We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfection”
Review of Glenmere Mansion

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Glenmere Mansion
Ranked #1 of 2 Chester B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 31, 2012

For those perusing these reviews and want a quick summary: This place is heaven. Beautiful grounds, amazing main house and public rooms, extravagant guest rooms and, best of all, impeccable and charming We pulled up (in a snow storm no less) and were expertly greeted by a warm and welcoming staff. The main rooms are gorgeous yet inviting. We loved the library, which overlooks the lake. The main house is elegant but warm.

We stayed in Room 5. Room 5 is perfection. Wait, did I say room 5? Silly me, I meant room 4 or room 6 heh heh. Please leave Room 5 alone! Drat, well now you know which room to book. It's ok, I doubt this place has a bad room. The impeccable service, exciting and delicious food,and the luxurious but comfortably appointed dining and lounging rooms reveal a level of dedication that suggests the proprietors mean business but also see Glenmere as a labor of love. Homemade made jam composed of stone fruit and brandy is a small detail but an example of the loving attention to detail and the sophisticated taste of the proprietor who makes them. I sure wish he sold his jams, but alas they are only available to visitors.
Unlike Twin Farms in Vermont, which is also lovely, you don't have to walk out into the snowy cold after your gourmet dinner back to your rooms. Glenmere is easy to reach by car, but you feel like you area million miles away.

Stayed: December 2012
4  Thank daratillot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (157)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

115 - 121 of 157 reviews

Reviewed December 11, 2012

Everything about our weekend away at Glenmere was perfect. Our junior suite was so beautiful and so comfortable -- king-size bed, fireplace, terrace overlooking the grounds, large soaking tub and a steam shower -- that I didn't want to leave it. But I'm glad that we did because the rest of the property, and in particular the spa (more on that later), is just as impressive. From the large living area with two fireplaces to the library with yet another fireplace to the long lounge/game area with an entire wall of windows near the spa, every room was decorated impeccably and made you just want to sit around and relax.

We intended on having dinner at both the casual Frog's End Tavern and the fancier Supper Room, but liked Frog's End so much that we had dinner there two nights in a row. I heard great things about the dinner at the Supper Room, but Frog's End had more of the feel we were looking for. The pot pies are delicious, as is the homemade pappardelle.

If you are going to be spending any amount of time here, you should definitely do yourself the favor of booking a spa treatment or two. The spa is top notch. I had a couture bath with body scrub and then a prenatal massage. My massage therapist Willow was absolutely amazing! And make sure you give yourself enough time either before, in between or after treatments to relax in the spa's lounge -- it's a gorgeous room with floor to ceiling windows and just a great place to have some tea and do some reading.

I can usually find something wrong with even my most favorite resorts and I honestly have to say that I have no complaints, only compliments, when it comes to Glenmere. My husband and I thoroughly enjoyed our weekend there and can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MrsDougherty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2012

we were seated in the sunny 'Tuscany' courtyard beside a fountain below a beautiful blue sky for a price fixed pre-theatre menu. The food was excellent although limited and the atmosphere was romantic - I felt like we were transported to Tuscany. The price for this pre-theatre meal is really reasonable considering it includes salad and dessert. I'm from the area but found it a bit tricky to find the mansion which only added to the special feeling that we had arrived in another land.

The restrooms were spotless and upscale - another important factor for us to return for special family events.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank p3navy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2012

You drive past the gates, where you come to a station and a very friendly (but firm) man and his very beautifully groomed brown large poodle greets you and asks your name. He let's you through and you drive further along the winding road to see a chateau in the near distance. You're greeted by your own personal butler...no kidding. You're in a chateau in Tuscany somehow transported to Chester, NY. This place doesn't miss a beat...down to the tile that was literalky transported from Italy. The fancy of the fancy are enamored by this place. One lady couldn't stop taking pictures of the bathroom in the lobby with her camera phone. I actually told her if she thought that was nice, she should try a night or two (she was there for brunch).

We had our own pool boy that was ALSO at our service. No task too big or small really was his attitude. When my husband jested that he wasn't ready to go back to work, our pool boy (man) said he would go for him if he likes...talk about accommodating. I've never seen anything like it. The guy was straight faced, attending to our every need and whim, soft spoken and wonderful.

Domenic was great, so were all the others. The staff is top notch. The owner introduced himself, fine gentleman. Great experience. Expensive but worth it. Only 1 hour away from NYC. I can't stop telling my friends about this place, can't stop dreaming about it and planning when to go next.

Room Tip: I think they're running an offer in November and December for a percentage off room rates with a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank travelbug1894
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2012

My wife and I stayed one night in room 12 (a junior suite) for a parents getaway from the kids. Everything was excellent and I can't think of anything to change. Those who designed the property and the guest experience did everything to perfection down to the very last details. We really liked the room we had, the mansion and the grounds. The decorating was elegant and not loud with a mix of old and new; the room design was very functional. The themes of decor held together throughout the property. The design of the grounds is such that you can enjoy private moments even if the hotel is occupied. Room 12's terrace had 180 degree views over to the lake and the deer played their part perfectly in the field. We enjoyed a walk to the lake and around the grounds. The spa is beautiful and my treatment was very good by a therapist with 20 years experience. Dinner and breakfast were excellent (nothing here is out of a package that I could detect); we were afraid of being underfed based on our reading of the menu but we ordered a little extra food and it turned out fine. Some of the portions were smaller than we'd like but overall we thought the restaurant at dinner offered excellent value (breakfast is included in the overnight rate). This place would make an excellent venue for a corporate retreat. Service was very friendly and the innkeeper and his staff are very much engaged and interested in the guest experience. The location is perfectly situated for a one night getaway from NY City and the actual site is lovely. There are plenty of other places that serve this market that one might drive to that are 2 or 3 hours away from the City that are not as pretty as this. You could find what to do here during a day so as to make a 2 night stay worthwhile; we visited the nearby town of Warwick which was nicer than we expected. So yes they are charging a princely sum here but it is quite a job to keep up this place and this level of service. You get what you pay for. This is a tough audience to please, but I can't imagine myself doing any better than the Glenmere in getting it right. Only point I'd make is that I would want to be here on a night when the dining room is open; I can't imagine staying here and either going off property for dinner or eating in the tavern if it were only a one night stay.

Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
2  Thank 649ic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2012

I am accustomed to dining in fine restaurants so my comments are relative to experiences at other similar establishments.

My issue with a recent dining experience in the Glenmere's China Room was the SMALL portions that all six of us received. For an $85 price fixed menu (plus up-charges for certain entree's) I expect more. I'll spare you a long description of each entree but take my beef filet for example. It came with two potato's that were exactly the size of the well known tater tots the only difference was that they had a creamy potato middle. I'm not sure what the small amount of vegetable was under the two potato's but it was chewy like grass. An out of the shell lobster that my daughter had was very small. I had a dark chocolate torte for desert which I expected to be a substantial piece of a traditional looking torte, turned out to be a disc of chocolate, like a mousse - chocolate mix that was about a half an inch high and three inches wide. Other than the ice cream sundae all the desserts were small. Unlike what one of the previous reviewers complained about there was an assortment of bread and plenty of it. Service was excellent and the property itself is beautiful. In my opinion they need to adjust the price - quantity ratio of there menu. I have never felt so unsatisfied at a restaurant of this caliber and price. With tip, one bottle of wine ($30) and a couple of bottles of sparkling water the bill came to about $840. For that price I'd expect to be "full" and leave with something I could eat the next day.

Despite this issues I would still go back because its such a beautiful location and restaurant but I'd be more inclined to go to lunch at their Frog Tavern which would be considerably less expensive.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
5  Thank Brian K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2012

Having stayed here a year ago and upon coming back, I was amiss to see that some details have been ignored....especially with the lack of attention to bedding in the room. The staff continues to be nice and accommodating......the pool area needs some tidying up, in particular the stained blue cushions on the summer chaises....meals still good.....The spa is good, dependent upon which attendant you get.....not sure if I'd go back.

Room Tip: Check out your room before you check in!!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank summer0807
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chester
19.1 mi away
The Thayer Hotel
The Thayer Hotel
#1 of 1 in West Point
1,031 reviews
10.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Harriman Woodbury
Hampton Inn Harriman Woodbury
#1 of 2 in Central Valley
798 reviews
2.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Chester - Monroe - Goshen
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17 mi away
Grand Cascades Lodge
Grand Cascades Lodge
#1 of 1 in Hamburg
1,860 reviews
21.5 mi away
The Inn And Spa At Beacon
24.8 mi away
Hotel Fauchere
Hotel Fauchere
#1 of 6 in Milford
386 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glenmere Mansion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glenmere Mansion

Address: 634 Pine Hill Rd, Chester, NY 10918-1814
Location: United States > New York > Chester
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Chester
Price Range: $435 - $1,979 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Glenmere Mansion 5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Glenmere Mansion is a Relais & Chatueax, 18-room luxury boutique hotel on 150 Hudson Valley acres overlooking Glenmere Lake. The Gilded Age mansion, circa 1911, underwent a 3 year renovation, opening Jan. 2010. Acres of beautiful gardens, heated outdoor swimming pool, tennis, bocce and croquet courts, and 2 restaurants on site. Spa opens summer 2011. Romantic getaway, (children over 16). Voted "Top Ten Small Boutique Hotel in the World" by Gayot Hotel Guide 2011. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity so you can book your Glenmere Mansion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glenmere Mansion Hotel Chester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing