We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hot Stuff”

Tepee Pete's Chow Wagon
Cuisines: Fast Food, American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Dining on a budget, Kids, Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Parking Available, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: This is not your typical Hot dog stand. Pete, Tepee Pete is just a guy with a pot of chili and a dream. Serving roadside eats, outside dining only. Only open seasonally May to October.
Rutland, Vermont, United States
Level Contributor
229 reviews
154 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Hot Stuff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2014 via mobile

Great place. He makes you sign a release before you try the hot chili. Very friendly service and a great view from the picnic area.Nice souvenirs at the tee pee.

Helpful?
1 Thank Steve T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    79
    5
    1
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Delicious food!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2014

Tepee Pete has excellent hot dogs and burgers!! But what stands out the most is his Harvest Chili and fried dough with apples and cinnamon !!

His harvest chili is unique and should be sold in stores!! Next time I'm in Cherry Valley I'll be stopping by the Tee Pee for more !! Bob P.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Bobpep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Chili Gourmet”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2014 via mobile

Had Pete's "Beer Chili" on the BBQ Burger a long with Sweet potato fries and Blue Berry Vinegar dipping sauce. And it was flipping awesome!!!

Pete was super friendly and has loads of stories to tell.

Helpful?
1 Thank Jordan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penfield, New York
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A bit of nostalgia”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2014

We decided to find the tin tepee we had visited over 25 years ago. It is still there with a much larger gift shop than we remembered. Right outside the tepee is Tepee Pete's Chow Wagon with hot dogs, chili and a cold drink. Pete's an absolute delight to talk to, and the view from the parking lot is breathtaking. We'll worth the stop.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Gert M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cobleskill, New York
Level Contributor
63 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Very good & unique”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2013

Just visited this place based on the reviews on Trip advisor. The owner was super friendly. I thought it was cute that I had to sign a disclaimer before I tried the hot chili. I was glad I tried it first. I wound up going with the harvest bounty chili which was very good. I'm glad we went. I probably wouldn't have known this place existed if it wasn't for trip advisor. I will definitely go back & bring friends. The gift shop was nice too. I felt like I stepped back in time into a simpler time. I really enjoyed it very much.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Aloe V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tepee Pete's Chow Wagon also viewed

 
Cherry Valley, NY

Been to Tepee Pete's Chow Wagon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing