We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overpriced for Overnight Package”
Review of Friends Lake Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Friends Lake Inn
Ranked #2 of 8 Chestertown B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
New York
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Overpriced for Overnight Package”
Reviewed August 26, 2012

My husband and I went to Friends Lake Inn to celebrate our Anniversary. The Inn had been recommended to us by several friends and colleagues, who raved about the food and wine. We choose one of the special overnight packages offered by the Inn, which included the specified activity, dinner, breakfast, and turndown service. The dinner and wine were top notch, however the room was disappointing. The room was clean and neat, but not worth the price you pay. The bedspread and drapes are old and faded and there are no extra amenities. We did not receive the "complimentary room upgrade on arrival when available." Also, it is not mentioned on the website or when you book your reservations, but when you arrive they tell you will be charged an automatic 18% gratuity for dinner and breakfast in addition to your package price. We had no problem with the 18% gratuity (we probably would have left more) but the fact that they dont tell you on the website or when you book it and then add it when you arrive was a litte off-putting. It was a fine night, but overpriced.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank thiasa34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tammy f, Owner at Friends Lake Inn, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
I recently purchased (June 2014) the Inn and wanted to address your concerns. First the gratuity -while it is included in the check-in letter, we have updated the website to include the 18% gratuity to insure that our guests are well informed. Next the room appearance - work has been done since your visit, however we have a renovation project planned for the winter which will include new linens, furniture and other updating. I'm sorry your did not enjoy your stay. If you would like to come back for a visit please give me a call.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

173 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    118
    30
    16
    7
    2
See reviews for
14
137
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Scotia, New York
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2012 via mobile

Have always wanted to try the FLI and finally made it there last night. Usually when you look forward to something for a long time and build up your expectations, you have some disappointment. Not here! From the moment we checked in, the service was friendly, helpful, and courteous. The inn is lovely- room 7 had a view of the lake (across the street) and a screened in porch. Music was playing, cookies were waiting, and the steam shower was a treat. The menu was unique and enticing. Dinner was delightful from start to finish. Kudos to Joyce for wonderful service. Amazing wine selection. Great chef!! Looking forward to returning during another season to take advantage of hiking or skiing their trails. Highly recommend this spot in the peaceful Adirondacks.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Diane F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niskayuna, NY
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2012

While dinner on it's own at Friends Lake Inn is always wonderful, the spectacular wine pairing dinners offered monthly are really special. We have attended many and the thoughtful, innovative pairings have never failed to surprise, delight and impress. The Joe Carr wine dinners in particular are a treat, Joe attends (from across the country) and tells wonderful stories about his adventures in winemaking while providing a running commentary on the wine. Trudy, John and the staff never fail to greet all the guests and make every one feel welcome. The food is always spectacular - the young chef is surprisingly creative and we always end up trying something new. The desserts are equally delightful, the service impeccable and the evening is always memorable. If you attend as a couple you may find yourselves seated with others which makes for an even more memorable experience.
Other notes about the inn:
We have stayed a few times and the rooms are lovely, each one different, all of them interesting. The breakfast and full dinner was included in our package and it was wonderful
One other time we just went for dinner on our anniversary. Special treatment including a lovely card from the staff and a special menu. I highly recommend.
And the bar menu is great - not one bit standard and a lovely view.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a porch!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PatraMM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, New York
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2012

We have stayed at Friends Lake Inn about a half dozen times over the last 4 years or so. We absolutely love it!
This place has the warmth, special touches and ambiance. I've always felt so pampered when I'm there!
Our favorite rooms are the Adirondack rooms.. We've stayed in practically all of them.. Each is gorgeously decorated and spacious..
While it does seem expensive to stay here.. If you add in the fact that you get a 5 star meal for dinner, followed by a wonderful breakfast the next morning .. It really isn't too bad. Plus all the amenities thst are offered.. Hiking, swimming, canoeing, etc.
We've not been able to advantage of half of the offerings due to our time constraints. But one of our favorite things is to take one of their canoes out and paddling along the serene Friends Lake.. They've even let us use their equipment after we checked out of our room the next morning..
We would highly recommend this Inn to anyone who wants a special and memorable getaway. We need to go back soon!

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank livluvsunsand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glenmont
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2012

Easy 1-1/2 hour drive from Albany - highway most of the way and a bucolic setting for this lovely hotel. I've stayed here twice: once in winter and just last night. All seasons are fun: crosscountry skiing or snowshoeing (free equipment and trails right out the back door for guests) or kayaking or canoeing. Well appointed rooms - many with fireplaces, jacuzzi, window seats. This morning I woke up early and sat in the window seat with a cup of coffee looking out over the lake. Oh, by the way, the dinner and breakfast food is delicious. Have the bananas foster and the duck hash.

Room Tip: We took advantage of a special which made it a particularly great value.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank nancy t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pine Plains, New York
Level 5 Contributor
93 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2012

We travel to Friends Lake Inn quite often and have never been disappointed. It is obviously a wine lovers dream having achieved Wine Spectator's highest award. Although it is noted for the wine, you don't need to be afraid of the price or your talents at selecting the best wine because the prices cover a wide variety of budgets and Paul, the Sommelier, is superb at matching wines to meals and tastes. The dinner menu changes quarterly, although most days they also have specials. Both the regular menu and the specials represent a "farm to table" format with local meats and produce when available. As for the rooms, they are all EXCELLENT! We have stayed in most of the rooms and find that each of them are special in their unique ways. That could range from the steam showers in some to the screened balcony on others or the amazing fireplaces in the larger rooms. This is a true destination whether you are staying for the wine, the food, the cozy rooms, charming people or adirondack experience; Friends Lake Inn has it all.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Tonya and Gregg P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glens Falls, New York
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2012

An out-of-the-way, private, very classy hotel. Beautiful rooms, an outstanding restaurant, and one of the best wine cellars in upstate New York. Luxurious rooms, with fireplaces and hot tubs available in some, and they even have their own hiking trails, with snowshoes available in the winter. Not a cheap stay, but that's not who it's for; it's for those looking for a special experience.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank wmccoske
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chestertown
7.9 mi away
The Alpine Lodge
The Alpine Lodge
#2 of 4 in North Creek
128 reviews
13.7 mi away
Garnet Hill Lodge
Garnet Hill Lodge
#1 of 1 in North River
48 reviews
7.6 mi away
Gore Mountain Lodge
Gore Mountain Lodge
#1 of 4 in North Creek
108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.7 mi away
Bonnie View on Lake George
Bonnie View on Lake George
#2 of 8 in Bolton Landing
208 reviews
17.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Lake George
16.4 mi away
Courtyard Lake George
Courtyard Lake George
#4 of 89 in Lake George
134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Friends Lake Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Friends Lake Inn

Property: Friends Lake Inn
Address: 963 Friends Lake Rd, Chestertown, NY 12817-2104
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Chestertown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Chestertown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Friends Lake Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Friends Lake Inn, a member of Select Registry. Is a luxury Adirondack hotel offering romantic lodging and two on-site dining options; our fine dining restaurant and welcoming taproom featuring regional beers. Guests are treated to a full made-to-order breakfast each morning. Property amenities include access to Friends Lake and complimentary kayaks, a heated swimming pool, sauna, miles of hiking trails, and on-site cross country ski and snowshoe rentals. The perfect "all inclusive" getaway in the Southern Adirondacks Mountains! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Friends Lake Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Friends Lake Hotel Chestertown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing