We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“generally disappointing”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Maple Springs Lake Side Inn
Ranked #2 of 9 Chautauqua B&B and Inns
Reviewed September 4, 2013

My girlfriends and I spent two nights in the upstairs carriage house in late August. The grounds and the lakeside setting certainly trumped the interior accomodations which were quite different than they appeared in the website photos. Adequate at best but not at all charming. As we stayed up late both nights, we did not make it to the main house for the only scheduled breakfast seating at 9am. A buffet breakfast would have been much appreciated. This was, after all, a getaway (from our daily regimens). The saving grace was our purpose for visiting the area, i.e. the proximity to the Chautauqua Institution.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank steelermom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (86)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

46 - 52 of 86 reviews

Reviewed September 2, 2013

My husband and I spent 5 nights at the Maple Springs Lakeside Inn. Rose and Paul were superb hosts, accommodating, and really made us feel welcome. The morning breakfasts were fresh and just so tasty! We stayed in the carriage house and it was wonderful, comfortable, and quiet. The whole place has a great charm and everyone made our experience perfect.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank my2doxies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2013

My husband and I just spent 2 lovely nights at the Maple Springs Lake Side Inn. Although the weather was very chilly, we enjoyed every minute of it. Rose, Paul and Mike were great hosts and the breakfast Mike prepared each morning was the greatest...so fresh too! If you like antiques, you will LOVE the charming way Rose has decorated this beautiful home built in 1925. The complimentary tickets (for staying 2 nights or more) on the Chautauqua Belle, were an added bonus. What a nice way to enjoy and learn about the houses on the lake. Do take the tour of the Chautauqua Institute also....a great deal! We can't wait to return next year.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jean O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2013

We found our stay at Maple Springs to be just so so based on how it was advertised and other Trip Advisor reviews. The hosts are nice people, but the establishment itself is located in a residential area that is about 10 minutes away by car from Stow/Bemus Point and about 15-20 minutes away from Mayville and Chautauqua Institution. While it is on the lake, that still means there is no place near by where you can just walk to a coffe shop, general store, etc.The rooms are a good size, but everything is somewhat outdated including the bathrooms. (We actually liked the outdoor spaces much better; they appeared to be better maintained.) There is also no way to lock the bedroom when you leave; it can only be locked from the inside. There was also a significant amount of what I would call "clutter" that can be seen in the public spaces, e.g. treadmill/exercise equipment, towels on tables, etc. There are two large dining tables for breakfast, but unfortunately it reminded me of a skilled nursing facility set up. The breakfasts are okay, but regimented, i.e. one seating at 9:00 am. If you are an early riser, it's hard to wait to get your day started. We will probably stay within the nearby towns the next time around.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gabettarossa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2013

Very relaxing time! Great waterfront views and a beachside camp fire everynight! Hosts Paul, Rose and Mike great people, and breakfast delicious!!!! Don't forget to ride the Chautauqua Belle, interesting and nice trip across the lake! We will be back!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kathye57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2012

Had a great time staying at the maple springs lake side inn. I felt ilke I was at home. Our hosts Paul and Rose were wonderful. breakfast on the boat was a great experience! Can't wait to get back there!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank DWC534
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2012

Rose, Paul and daughter Kristen could not have been more gracious and accommodating. Two college friends and I chose to meet midway from our hometowns at the Maple Springs Lake Side Inn in Chatauqua this week for our annual get together. We could not have been more pleased with our choice. The family (and pets) that owns this inn treats you like longtime friends...from showing you the lovely property, to the boat ride to the marina for breakfast, to the complimentary beverages, to the s'mores by the campfire, to Rose's homemade breakfast that is to die for, they could not have been kinder, friendlier hosts. We stayed in the Sun Room, since we needed to be able to sleep three people, and it was incredibly fun from beginning to end. Every part of the inn is decorated beautifully and much effort has been put into creating very comfortable and inviting spots to spend time relaxing. There are porches inside and out for you to sit and talk, drink coffee or wine and to simply unwind. The location is very close to Bemus Point, delicious restaurants, and the infamous Lake Erie Wine Trail. We could not recommend this inn more highly and are looking forward to visiting again. You will get a very high value for the money.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Julie E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chautauqua
2.6 mi away
The Spencer Hotel and Spa
The Spencer Hotel and Spa
#4 of 6 in Chautauqua
197 reviews
18.6 mi away
The Inn at the Peak
The Inn at the Peak
#1 of 1 in Clymer
296 reviews
9.9 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn Jamestown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Jamestown
21.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites North East
9.7 mi away
William Seward Inn
William Seward Inn
#3 of 4 in Westfield
32 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maple Springs Lake Side Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maple Springs Lake Side Inn

Address: 4696 Chautauqua Avenue, Chautauqua, NY
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Chautauqua County > Chautauqua
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Chautauqua
Price Range: $166 - $246 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Maple Springs Lake Side Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz and getaroom.com so you can book your Maple Springs Lake Side Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maple Springs Lake Side Hotel Chautauqua

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing