi away
Friends Lake Inn
Friends Lake Inn
#2 of 8 in Chestertown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Fern Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fern Lodge

Property: The Fern Lodge
Address: 46 Fiddlehead Bay Rd, Chestertown, NY 12817-1949
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Chestertown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Chestertown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Fern Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our luxury Adirondack lodging includes a choice of five intimate guest rooms that are uncommonly comfortable ~ both rustic and elegant, even magnificent.Other hotels in the Adirondacks cannot live up to our resort standards. All guest accommodations have king-size beds, large stone fireplaces and wonderful lake and / or mountain views. All rooms have private luxury baths with deep-soaking Jacuzzi tubs, and all rooms have refrigerators. The nightly rate for Adirondack lodging at our Southern Adirondack Mountain resort includes an unforgettable breakfast, an evening boat tour of Friends Lake (seasonal) with wine and hors d'oeuvres, a full "help yourself" honor bar, nightly turndown service with chocolate truffles, Wi-Fi and a wide variety of on-site activities. Consider our private getaway for your elegant Adirondack wedding or honeymoon.In addition to luxury Adirondack lodge style accommodations, enjoy relaxing in the mission-influenced classically elegant Adirondack Great room with vaulted log ceilings and magnificent stone fireplace. In the evening, gather round the out door fireplace on the screened in porch. The ground floor of our hotel on Friends Lake walks out to the lake features many relaxing sitting areas, a pool table, bar, wine cellar, a game table, a nine-person theatre, a sauna and exercise equipment (Bowflex, free-weights, an elliptical, medicine ball, Swiss ball).Our 70-acre wooded property borders on pristine Friends Lake. Use our kayaks or lounge in the sun before a dip in the lake. The lake is well known for small mouth bass fishing. There is very nice hiking, cross-country skiing and snowshoeing right here on the property.Our beautiful 24' ELCO electric launch is used for a late afternoon boat tour of beautiful Friends Lake complete with beverages and hors d'oeuvres. Fern Lodge is unmatched among romantic Upstate NY hotels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity and Booking.com so you can book your The Fern Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Fern Hotel Chestertown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing