We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“From a romantic dinner to a fun evening in the bar area” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Friend's Lake Inn

Friend's Lake Inn
Ranked #7 of 17 Restaurants in Chestertown
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: American, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Full Bar, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: Murphy Road
PA
Level Contributor
34 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“From a romantic dinner to a fun evening in the bar area”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2011

This place in the middle of nowhere offers everything from snacks and tapas in the bar area to a romantic dinner in the dining room. We arrived very late so we only had a wonderful glass of wine (what a selection!) and some tapas. We should've gone earlier and had a full dinner!

  • Visited August 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank PaUtahlover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    56
    25
    18
    6
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Central Adirondacks
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“The food is not worth the price.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2011

We have been going to the Friends Lake Inn for dinner for over 20 years and it used to be fabulous. We had an okay, not great dinner a few years ago and were reluctant to go back. Well, we decided to give it a try again and we were very disappointed. The warm spinach salad was great but that was about it... I ordered the tuna tartare and it was supposed to have white truffle oil on it, which it did not. My entree was red snapper which was very bland and did not taste fresh. I hate to complain but the food is not cheap!

    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank I Love NY State
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Consistently a diamond in the adirondack rough”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2011

We have dined at Friends lake in for many years. Seen the inn change hands, undergo renovations and many seasons. It remains one of our favorite places to dine in the US. The menu is representative of the local culture and produce yet artistic and balance. The wine list is a joy to just and read through. The staff goes out of their way to provide a great evening. I do not hesitate to recommend the Inn for anyone looking for a wonderful meal and dining experience.

  • Visited July 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank jafox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adirondacks
Level Contributor
124 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“"A Special Place in the Woods"”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2011

The Friends Lake Inn is a true Adirondack experience. Everything you might expect in a real mountain inn can be found here. The food and service was top shelf. While we were the only dinners that evening the Inn had a full menu with excellent choices. Please note it is very expensive but worth the money for a special occasion.

  • Visited July 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank William B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Level Contributor
52 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Excellence”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2009

I cannot write a good enough review to suit this place! The food was amazing as was the service of the staff. The wine list was exceptional. I stayed at the Inn for two nights and wish I had eaten there for both. I recommend this place to anyone staying there or even if you are staying somewhere else, definitely make the trip to this place!

    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank NJCiccio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Friend's Lake Inn also viewed

 

Been to Friend's Lake Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing