We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Review Highlights
One of the best experiences EVER!!

This is a life changing experience. I am thrilled that I have now been to Chautauqua and will... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
LovestheTheatre
Unique educational experience

For close to `150 years, this institution has served as an 'adult camp' with all sorts of... read more

Reviewed 2 weeks ago
Bob M
,
Houston, Texas
Read all 423 reviews
  
Reviews (423)
Filter reviews
423 results
Traveler rating
306
71
21
14
11
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveler rating
306
71
21
14
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviews gate pass off season chautauqua lake summer camp world class every night gated community bucket list athenaeum hotel symphony orchestra spent a week bell tower book store bestor plaza arts speakers culture
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
11 - 16 of 423 reviews
Reviewed August 29, 2018

Members of our family decided to meet at Chautauqua and, ironically, the topic for the week was the nature of work (most of us are retired). Regardless, it was a very educational and enjoyable week. We stayed in a wonderful condo on the grounds and enjoyed the lectures, musical performances at night and just the ambiance of being in a walkable, safe community. Enjoyed seeing the children enjoy their experience and plan to return again very soon.

Date of experience: July 2018
2  Thank Diana T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2018

Between the high cost of housing and the GATE PASS cost which is only affordable by the wealthy, this is not a good choice for a vacation.

Date of experience: August 2018
4  Thank FrancesCR88_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2018

Went to Chautauqua for the first time this summer with friends who'd been going for years. My husband and I loved it. During the week, we each took a class, we went to every morning lecture, and we went to various programs in the afternoon, including some wonderful presentations on such topics as Laura Ingalls Wilder, secular humanism, and the roots of today's political disagreements. We went to just about every evening performance, and all were wonderful. We were surprised at how much we loved the performance of Don Giovanni--neither my husband nor I have much experience with opera, but the performance was so engaging. Also loved the 4th of July concert, with the Chautauqua tradition of blowing up paper bags and popping them during the performance of Tchaikovsky's 1812 Overture. We also went swimming and kayaking in the lake. We're already planning to go back next year.

Date of experience: July 2018
Thank debbyb941
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2018

My 83-year-old mom feels young at Chautauqua. Surrounded by elderly intellectuals, she loves being hip and young. Chautauqua is not only for the old, but also for the young and young at heart. With the first openly gay president and edgy theater performances, Chautauqua has finally come into its own. Daily lectures, dance/theater/music/band/orchestra performances, and classes to suit every interest and skill level, Chautauqua is the family/friend/solo vacation you should take very year. We have been going for 6 years, and already secured our on-grounds lodging for 2019. Book a week, stay on grounds, and make the commitment to give a week to yourself for an amazing, self-paced summer camp experience. Any week is good, just go!

Date of experience: June 2018
1  Thank NJ-FLByron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2018 via mobile

We just spent a week at Chautauqua Institution and it always delivers. It’s the only place I know of where you can watch Jesse Jackson speak in the morning, play a round of golf and then watch an ABBA tribute band that same night. Boating, several restaurants and their own symphony and guest speakers from all different backgrounds and interests.

Date of experience: August 2018
1  Thank Dirtguy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews