We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Value , efficiency and friendliness.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Chester - Monroe - Goshen
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Chester
Reviewed August 28, 2013

This hotel is very convenient for Woodbury Commons shopping expeditions. The rooms are clean and quiet, the staff very helpful and friendly and the hotel operates extemely efficiently.
Great value for money in a lower cost environment.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank eugeKualaLumpur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian C, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Chester - Monroe - Goshen, responded to this reviewResponded November 26, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. A satisfied guest is our ultimate goal. We are glad that you enjoyed the clean, quite room and that you found great value in our product. We take pride in our employees and they appreciate your compliments. Please come and visit again.
Sincerely,
Brian C - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (208)
There are newer reviews for Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Chester - Monroe - Goshen
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

113 - 119 of 208 reviews

Reviewed July 24, 2013

Everytime I stay at a holiday inn EXPRESS, I am always pleased with the updated furniture, fixtures, and all that goes along with it. This was no exception, this hotel was clean, plenty of room, nice and updated, had a kitchenette that was great. The common areas were nice and clean. Very happy with everything at this hotel including the staff.

Room Tip: Very nice place to stay for a quick overnight trip.Very close to "The Rock Sports Complex"...
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lion4jmjalion4jmja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian C, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Chester - Monroe - Goshen, responded to this reviewResponded November 26, 2013

Thank you for the fabulous review! We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us here at the Holiday Inn Express Chester. Thank you for the kind words about the staff and cleanliness we work hard to make every guests stay enjoyable. We appreciate your comments and look forward to your next visit with us.
Sincerely,
Brian C – General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2013

Arrived on 7/11, departed 7/15. Hotel is located just off of highway and convenient to local attractions and NY City. Advertisements on line seemed to indicate rooms come with refrigerator/microwave, for the daily average price of $134, it does not, that would require an upgrade to a suite. Breakfast first morning was okay, no fruit available, scrambled eggs, bacon, sausage, toast, bagels, english muffins, cold cinnamon buns, assorted cereals, coffee and juice. Breakfast changed the next couple of days when bacon was replaced by French toast sticks. Just an average "free" breakfast with the usual toaster that barely toasts even after 5 minutes. Hallways of hotel on floors one and three all smelled of a body odor type smell. WI FI was hit or miss in room on second and third day of stay. Room was good size with king size bed, sitting area with chair and desk, flat screen TV. Air conditioner worked well, but a device installed on top of the AC unit directed the air directly toward the bed which kept us very cold, had to use a chair to block the air away from the direction of the bed. One piece of furniture in room was stained (picture). Bathroom was good size and had the normal amenities, a few observations, tub missing a chunk (picture), tile in bathroom leaning on wall, not glued (pic), stain on bathroom ceiling (picture) and the exhaust fan either didn't work, wasn't supposed to work or the switch to turn it on was in another location we couldn't find. This HIE showed the desire to reduce their footprint on the planet by recycling and provided a bin for such items. Picture I have posted shows that our aluminum cans from the recycle bin were put into the same bag as all of the trash from ours and other rooms. Pool and hot tub were utilized and were acceptable. Only one ice machine available in the hotel, it is located on the first floor and often was out of ice. Last day of visit, elevator was hot as a sauna as was the hallway on the third floor. This was a last minute visit and the hotel accommodated our need for a place to sleep, but if you are looking for clean and a well kept hotel, you will need to look elsewhere.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank bigkcitrus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Chester - Monroe - Goshen, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2013

Dear bigkcitrus,

Thank you for the candid review of our hotel. We give the utmost importance to our guest comments as they help us improve, and continually provide the best guest experience possible. I am sorry our hotel did not live up to your expectations and regret you were not satisfied with the conditions of the room you received. Though we would prefer you had a better experience at our hotel, we would like to thank you for sharing your thoughts and we hope you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.

Sincerely,

Connie D
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2013

Our youngest grandson was sent to the front desk with the task of obtaining a certain phone number. The clerk, Brett, was extremely patient with him when James forgot the name we were looking for. Eventually James remembered the name and Brett wrote it down for him. It was lovely that someone as young as Brett could deal with a flustered child so kindly. Kudos to him.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Judy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2013

We stayed here for one night and found it to be a better than expected hotel. Check in was quick and easy, The staff was friendly and helpful and the accomodations were surprisingly nice. The room was spacious with comfortable beds. Although we did not use them, there was a pool and an excercise room. There was also a "lounge" area that served a morning breakfast which was more that the usual bagels and muffin type of continental fare. Pancakes, eggs, bacon, sausage, was served as well as the toast, bagel, muffin, cereal staples. Coffee was plentiful and good.I would highly recommend this hotel for people traveling through this area in New York.

There is a baseball/softball training facility nearby "Rocksports/Frozen Ropes" which is why we were in Chester. If you are there to attend a training camp or college showcase, this is the place to stay.

Room Tip: We had a 2 queen bed room which was spacious and reasonably priced.
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank j m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2013

Nothing wrong but nothing outstanding.

Staff is friendly enough, room is clean and spacious and the sleep is predictable.

Pool and hot tub are nice touches and the gym is adequate.

The breakfast is well OK

Room Tip: Get a room away from the highway
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IntSommelier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Chester - Monroe - Goshen, responded to this reviewResponded July 13, 2013

Dear IntSommelier,

Thank you for reviewing your recent stay with us. We were pleased to see your positive comments for our staff, rooms, and our pool and hot tub. We also appreciate the high score for Cleanliness. We take all of these reviews seriously to help us identify areas where we might improve. We do hope to have another opportunity to be of service to you so we might show you how great our hotel can be. If there is anything we can do to make your next stay more positive, please do not hesitate to let a member of our staff know.

Sincerely,

Adrian D.
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2013

We stopped for 1 night on our way to NY. It was a quick and efficient check in, clean room on ground floor which I am not fun of, but we didn’t want to be difficult and ask to change. We could hear kids running upstairs but after 11 they probably got tired and we all slept well. The bedding is on the soft side, even the “hard” pillow was quite soft, but comfortable. Didn't have time to use the pool, maybe next time.
Breakfast was good, fresh fruits would be a nice addition.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank momtripToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chester
8.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Harriman Woodbury
Hampton Inn Harriman Woodbury
#1 of 2 in Central Valley
774 reviews
3.9 mi away
Comfort Inn &; Suites Goshen / Middletown
8.6 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn
Americas Best Value Inn
#2 of 2 in Central Valley
267 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.5 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Middletown
7.4 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Middletown
16.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites West Point
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Chester - Monroe - Goshen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Chester - Monroe - Goshen

Address: 2 Bryle Pl, 2 Bryle Place, Chester, NY 10918-3300
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Chester
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Chester
Price Range: $112 - $256 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Chester - Monroe - Goshen 2.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites, Chester! Conveniently located in the beautiful Hudson Valley area, the Holiday Inn Express, Chester is just 8 miles from the Woodbury Common Premium Outlets and 20 miles from West Point Military Academy, Bear Mountain State Park and Mountain Creek Ski and Water Park. The Chester Industrial Park, less then 1 mile away, includes companies such as C&S Wholesale Grocers, Amscan and Steris. Also, located close by, Orange Regional Medical Center and Saint Anthony's Community Hospital. If you are flying into the Orange County area, we are 17 miles away from Stewart International Airport, and 60 miles from JFK, LaGaurdia and Newark Airports. Public transportation to and from New York City is available through Shortline Bus/Coach USA Company, 1 mile from Holiday Inn Express and Metro-North Train Station only 8 miles from Holiday Inn Express. Come Stay Smart at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites in Chester! Relax and enjoy by our large heated indoor pool and Jacuzzi. The complimentary Express Start Breakfast Bar includes our signature cinnamon rolls - delicious! All rooms have coffee makers, hair dryers, irons and ironing boards. Complimentary WiFi is available throughout the entire hotel. Planning a meeting or event in the area? The Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Chester has a board room and a party room - great for baby or wedding showers! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, IHG, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Chester - Monroe - Goshen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Chester - Monroe - Goshen Hotel Chester
Holiday Inn Chester
Chester Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing