We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“perfect location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Spencer Hotel and Spa
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Chautauqua
Reviewed August 19, 2013

Not only was this a great location, but the hotel is warm, friendly, and "green" (no paper products used for meals). One of the best parts is listening to concerts from the balcony outside our room. This was our first visit to Chautauqua. We would definitely return to the Spencer.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IceHarvester2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheSpencer, General Manager at The Spencer Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2013

We appreciate this guest's recognition of our service quality which is the rationale for our use of china, flatware and glassware for our meals at the Spencer. We feel our guests deserve a high standard of food service and quality. The guest also points out our very good location in the heart of Chautauqua Institution close to the Amphitheater and other venues for the excellent programming put on each Chautauqua Season by the Institution.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (194)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

94 - 100 of 194 reviews

Reviewed August 2, 2013 via mobile

This is a lovely hotel in a superb location with an accommodating staff and beautiful appointments. But it is falling apart! The toilet did not work (but was quickly fixed). But a broken elevator stranded an elderly guest on the fourth floor for over 24 hours! The first floor rooms are very noisy as guests congregate until late hours in the living room. The food was sparse and overcooked. Not up to sumptuous Bed and breakfast standards. A recent water problem warped the porch which is dangerously covered with a carpet. Even though the temperature was in the low 60s we were forced to use AC. The windows do not open and are covered with plastic sheeting with no screens. The room was stuffy. A request for a fan went unanswered. Unless the spend some money on the structure by next summer I will not return.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Patty L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheSpencer, General Manager at The Spencer Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2013

We regret we did not live up to the guests expectations of us. Unfortunately, the two structural problems i.e. warped deck on the front porch and elevator problem made for a challenging and somewhat uncomfortable situation for some of our guests. Our elevator went down the week prior to the guest's stay with us and while some guests were inconvenienced by having to utilize the main stairs to access their rooms we were not made aware of any guest that could not make it down from an upper floor.

With regard to noise levels in the lobby the guest correctly noted that guests do congregate after the evening Amphitheater programs end and as many have been in residence for a good part of the week, they did need to be reminded of being courteous to other guests, especially those on the first floor.

Unfortunately, our temperature controlled heating/cooling system was inadvertently switched to too high a temperature setting which was corrected as soon as guests reported they were uncomfortable. We sincerely apologize for the inconvenience and have taken steps to regularly check the ambient temperature on all four floors to ensure a comfortable stay for our guests.

During the coming months we will be upgrading many of rooms, fixtures and equipment and hope the guest will return in the future to see the improvements.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2013

My wife and I just returned from a week at The Spencer. This was our third stay here, and we have already booked a week for 2014. This was our 8th or 9th time at Chautauqua (CHQ). We have only stayed at 2 places more than once. We obviously are happy here. We share the kind remarks that other reviewers have made regarding Chris and the rest of the staff. They do their best to make your stay a pleasant one. In addition, three things have led us to return. First, is the fact that they serve breakfast. As regulars at CHQ know, there are only a limited number of dining options on the grounds. It is nice to be able to come downstairs and have breakfast without going out. This year they served dinner as well. At first, I was concerned about this, but it turned out the meals were good. I also enjoyed the convenience of eating right there. The second reason we like the hotel is the community feeling you only get with a small hotel or B&B. This is enhanced by sharing meals together. Finally, the location of the hotel is ideal. The Spencer is close enough to the amphitheater that you can sit on the porch and listen to concerts. That is not something I personally choose to do, but I know some who do. To those who have never been to CHQ before, I feel I should let you know that most accommodations on the grounds are old. That means you should not expect to find the hotel to be luxurious. Those of us who are regulars consider this to be part of the total CHQ experience. We love it, and hope you will as well.

Room Tip: We like to have a room that opens onto one of the porches.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FrankBSC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheSpencer, General Manager at The Spencer Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded August 18, 2013

We appreciate the guest review comments. We are heartened by the comments relating to the hospitality shown to our guests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2013

We have been to Chautauqua before, but this is the first time we stayed at the Spencer. Chris, the General Manager and his staff, are really devoted to serving the customer. Chris is a problem solver. He works to accommodate individual needs and requirements. We understand that there are only two hotel style places that serve meals within the Chautauqua grounds. The Spencer is one of them. They do a very good job efficiently serving a very good breakfast and dinner so that you can be on time for the busy summer Chautauqua schedule. Their location is central and very convenient to everything. You can even sit on their deck and listen to the music from the AMP in the evening. The entire hotel is air conditioned (common areas and rooms) which is critical for the summer. The rooms are quiet and clean. We had three people in #407 with one and half baths. This worked very well. There was a bathtub with hand held shower which was initially a challenge, but improved as you developed the technique. However, some of the rooms have regular walk in showers if you are not comfortable with this. They have TVs so you can keep up on the news and the weather. We plan to return to the Spencer next year.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GBBoatCruiser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheSpencer, General Manager at The Spencer Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded August 18, 2013

It is most gratifying when first time visitors to the Spencer and Chautauqua Institution have a truly enjoyable experience. We dedicated ourselves to making our guest stays as full and satisfying as possible and the reviewers kind comments are greatly appreciated.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2013

The value for the hotel was great. The food was outstanding especially the chicken dishes. Had TVs in the rooms which was nice. Had a nice kitchen fully stocked for us to use with a microwave. Nice wine selection as well for dinner. Chris the hotel manager was extremely helpful and accommodating. It could not have been a better week.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hilldowdy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheSpencer, General Manager at The Spencer Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded August 18, 2013

This season we offered breakfasts every morning and dinners Monday through Friday. Our guests seem to appreciate the convenience of being able to start there day off right at the hotel and then have a pleasant repast at dinner after a full day of Chautauqua programming. We time the evening meal to enable guests to attend evening programs at the Amphitheater, the Bratton Theater and other events at the many venues afforded by Chautauqua. The guest comments are much appreciated..

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2013

As a life long Chautauquan, I normally stay at the family house which was overloaded this trip. Staying here was a great alternative. I was a late arrival which was easily accommodated. And as an early riser, I was very appreciative of the hot coffee which was ready by 6:30 am in the dining room.High level courtesy and professional staffing was enjoyed plus the dining was unexpectedly distinctively done.

The Brownings (406) suite is well appointed and near the leisurely 4th floor porch where I listened to the evening's concert while sipping a beverage. Be ready for the snug bathroom which is why the rating is a 4.

Chris, the general manager, was exceptional.

Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
2  Thank Ginger W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheSpencer, General Manager at The Spencer Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded August 18, 2013

Coming from a long time Chautauquan, we are most pleased to read the reviewers comments. Chautauqua is a unique place and the Spencer is special kind of hotel where tradition, high quality service and modern convenience e.g. central air conditioning, internet access, cable television come together to make guest stays fulfilling. We look forward to welcoming the guest back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2013

What a delightful find! Chris, the General Manager, and his entire staff helped make my stay extra special and memorable. Their attention to details was very impressive. My room (The Brownings, #407) was quite lovely, most comfortable, and peacefully quiet. The location was perfect. The meals were delicious - meticulously prepared and served. I've already reserved my "retreat" at The Spencer Hotel for 2014.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 293Sunshine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheSpencer, General Manager at The Spencer Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded August 21, 2013

We are delighted the guest found us to be an "oasis" for relaxing and enjoying the wonderful experience of being at Chautauqua Institution. Our proximity to the Amphiteater at Chautauqua make the Spencer and ideal location. The guest comments about our customer service are most appreciated. We look forward to welcoming them back next season. Also don't forget we are open throughout the year for a weekend getaway retreat.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chautauqua
17.1 mi away
The Inn at the Peak
The Inn at the Peak
#1 of 1 in Clymer
295 reviews
13.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Jamestown
15.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Findley Lake
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.1 mi away
Comfort Inn Jamestown Falconer
18.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites North East
13.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Downtown Jamestown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Spencer Hotel and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Spencer Hotel and Spa

Address: 25 Palestine Ave, Chautauqua, NY 14722-2536
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Chautauqua County > Chautauqua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Kitchenette Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Chautauqua
Price Range: $237 - $322 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Spencer Hotel and Spa 2.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Spencer Hotel & Spa is best described as 'more captivating than opening your favorite story-book.' Amidst our enchanting literary themed rooms and the private sanctuary of our spa, find yourself transported to a bygone place and time. Time spent in our steam sauna, a soak in our whirlpool tubs, and a week of pampering services leaves every one feeling as though they have gathered new strength. Each of the 24 guest rooms and suites were hand-decorated by local artists to honor the lives and works of famous authors. Each room has a select library of thoughtfully-chosen books and musical selections to further convey the tone of each writer's life and times. All of the rooms have central air conditioning and heat, cable television, free Wi-Fi, monogrammed robes, hairdryers, irons and ironing boards, and Gilchriest and Soames bath amenities. Most of the rooms are outfitted with King beds and have brand new mattresses. Some of the rooms have desks, arm chairs, sofa beds, direct porch access and whirlpool/Jacuzzi tubs with European handheld showers. An elevator services all four floors. Steamboat Gothic porches grace the front of the hotel, and are appointed with Victorian sofas, chairs and rockers that overlook the famous Chautauqua Amphitheater. A gourmet savory or sweet breakfast is served each morning with fresh fruit in the Peacock Dining Room and luxurious massage services and a cedar sauna are available for guests to indulge in.The Spencer offers cozy areas that are perfect for playing a board game, curling up with a good book, or engaging in conversation. In the Monet Parlor a movie projector and screen are also available for use. Packages and specials are available for guests from Couples Renewal Weekends to Gourmet Dinners, Ladies Pampering and Wine Touring.The Spencer Hotel is the perfect place for small weddings, receptions, book-clubs, reunions, business retreats and more. Group packages can be custom built for your next event. During the 9 week Chautauqua Institution Season gate and parking passes are required for guests staying at The Spencer and need to be arranged through Chautauqua Institution. The Spencer Hotel rents by the week during these 9 weeks and provides guests with dinner Monday - Friday in addition to the gourmet breakfast that is offered year-round. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Hotwire and Hotels.com so you can book your The Spencer Hotel and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Spencer Hotel Chautauqua

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing