We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overpriced, not worth it”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Buffalo Airport
Ranked #15 of 22 Hotels in Cheektowaga
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
129 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Overpriced, not worth it”
Reviewed September 9, 2012 via mobile

My wife and I stayed there with our 3 kids recently and it was a major disappointment. We have stayed at many similar hotels along the I-90 in the past and this was our worst experience, and it happened to be one of the most expensive.

A very uncomfortable bed was one problem but the real issue was the breakfast situation. There were too many people - had to wait 20 minutes for someone to finish, but then they ran out of some items and the pancake machine broke - apparently this had happened before.

There are plenty of similar hotels within 15-20 minutes, no reason to go back to this one. Only the courteous front desk staff avoided a one star rating.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank ssarmazi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Buffalo Airport, responded to this review, September 25, 2012
Dear ssarmazi,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our hotel. I would like to apologize if you found your stay less than satisfactory due to the bed accommodations received and issues with the breakfast. I appreciate you bringing these issues into our attention as this is our best resource of improving guest services.

While we understand that your stay was not 100% satisfactory, we would hope that you would give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

Again, thank you for staying with us and taking the time to give feedback.

Sincerely,

Pam G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

365 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    106
    159
    66
    21
    13
See reviews for
145
82
19
62
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 1, 2012

We went for a quick overnight trip to Buffalo before the start of the school year. We arrived about 9:30 at night and the person who greeted us and registered us was amazing. He was so helpful and kind. He asked if we needed any information and when my husband asked him a question about a sports retailer close by (besides Dick's Sporting Goods), he not only provided the name of the retailer but also printed the directions on how to get to the store. Later in the evening, he provided my parents with a tube of toothpaste when they realized they had forgotten theirs at home and also provided me with plastic cutlery for a snack I had brought into our hotel room.

We stayed on the second floor, in a King Suite with a pull-out sofa and my parents stayed in an Accessibility room with a King bed. Each room had a fridge and a microwave. The washrooms were also large. The rooms were clean and there were plenty of pillows and bedding for the sofa bed which we did not end up using. The King beds were incredibly comfortable!

Breakfast the next day was filling with choices such as pancakes, cereal, scrambled eggs, bacon, toast, English muffins, bagels, cinnamon buns, 2 types of juices, skim and non fat milk, coffees and teas. The staff was helpful and the stations were kept clean and replenished quickly.

A different person was at the front desk when we were leaving but the same hospitality was shown. She provided us a one pager of information on how to get to different shopping areas - different malls as well as retailers such as Walmart, Kohls, Target, etc.

We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marylou M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2012

My husband and I were traveling to Canada and stopped overnight at this Holiday Inn. Our trip could easily have been ruined by this decision. This place is a DUMP!!!!. To get straight to the point, the hotel and especially the rooms are DIRTY. The first room that we checked into had not been vacuumed and the furniture was dusty. The furniture is dated and was SOILED. We requested a room change and they accomodated us. The only difference was the room was larger but dirty still. My husband was exhausted so we stayed, however I could barely sleep. Never was I so happy to see daylight. When I went to the bathroom to shower, I found the following:
HAIR IN THE SHOWER
A USED CLOTH ON THE TOWEL RACK
A SHAMPOO BOTTLE THAT WAS HALF USED

We spoke with the manager who refunded us half of the room charge, which we appreciated, however the truth is that this hotel SHOULD PAY YOU TO STAY THERE. This is one place that should close, do a complete overhaul and either train the Cleaning Staff or replace them. I am shocked that this hotel is allowed to carry the Holiday Inn name....Holiday Inn and Management is aware of these problems....They should do better. Until they do....STAY AWAY!!!!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank skeegee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Buffalo Airport, responded to this review, September 2, 2012
Dear skeegee,

Thank you for taking the time to review your experience. I appreciate your feedback as this is our best resource for improving guest services. Our hotel is very proud of its level of service, cleanliness and quality of its product. I'm deeply sorry that we fell below your expectations. We greatly appreciate you taking the time to bring these matters to our attention and apologize for any inconvenience you experienced with the cleanliness of the rooms, furniture and housekeeping services received during your stay. We truly value your feedback as this gives us the opportunity of improving what we can offer. We will address these points and I hope when you return you will see the improvements made.

Thank you for your valuable thoughts and concern, and we hope to have an opportunity to serve you again.

Sincerely,

Zelyn N
Case Manager
IHG Care
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
1 review
Reviewed August 13, 2012

I stayed here for business for a week. Dated rooms and not very clean..the cleaning staff wasn't very good at replacing things. Glitter and hair on the bathroom floor when I first got there. Did not like the shower, however the size of the room was decent. Staff at the front desk was very courteous and friendly. For the price they charge, the room should be cleaner!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Arielle195
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2012 via mobile

We had 11 rooms at this hotel for a swim meet at Suny Buffalo and were very pleased with our stay. The staff were friendly and helpful. The rooms were clean, although a little dated, were fine for our stay. We had team dinners every night where breakfast is served and the front desk couldn't have been more helpful, especially Vinnie, who was available to help with extra utensils, plates etc, and always with a smile! The refridgerators and microwaves in our rooms were great. A suggestion would be to have them in all of the rooms.....i.e. double bed and queen double rooms. Free wifi with the free morning breakfast made the hotel a good deal too. The staff opened breakfast a half hour earlier to accommodate our meet schedule which was greatly appreciated. We will definitely consider staying here again next year.

Stayed August 2012
Helpful?
Thank SwimMom98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2012

We had a group of over 20 Alumni freinds get together in the great room after 10 pm.....the staff were very accomodating and of course we played our part by making sure no one was disturbed. Clean rooms.Superb service. Location could not be beat! Thank you

Room Tip: Facing the runway....not noisy....nice if you like to see planes land/take off
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ashok N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, New York
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2012

It is routine hotel nothing exceptional about it. I booked standard room with 2 beds but I was given room with 1 King bed and one sofa-bed. We spent two nights in Buffalo during August first week and it was average hotel experience. Price was expensive compared to service and amenities offered for the price. Breakfast in morning is one of most horrible breakfast you could get at a hotel. Water down coffee & juice. Nothings special apart from bagel, bread, banana and yogurt. Make sure you dont take handicap room when you check-in if you've kids as it has not bath tub in it and with kids taking shower it makes most of bathroom area wet.

Room Tip: If you are booking standard room for 4 people dont do it as although it says two beds chances are th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank moses678
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Buffalo Airport, responded to this review, September 3, 2012
Dear moses678,

Thank you for your feedback and for choosing our hotel. I am truly sorry to hear that the food served during your travel did not live up to your expectations. We will use your comments to improve our efforts especially with the food being served during breakfast. I assure you that every comment, no matter how small, is taken very seriously. We hope to get a chance of hosting you again and show you how great our hotel is.

Sincerely,

Karen G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cheektowaga hotels
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Buffalo Airport
0.1 mi away
Comfort Suites Buffalo
Comfort Suites Buffalo
#18 of 22 in Cheektowaga
527 reviews
1.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Buffalo International Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Buffalo Airport
0.6 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Buffalo Airport
0.4 mi away
Aloft Buffalo Airport
Aloft Buffalo Airport
#4 of 22 in Cheektowaga
470 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Buffalo Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Buffalo Airport

Property: Holiday Inn Express Buffalo Airport
Address: 131 Buell Ave, Cheektowaga, NY 14225-3565
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Cheektowaga
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 22 Hotels in Cheektowaga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Buffalo Airport 2.5*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express Buffalo Airport.The Holiday Inn Express Buffalo Airport offers an indoor pool, Jacuzzi, business center and fitness room. Start your day out right with our complimentary Express Start breakfast buffet featuring both hot and cold items and the world s best tasting cinnamon rolls.We are conveniently located across from the Buffalo Niagara International Airport and offer free 24-hour shuttle service to and from the airport and Park, Stay & Go packages.The Holiday Inn Express Buffalo Airport is only a fifteen minute ride to downtown Buffalo. Here you can experience some of the best spring and summer festivals including Allentown Art Festival , Taste of Buffalo and the Buffalo Chicken Wing Festival . Spend a day exploring Niagara Falls and Buffalo s Waterfront or take in a baseball game at Coca-Cola Field, home of the Buffalo Bisons or a Buffalo Bills game at New Era Field.Bargains await you at the Eastern Hills Mall, the Walden Galleria, and the Prime Outlet Mall.We are the perfect hotel if you are coming to Buffalo on business. We are close to many local companies including Calspan, General Motors, Northrop Grumman, UPS and Prior Aviation.Our entire staff at the Holiday Inn Express Buffalo Airport awaits your arrival. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, Agoda and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Buffalo Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Buffalo Airport Hotel Cheektowaga
Holiday Inn Express Cheektowaga
Holiday Inn Cheektowaga

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing