We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Outstanding!!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Great Tree Inn Bed & Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Chautauqua
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Great Tree Inn Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 9 Chautauqua B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Rochester, New York
1 review
“Outstanding!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2013

My husband, sister-in-law, brother-in-law and myself recently spent a weekend at the Great Tree Inn and had a wonderful time! The Inn itself is very charming with plenty of room to socialize, read, play cards or just relax with by the fire with a glass of wine! The bedrooms are all unique with much character and the beds are very comfortable! Mark and Sheila are great hosts and very accommodating! The breakfasts and the Saturday evening meal were all fabulous! On the way home we all agreed that the weekend exceeded our expectations, and we will definitely go back again sometime!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nancy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

157 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    135
    12
    4
    3
    3
See reviews for
18
114
5
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, PA
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2013

This was our 3rd stay at the Great Tree Inn and we will definitely return. The Inn is relaxing and comfortable. The themed rooms are charming. If you stay in the Queen Bee room, look closely at the wallpaper. Mark and Shelia are great hosts and full of local information to offer suggestions. There are a variety of activities in the area. Our trips have been to visit the local wineries, but this time we traveled to towns in the area and a beautiful state park. We learned about the rails to trails right behind the Inn, which we will explore on our next visit. Our breakfasts were delicious with fresh eggs from the resident chickens! Staying at the Inn is a must when you're visiting or passing through the Chautauqua area.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank svm621
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Butler, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2013

Mark & Sheila are great hosts. We arrived a little later than planned and were quite accommodating when we called to say we would be later. Upon our arrival they were welcoming and showed us amenities and to our room. They suggested a restaurant for dinner since it was a Monday night and after Labor Day many places are closed Mondays. We stayed in the Country Folk room, very nice, very clean. The shower area is a little small but not an issue. The other rooms we saw did have larger shower areas & all nice rooms. Mark gave us a choice of a time for breakfast giving us a chance to sleep in. Breakfast was delicious, fresh scrambled eggs from their own chickens, toast, bacon, fried potatoes, juice, coffee & fresh fruit. Also had fresh baked cookies in dining area if we wanted. Great conversation with Mark. Hoping to return during snowmobile season and bring friends, located right off trail!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Happy951
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, New York
Level Contributor
42 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2013

Beautiful B&B in Mayville, NY very close to Chautauqua Institute which is very convenient.
Great breakfast and service and accommodations. Mark and Sheila are great host, very down to earth and friendly. Really relaxing atmosphere with horses and chickens on the grounds and trails to walk. Looking forward to returning in winter.

Tim & Tracy

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tim G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2013

My husband and I and my sis and her husband spent time at the inn at the end of July, 2013 into the beginning of August. It is a scenic, comfortable, perfectly located gem in Mayview, Chatauqua. The owners Mark and Sheila are simply lovely people. They are thrilled to share their property with the guests and they are the ultimate hosts. They always have time for questions involving directions, eating spots and their beautiful home and farm. They serve a very generous and tasty breakfast, in many cases using their homegrown veggies and farm fresh eggs. They keep a variety of homemade cookies, yogurts, beverages, snacks for your enjoyment day and night. Their accommodations are lovely. Each bedroom has a unique style and layout. The inn is very clean and Mark and Sheila cater to your comforts. The beds are extremely comfy and the sheets are high quality. They have lovely robes in the room and incredibly soft and fluffy towels unlike the stiff ones that are usually in hotel rooms. We look forward to spending time there again very soon.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mathwoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hale, MI usa
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2013

Enjoyed the stay while attending the Highland Festival and Gathering of the Clans. A wonderful old NY farmstead with comfortable rooms and great breakfast porch. The Inn is close to the lake and many varied eateries. A very nice place to stay while in the Chautauqua region.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank william c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stratford, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2013

Stayed at the Great Tree Inn for a week while attending the Chautauqua Institute, 10 minutes down the road. Well-appointed room, comfortable bed with good linens, air-conditioned, great breakfast room, and the hosts, Mark and Sheila, well... gracious, knowledgeable, great instincts at how to care for guests, having both come from medical backgrounds. Just the right mix of intelligent and eclectic conversation and knowing when some quiet re-charging time was warranted. And Mark is a fantastic chef.

The breakfast room is in the all-weather glassed in front porch and is the way I have come to love B & Bs or small inns: with private tables for all the guests so that you are not 'obligated' to make conversation with other guests who may not be your cup of tea, or with whom you will never connect again. Nonetheless, met some great guests there with whom we are likely to keep in touch, and with Mark and Sheila.

Chose the Great Tree Inn just from its look and website write-up, which is quite accurate. Chautauqua is exhilarating, but can be exhausting, going from early morning to late at night so it was wonderful having a quiet place to which to return and be looked after. Finding a place to stay on the Chautauqua grounds has many drawbacks, and really one plus: the convenience of proximity. For that though, there is quite a price premium to stay on the grounds and the Great Tree Inn is so reasonable and so close. Other minuses of staying right on the Chautauqua grounds are night-time noise with activities going to at least 10:30, often there is no air-conditioning in accommodations (and this week the temp was in the high 90s), and unless you book a year in advance and know someone there, it will be a frustrating, impossible experience. In the late winter/early spring I contacted 20 or so properties which were all said to be vacant on the institute's website for the time we wanted, and not a single one of them was. There is little accountability in Chautauqua for up-dating their website or for accommodation quality. Some owners (some of whom own multiple properties) advertised one property and showed pics of another. There were very few tripadvisor reviews. One of the property owners (third generation), when I commented on this and a tripadvisor review, screamed back in capital letters in an email that the complaints were from "not the right type of people." Almost decided not to go at all, but actually it is worth the trip.

After many phone calls and long distance charges to on-sight properties, I looked elsewhere... and I am so glad I did. Could not have been better cared for or had a better experience than at the Great Tree Inn. Am even contemplating a return in the winter for some walking, hiking, photography on the extensive near-by trails right adjoining the property and to just cocoon in the great living room, with a glass of wine, by the fireplace, and in the room itself, all of which also have fireplaces. Perhaps Mark will be hosting dinners by then, worth the trip all by itself.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank johnlederman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chautauqua
4.2 mi away
The Spencer Hotel and Spa
The Spencer Hotel and Spa
#1 of 6 in Chautauqua
3.5 of 5 bubbles 180 reviews
16.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Jamestown
15.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Findley Lake
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 mi away
Holiday Motel Westfield
Holiday Motel Westfield
#2 of 2 in Westfield
3.5 of 5 bubbles 14 reviews
16.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Jamestown
17.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Downtown Jamestown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Great Tree Inn Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Great Tree Inn Bed & Breakfast

Property: Great Tree Inn Bed & Breakfast
Address: 6642 E Lake Rd, Chautauqua, NY 14757-9368 (Formerly Great Tree Inn and Stables)
Location: United States > New York > Chautauqua County > Chautauqua
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Chautauqua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Great Tree Inn Bed & Breakfast is conveniently located to many of the region's attractions, including the Chautauqua Institution,Chautauqua Lake, wineries, restaurants as well as abundant outdoor recreation. The Inn is adjacent to the Rails to Trails for hiking and snowmobiling. The Inn is a converted 1820 farmhouse guarded by an ancient black locust tree. The rooms all feature flat-panel TVs, fireplaces, full private baths and air conditioning whilst retaining old world ambiance with elegant country furnishings and decor. Guests enthuse about the hospitality, breakfasts and dining experiences. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Great Tree Inn And Stables Hotel Chautauqua

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing