We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Review Highlights
One of the best experiences EVER!!

This is a life changing experience. I am thrilled that I have now been to Chautauqua and will... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
LovestheTheatre
Unique educational experience

For close to `150 years, this institution has served as an 'adult camp' with all sorts of... read more

Reviewed 2 weeks ago
Bob M
,
Houston, Texas
Read all 423 reviews
  
Reviews (423)
Filter reviews
423 results
Traveler rating
306
71
21
14
11
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveler rating
306
71
21
14
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviews gate pass off season chautauqua lake summer camp world class every night gated community bucket list athenaeum hotel symphony orchestra spent a week bell tower book store bestor plaza arts speakers culture
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 423 reviews
Reviewed September 24, 2018

I'm sure this is a very lovely place during the two months of the year that it is active. However, we were here in September and it was deserted. It was a little bit like the Twilight Zone. All those houses but nobody in them.

Date of experience: September 2018
3  Thank lindasS1100RP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2018 via mobile

Outstandingly beautiful. Unique in every way. We enjoyed every minute. Perfect weather. Maple Inn was everything we could possibly want.

Date of experience: September 2018
Thank Conquesthistory
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2018 via mobile

Interesting history and beautiful old Victorian homes along the lake. Pricey during “the season” but a better value in the off season. For those who love lifelong learning this is your place.

Date of experience: September 2018
Thank Kay M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2018

Members of our family decided to meet at Chautauqua and, ironically, the topic for the week was the nature of work (most of us are retired). Regardless, it was a very educational and enjoyable week. We stayed in a wonderful condo on the grounds and enjoyed the lectures, musical performances at night and just the ambiance of being in a walkable, safe community. Enjoyed seeing the children enjoy their experience and plan to return again very soon.

Date of experience: July 2018
2  Thank Diana T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2018

Between the high cost of housing and the GATE PASS cost which is only affordable by the wealthy, this is not a good choice for a vacation.

Date of experience: August 2018
4  Thank FrancesCR88_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews