We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good burgers!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Hemlock Ledge - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
The Hemlock Ledge
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Seating
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Seating
Williamsville, New York
Level Contributor
74 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Good burgers!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2013

Loved the burgers. Small restaurant and bar on Main Street in Chestertown with great burgers. I had a turkey burger with sautéed spinach and feta. It comes with a wheat wrap but I asked for it without the wrap and no problem. All their burgers come with either French fries or salad...how great! Since I'm trying to diet, I had a salad, lettuce, onions, and great tomatoes! (Might be the time of year). Others with us had meat burgers and enjoyed them very much. Nice little place in a nice little town near Loon Lake in the Adirondacks.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ann1948
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

17 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    8
    1
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Millville, New Jersey
Level Contributor
66 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“When it was good, it was very, very good and when it was bad...it was horrid.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2013 via mobile

We ate here based on the TripAdvisor reviews and were somewhat disappointed. The decor inside and the outside appearance didn't really bother us since we were in a small town in the Adirondacks, but we expected better of the food. Starting out, the Chicken Buffalo Soup was excellent and we anticipated the entree special would be the same. Unfortunately neither of the 2 of us, that ordered the Sesame Beef, could eat it. Odd taste and mushy rice. The green beans were the best item on the plate.
The hamburger was nothing special but there were lots of fries and they were excellent. The chili was very good too.
The waitress was very friendly and pleasant. However, when I told her we couldn't eat the Sesame Beef she didn't ask us to explain.
We probably should give it another try, but not sure we will

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank pasrts4046
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ossining
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great Burgers and Fries”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2013

Very nice place with ice cold craft beers and friendly owners and staff. You have to try the burgers - excellent turkey burger we had served spicy hot and an excellent Blt burger. Fries were excellent and the portions were big. They do take out for those late arrivals to the North Country.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Michael s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hicksville, New York
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“recommended by friends - and did not disappoint”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2013

Friends who live in the area recommended this restaurant to us as we were passing through. Very glad they did! Started the night with a drink at the bar at the quaint place and had a nice friendly chat with the bartender. Once seated, we ordered the steak and pork chops from the friendly waitress. When the meals were brought to the table, even the neighboring tables remarked at the presentation. Delicious, delicious, delicious.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Claire H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
70 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Nice addition to Chestertown!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2013 via mobile

As we have done in the past, we read TripAdvisor reviews and were not disappointed after our visit to The Hemlock Ledge.

Husband started off with a very meaty bowl of chili and said it was very good. We also split an order of cheese fries with gravy which hit the spot. Our entrees were fettuccini Alfredo with chicken and shrimp scampi with fresh steamed broccoli and mashers. Shrimp & broccoli were very tasty; mashers were bland, but I didn't order the dish for them, so no big deal at all. His fettuccini was very filling (as usual), and he wound up taking about half if it home with us.

We hope this place will be here when we come back in 2 years - stop by - its worth the treat!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SoMuchToSeeOutThere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Hemlock Ledge also viewed

 
Chestertown, NY
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing