We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“It's rather splendid, actually”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Fern Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Fern Lodge
Ranked #1 of 8 Chestertown B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“It's rather splendid, actually”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2011

I stayed at The Fern Lodge for 5 nights in Autumn.

Overall I was delighted with the experience – it is the first time I've given a place 5 stars.

Fern Lodge in a nutshell:

-One morning I was showering and noticed a pretty photo of a maple tree, bright red, with a ring of fallen leaves around it. Funny, I didn't notice that before I thought. A moment later I realised I was looking out of the window.

-Diving into the lake at 07:00 one October morning. Cold enough to stop your heart, but absolutely crystal clear.

The owners are attentive, as befits a luxury establishment, but not over the top. For example, if my wife and I entered one of the (delightful) public rooms late in the evening, sure enough Sharon would quietly show up five minutes later to light the real wood fire, and to offer us freshly made coffee.

On another occasion, I had persuaded my long suffering wife to go out on a hike that required us to leave before breakfast at 8:00am. We were expecting to leave without anything, but Sharon made a point of getting up early as well to prepare us something to eat.

The property has a nice location, right by the lake. The public rooms are what makes the Fern Lodge special; public rooms you really want to spend time in. Our room was large and spacious, and a nice place to be, with a beautiful bathroom

Out and about:

The two trips I enjoyed the most were to Pine Orchard (I'll remember that for a long time) and our trip up to Pilsbury Mountain (not really a mountain but with stunning views). You will not starve in nearby Chestertown but don't expect fine dining (Luna Pizza is recommended). Really though, I would expect most people come here to be outdoors and in that sense you will not be disappointed.

Value:

The price is high but can be justified.

Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank bbclefties
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SharonTaylor, Owner at The Fern Lodge, responded to this review, August 19, 2011
We are thrilled with the review you wrote us! But we have to say, we are confirmed major "foodies" and "wine-ies" and the dining in our area is exceptional!!!! Try some of our favorites; barVino, The Owl at Twilight, Friends Lake Inn, The Inn at Erlowest, The Farmhouse, Main Street Ice Cream and more!!! We have really fine dining within a 15 minute radius of the lodge!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

192 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    178
    5
    5
    2
    2
See reviews for
8
169
2
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2011

Lovely B&B with very friendly hosts. They are in the process of upgrading a few other things around the inn (adding a patio and hot tub) so I imagine it will be even lovelier this summer and fall. Good advice on restaurants and bike rides, we were just a little disappointed that the whole Lake George region was so dead in mid-May. Their season doesn't start really until after Memorial Day, so we were faced with limited choices on activities (museums and many restaurants not open, etc.) That is of course no fault of the Fern Lodge, just a heads up to anyone planning a trip on the shoulder season...I guess since the Lake George region is such a destination, I expected it to feel a little more lively -- Bolton Landing is a tiny town with a few shops and restaurants, but you could see the whole thing in an hour -- The area is very scenic and I imagine that the hiking and kayaking would be great...

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SJRJA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delmar, New York
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2011

We had the distinct pleasure of staying at the Fern Lodge recently and were so pleased by our experience. Sharon and Gregg are the consumate hosts who made our stay as relaxing and wonderful as possible. From the warm greetings to our name on the "Oak Room" to the popcorn while we watched a movie in the theater.......it was truly an experience we will soon repeat. An evening by the outdoor fireplace was a perfect ending to an "Idealic Weekend Getaway"........

Room Tip: Any and all!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bmac22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bayside, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2011

Originally I was searching for a quiet getaway in the Poconos with my fiancee, but based on the reviews, it quickly became apparent that quiet and quality do not go hand in hand at most of the establishments. Enter the Fern Lodge - it got good reviews and it was nestled in the Adirondacks. Where better for quiet and romance?

We booked the second largest room for two nights, but since we were off season (or just lucky) the owners upgraded us to the largest room at no additional charge. The double sided fireplace visible from the jacuzzi was just the beginning. Spectacular view, radiant heating (from the floors for the uninitiated), enormous uber-king sized bed made of logs that seemed to go through the area rug beneath (still not sure how they worked that), steam shower (shower with rain shower head, massage head, two adjustable heads from either side and optional steam to create a sauna whilst one bathed), and even a walk in closet! As it happened, they were offering a book-two-nights-get-a-third-night-free deal so we got to stay for an extremely long romantic weekend!

The breakfast was delightful though small the first night consisting of 3 buttermilk pancakes and 2 slices of bacon *natural, locally produced and delicious) each, along with large martini glasses filled with very fresh fruit, lovely selection of teas and fresh brewed coffee. If this doesn't sound small, it's really not - we're just used to really digging in on vacation. When I mentioned to the owners that it was lovely but small, they immediately adjusted from modest to pig out mode. In accordance with our request the following morning found us served (in bed of course) two eggs benedict each, 3 slices of bacon each, scones from scratch, different fruit in the martini glasses and of course the tea and coffee. Our last morning as well featured French toast, eggs, sausage (same source), different fruit and of course, coffee and tea.

The common area was cozy to say the least. It features a roaring fire nightly (guests may freely contribute from the provided wood, branch and periodicals piles), two friendly yellow labs (one ancient and sleepy, one young and playful but neither in your face nor ANYWHERE near the rooms), free wine and cheese at 5 (continuing until the conversation dies down or sleep takes over), and a spectacular lakeside view. They're currently putting in a hot tub outside along with lean-to's for a little camping vibe along with an outside fireplace sort of area (but again that's just to come). The owners were extremely friendly - wine hit the table if the conversation went on more than "hello-goodbye".

Downstairs, which I didn't even notice on the website is still more good stuff - the POOL TABLE! Plus darts, the old fashioned popcorn machine, a small fitness center, a Wii and a fabulous home theater - no really, home theater - blu ray, enormous screen, theater seating [3 rows], and serious surround sound.

Had we been earlier in the year, the frozen lake would have provided additional activities. Had we gone later in the year, boating would have been an option. I thought when setting out that we wouldn't have anything to do - so wrong! So many movies downstairs, so many fine eateries out there, not bored, not for a second.

Must go back...

Room Tip: Go off season, and select the Birch room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Vampchamp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2011

Sharon, Greg, Quinn, Hudson, and Shadow. Thank you so much for the memorable stay. It was hard to leave. There are so many great things to say about your B&B I am not going to attempt to list them. For those on the fence about your stay... I can say with confidence that if you are looking for a beautiful, quiet, luxury B&B on a lake with a lot of great activities in and around the property you should book a room now. We stayed in the Birch Room but had a chance to see the other rooms and they are all special. Looking forward to a return in the summer for a whole new set of activities.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cartergroome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SharonTaylor, Owner at The Fern Lodge, responded to this review, April 8, 2011
Carter and Karen were engaged this weekend! Congratulations!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
34 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 29, 2010

WOW! The owners have really thought of everything. Steam shower, jacuzzi, large stone fireplaces and Aveda bath products-without sacrifing Adirondack style.

My boyfriend and I spent a weekend there in the Pine Room (which is MUCH larger than in the picture). The entire lodge is pristene and tranquil. The breakfast is wonderful. The owners will assist in any way they can whether with directions or suggestions for great restaurants. And unlike a lot of B&Bs, what I really loved about the Fern Lodge was that we were given all the privacy we needed.

Definitely utilize their "favorite" hikes. We hiked Crane Mountain and after years of hiking, it was, without a doubt, the best hike I've ever been on.

BOTTOM LINE: If you're considering a retreat to the Adirondacks, don't walk, BUT RUN to The Fern Lodge!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ecsouthworth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yonkers, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2010

We were delighted to be at this Adirondack Lodge the home of Sharon and Greg Taylor on Friends Lake. Which is one of the many lakes in the Lake George area. Breakfast was wonderful with creative preparations each morning. Fresh and delicious, with a direct view of the lake in a semi screened in roofed veranda complete with sitting area and fireplace. Our day passed as we wished; hiking one day, shopping another sightseeing in the dacks. At nite Sharon has a great heads up on fashionable reastaurants. We wanted to try them all they were so right. So we will be back to light a fire perhaps in the outside firepit and view the lake, take in the quite, and her perninal and herb garden. Brian & Lisa Nicoletti Yonkers,NY

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lisa48922
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chestertown
8.6 mi away
The Alpine Lodge
The Alpine Lodge
#2 of 4 in North Creek
4.0 of 5 bubbles 126 reviews
8.2 mi away
Gore Mountain Lodge
Gore Mountain Lodge
#1 of 4 in North Creek
5.0 of 5 bubbles 105 reviews
14.2 mi away
Garnet Hill Lodge
Garnet Hill Lodge
#1 of 1 in North River
4.5 of 5 bubbles 39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.1 mi away
Black Mountain Lodge
Black Mountain Lodge
#4 of 4 in North Creek
3.5 of 5 bubbles 53 reviews
1.1 mi away
Friends Lake Inn
Friends Lake Inn
#2 of 8 in Chestertown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 170 reviews
8.8 mi away
The Copperfield Inn Resort
The Copperfield Inn Resort
#3 of 4 in North Creek
4.0 of 5 bubbles 80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Fern Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fern Lodge

Property: The Fern Lodge
Address: 46 Fiddlehead Bay Rd, Chestertown, NY 12817-1949
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Chestertown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Chestertown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Fern Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our luxury Adirondack lodging includes a choice of five intimate guest rooms that are uncommonly comfortable ~ both rustic and elegant, even magnificent.Other hotels in the Adirondacks cannot live up to our resort standards. All guest accommodations have king-size beds, large stone fireplaces and wonderful lake and / or mountain views. All rooms have private luxury baths with deep-soaking Jacuzzi tubs, and all rooms have refrigerators. The nightly rate for Adirondack lodging at our Southern Adirondack Mountain resort includes an unforgettable breakfast, an evening boat tour of Friends Lake (seasonal) with wine and hors d'oeuvres, a full "help yourself" honor bar, nightly turndown service with chocolate truffles, Wi-Fi and a wide variety of on-site activities. Consider our private getaway for your elegant Adirondack wedding or honeymoon.In addition to luxury Adirondack lodge style accommodations, enjoy relaxing in the mission-influenced classically elegant Adirondack Great room with vaulted log ceilings and magnificent stone fireplace. In the evening, gather round the out door fireplace on the screened in porch. The ground floor of our hotel on Friends Lake walks out to the lake features many relaxing sitting areas, a pool table, bar, wine cellar, a game table, a nine-person theatre, a sauna and exercise equipment (Bowflex, free-weights, an elliptical, medicine ball, Swiss ball).Our 70-acre wooded property borders on pristine Friends Lake. Use our kayaks or lounge in the sun before a dip in the lake. The lake is well known for small mouth bass fishing. There is very nice hiking, cross-country skiing and snowshoeing right here on the property.Our beautiful 24' ELCO electric launch is used for a late afternoon boat tour of beautiful Friends Lake complete with beverages and hors d'oeuvres. Fern Lodge is unmatched among romantic Upstate NY hotels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Travelocity and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Fern Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Fern Hotel Chestertown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing