We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great service, great food.”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Cantina de Salsa

Cantina de Salsa
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $20
Cuisines: Mexican, Southwestern, Latin, Spanish, Central American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Fresh Latin food served in the casual and fun atmospheres of our locations in both Cherry Valley and Cooperstown. Find all your favorite Mexican classics, as well as dishes with exciting Latin twists. We offer a full bar, including wine, beer, margaritas, speciality house cocktails, and an extensive selection of tequilas.
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great service, great food.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2013

Our server was very friendly and personable. We chatted up quite a bit about his background and vice versa. Extremely nice guy and everyone else seemed very nice as well. We got in early before it got busier. We ordered the enchiladas which consist of a bowl of cheesy goodness. I barely made a dent in mine but the leftovers were still great the next day. Awesome place! I would highly recommend this place if you are in the area. You will not be disappointed.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lily R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    20
    10
    5
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn, NY
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Best Mexican in upstate NY!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2013

You will not believe the food, the drinks, and the prices! This is in the old bowling alley which was the original location for Alex and Ika and it is run by them... Even in NYC it would stand out, at the same level with Toloache and similar places.. the hugest array of tequilas I ahve ever seen in my life!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank biancaor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
milford, ny
Level Contributor
43 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Nice Mexican Food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2013

Our family ate dinner here and enjoyed some good Mexican food, along with margaritas. It is a small place, but the cooking was good and more than we could eat. We tried the enchiladas and tacos. The atmosphere is eclectic with a Mexican flavor. Nice bar, but a bit small. There are two smaller rooms away from the street in which to dine, in addition to the front window seats that look out on Cherry Valley's main street. The wait staff was courteous and the service good. The food was brought to our table after only a brief period of wait time. We had a good dining experience and would highly recommend eating a meal here if you are hankering for some south of the border food. You don't find this quality of cooking very often in upstate NewYork.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank curveball14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
upstate ny
Level Contributor
69 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“a gem in cherry valley”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2013

The restaurant is small, nicely decorated with a cute bar, full even at this early hour. We started with perfect house margaritas and the mufongo...brown and crisp and not at all greasy with a really good chipotle aioli for dipping. We also shared an empanada which although nicely fried had almost no filling. Our server, Jonathon, noticed that we were underwhelmed and graciously took it off the bill. The pulled adobo pork buritto was perfection with just enough rice and two wonderful salsas to suit our tastes...super spicy habanero and moderately spiced corn. The sangria was also perfect with some lovely mixed fruit. Although full by this point we tasted the muerte de chocolat...a firm chocolate mousse with whipped cream. All in all a wonderful meal in this out of the way little village.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sandyupstateny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richfield Springs, New York
Level Contributor
99 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Fun atmosphere good food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

My daughter has been on my case to bring her here - I'm glad I gave in! We had some good old fashioned iced tea (although the drink list looked AMAZING - I was on a date with my daughter so that was out!) We both ordered burritos and they were huge and delicious! The music was playing - the waitress was nice - the gentleman that was at the register had a big smile - overall it was a terrific experience and we will definitely go again! Perfect for family or fun date.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JoBeth13439
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cantina de Salsa also viewed

 

Been to Cantina de Salsa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing