We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice enough, but price too high”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Spencer Hotel and Spa
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Chautauqua
Lexington, Kentucky
Level Contributor
36 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Nice enough, but price too high”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2012

typical creaky old B&B. Owners very accomodating, facilities old, but price too much for what you get. rooms have strange storm windows on the inside which makes opening the windows very difficult - odd choice for a lakeside location with plenty of fresh air.

Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Vron100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

181 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    79
    38
    20
    17
    27
See reviews for
30
96
9
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
69 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2012

I drove down to Chautauqua for a 2 day solo get away. The Spencer Hotel was the perfect spot. Christine was very helpful when I made my reservation, suggesting restaurants and making reservations and she kindly offered to get me a ticket to the Wine Festival. I chose the EB White room and it was very quaint and well appointed and I enjoyed having access to the porch. the breakfasts were excellent and beautifully prepared by the hotel's owner, Helen. One day we had Eggs Florentine and the 2nd day was a great asparagus potato quiche. Breakfast was served with juice, fresh fruit cup and a good strong coffee. Being situated within the Chautauqua Institution ensured a quiet and relaxing environment with ample areas to wander around the grounds or just sit by the beautiful lake. A lovely and memorable spot. Highly recommended!

Room Tip: Chose a room higher up and with access to the porch.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pam M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheSpencer, Manager at The Spencer Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, May 27, 2012
Thank you so much for the very high regards! We're all so very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay so much! Please visit again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milford, Connecticut
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2012

This is the first time I have filled out one of these reviews. The service and quality of the inn was too good not to let people know about the inn. We were there because of needing to be near an ill parent. They took excellent care of us and the food was the best I have had at an inn. The best Eggs Benedict we have ever had. The themed rooms are nice, the decor and anitques are nice, the service is exceptional!

Room Tip: Check out all the themed rooms. The painting on the ceilings and walls match the room along with th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Suzanne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheSpencer, Manager at The Spencer Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, May 18, 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a lovely review! We really appreciate it and greatly enjoyed having you stay with us! We hope you will return soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westbury, New York
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2012

We spent 3 memorable days at The Spencer recently. The accomodations were charming, the service superb, and the welcome we received made our stay a very special experience. Breakfast was delicious and well-balanced. Nothing could surpass starting the day with an enthusiastic greeting from resident dog-hostess, Hannah. The atmosphere in the hotel is warm and comfortable, and we hope to return in the near future. Great location and a wonderful base for walks in an around the Institute.

Jeanie K., Westbury NY

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank budster1128
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheSpencer, Manager at The Spencer Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, May 14, 2012
Thank you so much for your review Jeanie! We so enjoyed having you and your family stay with us! Best wishes always!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2012

Went for a romantic weekend and enjoyed the serene, peaceful setting. Staff was very attentive and helpful with making plans in the area and were quite accommodating as far as services within the Inn. Location was great, massages were fantastic! It was a very relaxing, romantic weekend.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JenLN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheSpencer, Manager at The Spencer Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, May 15, 2012
Thanks again Jen! It was so nice to meet the two of you! I hope you were able to find that cheese you liked so much! Hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chardon, Ohio
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2012

went up for a last minute trip to check out some wineries and see if there was a good place to stay this summer for a getaway. was not at all disappointed! i read some of the other reviews and they seem really harsh now that i have been there. we had a great time, the hotel was really clean and everyone was very friendly and helpful. had some great wine along the way, and more importantly my wife was very happy & got exactly what she wanted - priceless!

Room Tip: ask for a porch room, it was great
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maxxmav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheSpencer, Manager at The Spencer Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, May 15, 2012
We're so thrilled to hear that you were so pleased with your stay! It must have been fate that you chose us! Thank you for the support! Please come visit again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2012

We just enjoyed a lovely weekend at the Spencer. The Innkeepers were gracious and most attentive. We stayed in the Collette suite and found it to be enchanting. A collection of the author's books were available which further enhanced the experience. Breakfast was a true epicurean delight: fresh baked brioche, omelettes with bacon lardoons and an artistic array of fruit that was almost too pretty to eat. You can't beat the location either. We highly recommend the Spencer.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Carol N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheSpencer, Manager at The Spencer Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, April 13, 2012
Thank you so much for giving us such a high review! We thoroughly enjoyed having you here as a guest and hope you will return very soon!

Wishing you all the best!
-Spencer Hotel Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chautauqua
13.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Jamestown
15.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Findley Lake
12.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Jamestown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.1 mi away
The Inn at the Peak
The Inn at the Peak
#1 of 1 in Clymer
4.0 of 5 bubbles 286 reviews
13.1 mi away
Comfort Inn Jamestown Falconer
2.7 mi away
Maple Springs Lake Side Inn
Maple Springs Lake Side Inn
#2 of 9 in Chautauqua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Spencer Hotel and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Spencer Hotel and Spa

Property: The Spencer Hotel and Spa
Address: 25 Palestine Ave, Chautauqua, NY 14722-2536
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Chautauqua County > Chautauqua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Kitchenette Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Chautauqua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Spencer Hotel and Spa 2.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Spencer Hotel & Spa is best described as 'more captivating than opening your favorite story-book.' Amidst our enchanting literary themed rooms and the private sanctuary of our spa, find yourself transported to a bygone place and time. Time spent in our steam sauna, a soak in our whirlpool tubs, and a week of pampering services leaves every one feeling as though they have gathered new strength. Each of the 24 guest rooms and suites were hand-decorated by local artists to honor the lives and works of famous authors. Each room has a select library of thoughtfully-chosen books and musical selections to further convey the tone of each writer's life and times. All of the rooms have central air conditioning and heat, cable television, free Wi-Fi, monogrammed robes, hairdryers, irons and ironing boards, and Gilchriest and Soames bath amenities. Most of the rooms are outfitted with King beds and have brand new mattresses. Some of the rooms have desks, arm chairs, sofa beds, direct porch access and whirlpool/Jacuzzi tubs with European handheld showers. An elevator services all four floors. Steamboat Gothic porches grace the front of the hotel, and are appointed with Victorian sofas, chairs and rockers that overlook the famous Chautauqua Amphitheater. A gourmet savory or sweet breakfast is served each morning with fresh fruit in the Peacock Dining Room and luxurious massage services and a cedar sauna are available for guests to indulge in.The Spencer offers cozy areas that are perfect for playing a board game, curling up with a good book, or engaging in conversation. In the Monet Parlor a movie projector and screen are also available for use. Packages and specials are available for guests from Couples Renewal Weekends to Gourmet Dinners, Ladies Pampering and Wine Touring.The Spencer Hotel is the perfect place for small weddings, receptions, book-clubs, reunions, business retreats and more. Group packages can be custom built for your next event. During the 9 week Chautauqua Institution Season gate and parking passes are required for guests staying at The Spencer and need to be arranged through Chautauqua Institution. The Spencer Hotel rents by the week during these 9 weeks and provides guests with dinner Monday - Friday in addition to the gourmet breakfast that is offered year-round. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Spencer Hotel and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Spencer Hotel Chautauqua

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing