We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very satisfactory except for possible 'bed bug' bites”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Buffalo Airport
Ranked #16 of 22 Hotels in Cheektowaga
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 13, 2009

I have always found HIE to be satisfactory. This hotel too is very pleasant and staff were friendly. But...the morning after my stayover I developed a LOT of extremely uncomfortable bites up both my arms. The discomfort and itch were so bad that I was eventually advised by a medical professional to go on a cortisone treatment, as the bites developed much like 'bed bug' bites. So I would advise you to stay clear of room 329, in case of possible re-occurence. No other members of my party were affected this way, so whatever the cause, if it is the hotel, it is restricted to room 329.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jillsToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (374)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

325 - 331 of 374 reviews

Reviewed August 1, 2009

I wasn't expecting too much when I booked since I just needed a place to sleep while I was in town for a convention! Well it didn't start very well. When I checked in I asked where the elevator was (since I had several heavy work bags) and I was told they didn't have one and my room was on the second floor and there was no other rooms available. So why was I not told this when I made the reservation??????
Anyways, the room was clean and well equipped. The location was great. The continental breakfast (which I didn't even know was included) was surprisingly good. A great selection and the lady keep refilling and changing items. It was such a nice breakfast ! I would return just for the great convenient breakfast! The price was also good so a definate if you are in the area!

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BelaN74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2009

We loved it at this hotel. The room was simple, but clean. They had a manager's reception with free snacks and drinks (beer & wine) when we arrived and a nice free breakfast in the morning. We didn't really have time to use the pool or look around the hotel, but we were comfortable. Our baby slept so well, we had trouble getting her up in the morning to eat. We'll definitely stay again. The service was wonderful.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cflower101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2009

A nice hotel with well appointed rooms. If you stay for any length of time, you begin to notice problems. I am not a fan of Holiday Inns. They are a cheap hotel chain. Instead of building new hotels, they buy old ones and refurb them. This is fine except they end up using the old blueprint and can't get it right.

Examples, the door way is tight and you have to struggle to get in. They used the old doors and you can see the old chip marks and lock mechanism marks. The huge a very nice curtain assembly came undone by simply pulling the curtain closed. The 50lbs assembly was held up to the ceiling with just one screw which was simply drilled into the ceiling plaster and not a beam.
The bathroom tile was poorly laid and greatly uneven. They filled the big gaps in with extra caulk.
The bathroom was tiny due to the old design being probably from the 50s. The bathroom sink was laid uneven and water dripped from it. The toilet paper holder was so far behind me I simply removed from the holder.
There is no elevator to the second floor so one has to hall their stuff up stairs. If your flying anywhere, this may mean you have a lot of luggage to hall up about 15 stairs and when you get to the top, there is a doorway which is to tight. Expect several trips up and down stairs.

The beds are very very comfortable but they only have thick pillows. I cranked my neck sleeping on them. Most 3 star hotels have a great variety.
There is a nice 32 inch LCD tv but it is a Philips. I timed how long it took to change channels at 3 seconds. Very very annoying!

My room was next to the housekeeping office. They dont think to make the doors soft closers, so for two days their door slammed about 25 times between 7 and 9 am. After I complained I saw someone taping the door frame to make it quieter. How about a doorstop?

Buffalo and the whole area is full of great restaurants. I ordered lasagna from a local restaurant and had the most incredible salad of my life! I think it was called Prieros. It is a very small new restaurant with a fantastic Italian atmosphere. Make a right at the Mobil station and drive about 2 miles. OMG!

I found most people to be very friendly in the BUffalo Niagara area.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank planes12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2009

We landed late after flight delays and missed the turn for this hotel, and were grateful for the clean, comfortable room. Nothing special about this hotel, and no complaints. Breakfast was better/more varied than the hotel website indicated.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aginga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2009

Went to Buffalo for a weekend of shopping. We were looking for a hotel that was relatively inexpensive and close to the shopping spots we were going to. The Holiday Inn was pretty cheap - we stayed in a non-smoking, King-size bedroom.

The room had a mini fridge and microwave. No bathtub, just a standing shower. Bed was very comfortable. Flat-screen tv! The room itself was pretty generic - could've been cleaner, but it was fine. We only used the room to sleep.

A complimentary breakfast was included each morning - typical stuff like toast, bagels, muffins, cereal, yogurt and fruit. The hot food alternated each day from bacon, scrambled eggs, gravy & biscuit (must be an American thing) and sausage patties. It was o.k. Enough to tide you over until lunch.

The only negative thing from our stay was that we happened to be staying on the same floor as a school group -- and it was annoyingly loud ALL night with teenage girls running through the halls, slamming doors and screaming. Their adult supervisors having little to no effect "monitoring" the halls. Very annoying until about 11:30pm when another patron called the front desk.

  • Stayed: May 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kortrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2008

This hotel is new and decent...but the location is near the airport and has been built next to a abandon parking industrial lot. They had free beer and snacks when I arrived on a manager wecome day. This location is kinda depressing, just hope your flight is on time, to get crap out of cheektowaga!

  • Stayed: November 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Mac_Maximum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cheektowaga hotels
1.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Buffalo International Airport
0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Buffalo Airport
1.7 mi away
Millennium Buffalo
Millennium Buffalo
#12 of 22 in Cheektowaga
1,240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Buffalo Airport
0.1 mi away
Comfort Suites Buffalo
Comfort Suites Buffalo
#19 of 22 in Cheektowaga
542 reviews
0.6 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Buffalo Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Buffalo Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Buffalo Airport

Address: 131 Buell Ave, Cheektowaga, NY 14225-3565
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Cheektowaga
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 22 Hotels in Cheektowaga
Price Range: $90 - $152 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Buffalo Airport 2.5*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express Buffalo Airport.The Holiday Inn Express Buffalo Airport offers an indoor pool, Jacuzzi, business center and fitness room. Start your day out right with our complimentary Express Start breakfast buffet featuring both hot and cold items and the world s best tasting cinnamon rolls.We are conveniently located across from the Buffalo Niagara International Airport and offer free 24-hour shuttle service to and from the airport and Park, Stay & Go packages.The Holiday Inn Express Buffalo Airport is only a fifteen minute ride to downtown Buffalo. Here you can experience some of the best spring and summer festivals including Allentown Art Festival , Taste of Buffalo and the Buffalo Chicken Wing Festival . Spend a day exploring Niagara Falls and Buffalo s Waterfront or take in a baseball game at Coca-Cola Field, home of the Buffalo Bisons or a Buffalo Bills game at New Era Field.Bargains await you at the Eastern Hills Mall, the Walden Galleria, and the Prime Outlet Mall.We are the perfect hotel if you are coming to Buffalo on business. We are close to many local companies including Calspan, General Motors, Northrop Grumman, UPS and Prior Aviation.Our entire staff at the Holiday Inn Express Buffalo Airport awaits your arrival. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Buffalo Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Buffalo Airport Hotel Cheektowaga
Holiday Inn Express Cheektowaga
Holiday Inn Cheektowaga

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing