We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding from soup to cheese”
Review of Friend's Lake Inn

Friend's Lake Inn
Ranked #7 of 19 Restaurants in Chestertown
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: Murphy Road
Pound Ridge, New York
Level 6 Contributor
137 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Outstanding from soup to cheese”
Reviewed September 3, 2012

We celebrated a family occasion this past weekend with a group of 12 members. The inn was so gracious in providing us our own private dining room. We sampled an assortment of appetizers and entrees and some of the exceptional dishes included the lobster, scallop and corn crepe about which several members of our party raved, elk, duck, a much appreciated and unique vegetarian entree, and outstanding desserts including a rich peanut butter mousse and a rich chocolate sensation. The artisan cheese platter had some unique and wonderful offerings. The wine list reads like a holy tome.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank luna24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    58
    25
    18
    6
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
kardashr
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Has been better...”
Reviewed August 21, 2012

We make a point of eating here once a year and feel as if the food is not as good as it has been in the past. The service is always excellent, however the tuna was uninspired and our server suggested we avoid the halibut. However, the seafood crepe appetizer never disappoints. Also, the wine list is outstanding.

    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kardashr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“A gem in the Adirondacks”
Reviewed August 13, 2012

The Friends Lake Inn is a gem in the wilderness. We didn't plan ahead and when scouting around for dinner on a Saturday night and were told that the dining room was full but that we could eat at the bar. Well, there is a bar, but also nicely set tables in the bar room with a beautiful view of the lake. The bar menu is somewhat abbreviated from the main dining room but the famous Lobster-Scallop-Corn chowder crepe is available and highly recommended. There are plenty of choices, something for everyone.

All the items we ordered; grilled salmon, ribeye steak, blueberry maple braised short ribs, were excellent and the prices were surprisingly modest compared to other upscale restaurants in the wider area. Our waitress was extremely friendly and accommodating. We had read some comments that the staff was somewhat pretentious but we didn't see any of this during our visit.

We will put this on our list of places to definitely revist in the future.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank NewJerseyTripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Friends Lake Inn is NOT what it used to be”
Reviewed July 28, 2012

My wife and I used to travel to Friends Lake Inn when we lived in Boston. The Inn became our special place--not just because of the great rooms (we tried several different rooms and love the Adirondack Great Rooms), but because of the food. Sadly, a recent dinner at Friends Like Inn was a huge disappointment.

For years the Inn has had a lobster and scallop crepe in its menu. Many years back the crepe won an award, and it was MUCH deserved. I order it every time. (We've had dinner there probably 2 dozen times over the past ten years). But this time the buerre blanc sauce on this crepe was very wrong and the scallops were overcooked. How sad!

But that wasn't the biggest problem. My wife has always been a vegetarian as long as we've gone to Friends Lake Inn. There was always something on the menu--something creative and delicious. But the night we were there, the chef had the nerve to serve her a crappy pasta primavera. Pasta primavera is the go-to vegetarian dish of the poorest of chefs. I am posting a picture of what they served us for $24! No imagination and zero taste.

My ribeye steak on lobster mashed potatoes was competently cooked, if sloppily presented. And get this Wine Spectator: my bordeaux was served in a narrow white wine glass!

Not sure what is going on at Friends Lake Inn, but the kitchen is nowhere near what it used to be. It may sound strange to say, but my wife and I were heart-broken. Friends Lake had become a part of our relationship; a kind of go-to place that never disappointed. Until recently.

We won't go back.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Franz1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montclair, New Jersey
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Bistro”
Reviewed July 19, 2012

Very pleasant atmosphere and nice food. Service was very pleasant and accommodating.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank upupaway219
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Friend's Lake Inn also viewed

 

Been to Friend's Lake Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing