We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of my worst experiences”

Tryon Inn and The Backdoor Bar
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
Cherry Valley, New York
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“One of my worst experiences”
Reviewed March 16, 2014

The reopening of this restaurant was very much anticipated. They would have to actually work hard to fail. I was there once for lunch and once for dinner. Lunch was in the school-cafeteria feel smaller room and was very ordinary. Dinner was in the large, attractive room and was less than ordinary. For one thing, everything we had was highly over salted. That's culinary school 101. The service seemed to be in training.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Kathy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    7
    5
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cooperstown, New York
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Ugh. Worst meal ever!!!”
Reviewed November 24, 2013

Where to start? They didn't have any of our first three choices for gin/ vodka. OK, that's forgive able, but the martinis we ordered extra dry were so full of bottom of the barrel vermouth we had to send them back. Not a deal breaker, but the food.... Bread was stale, "fresh" fish tasted like it had been sitting forgotten in the freezer for 3 or 4 years, rice was hard ( how go you even DO that)?, green beans were bland. The only thing good was the soup, and the waitress was nice. $80 for two for a horrible meal. We are locals who used to love the place, but there is no way we will ever go back to this dump.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank catwoman13439
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ithaca, New York
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good Food, Good Price”
Reviewed August 5, 2013

Friendly, informed service, and the food was very good, especially the sweet potato soup, which came as a prelude to the entree. I also tasted my husband's salad, the other choice, and it was excellent, with very fresh greens, no tasteless iceberg lettuce, and a piquant dressing. We ordered the chicken francaise. We were served two large chicken breast halves over rice, which tasted good, although it was not distinctively flavored. The bread was a little on the stale side, but the herb butter was a nice touch. Our waitress was very nice, and willing to give us separate checks, although we were a party of three couples. The best surprise was the tab, which was very inexpensive for a satisfactory meal.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank leslielynn1341
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schroon Lake, New York
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Very good food!”
Reviewed June 25, 2013

We were very pleased with our meals at this restaurant in Cherry Valley. Next time we will try to leave room for dessert!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank dstep312
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“OK food, not much selection”
Reviewed June 13, 2013

At our hotel, we saw a menu from theTryon, and it looked both good and extensive. When we arrived, the menu was much pared down (and much more expensive). Some impressions from around our table:the roasted vegetables were good, the French onion soup OK but nothing special, the salmon was well-prepared, my chicken Francaise had a very bland sauce, the eggplant was a big hit with my mother. My father had trouble finding something that appealed to him from the limited menu. The restaurant was so cold we had to ask them to turn the heat up.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Wayne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tryon Inn and The Backdoor Bar also viewed

 

Been to Tryon Inn and The Backdoor Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing