We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Weekend Get Away”

St. Elmo Accommodations
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Chautauqua
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
St. Elmo Accommodations
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Chautauqua
Warren, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Wonderful Weekend Get Away”
Reviewed May 26, 2014

What a wonderful weekend get away, even on the off season at Chautauqua. Lots of places to eat off of the Institution. What a wonderful place to walk and think about nothing and know how lucky one is to be able to spend the weekend. Walking the grounds and reading a book at the Library located on the Institution. Library was open until 3 PM during the weekend. Great time to walk down near the lake and take in all of the peace and quiet. The condo in which I stayed had a kitchen and 2 bedrooms. Full living room balcony to sit and read a magazine and have a nice cup of coffee. The book store is always open and newspapers can be bought. Loved my time always at Chautauqua during the season as well as the off season.

Room Tip: One can rent condos at little as 89.00 per night or 179.00 per night. All have full bath, kitchen...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BrenLucy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

15 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    7
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
2
7
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2012

We stayed in unit 217 for week 9. This is a two bedroom unit with a sleeper sofa. There are balconies off each bedroom and one runs the length of the condo with doors opening to it from the bedroom as well as the living room. The bedding was ok, but could stand some improvement and one of the bathrooms was tiny. The kitchen was nice and was pretty completely equipped. Toaster, small Cuisinart, blender, wine glasses, champagne glasses, martini glasses. I would bring a wooden chopping board (they only have glass ones) and I would bring ice, only ice trays.
The tv is a small tube tv, but we never turned it on.

The location on Bestor Plaza was great, close enough to everything and it was convenient to have food choices right downstairs.

The only thing I would consider is maybe moving to a unit with a balcony facing Bestor, but this was not a big deal.

Room Tip: I would try to get a unit that faces Bestor Plaza and would be at least on the 2nd floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Paula S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2012

We visited Chautauqua over Labor Day weekend for a wedding at the Atheneum Hotel but chose to stay with St. Elmo's to have some extra space with our 2 year old daughter. It should be noted first and foremost that this is more of a condominium/timeshare place than a hotel. The units are individually owned and rented by the Real Estate office when the owners are not using them. Thus, it is very much like staying in a friend's house for the weekend. The bedding and linens appear to be the owner's, but they were clean and fresh when we arrived. We also did not stay in the main St. Elmo building but rather the Longfellow building which was a rowhouse nearby. The unit had two bedrooms, one of which had a double bed and the other had a bunkbed and a twin bed. There was a small kitchen with a refridgerator and sitting area with a 17" LCD TV on the wall with basic cable. Parking was what's available on the side streets nearby the house.
All in all, I would recommend this place to others with the understanding that it is not your typical hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank jaymah2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2012 via mobile

We had the wonderful opportunity to stay at this beautiful facility on Bestor Plaza in the Chautauqua Institution. Each unit is individually owned and decorated in many different ways. We stayed in one of the units with the wall bed because we wanted to have the feel of a living room during the day. The bed was easy to pu down and lift up giving us plenty of room to entertain during the day. The queen bed was comfortable. The staff was very accommodating and attentive to our needs. We have already booked our room for next year!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank musica620
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2011

It's funny to read reviews by people saying they're upset because they weren't allowed to be obnoxious at midnight. It's about time the people who keep the rest of us awake at hotels because they're drunk and stupid have to pay for it! Good job St. Elmo!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank koko0987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed February 28, 2011

I married into a Chautauqua family and have spent the last 3 summers at the Institute. You have to understand that Chautauqua is not a 'town'...it's more of a gated resort. And the St Elmo, if i understand correctly, is not a 'hotel' per se but a condominium building and so each unit is furnished and kept up by the owners. The common areas at the St Elmo are lovely. Chautauqua to me is a combination of old-fashioned America and Ancient Greece. I call it 'Mayberry on higher learning steroids'. It's quiet, safe, quaint in a very good old-fashioned way and the programs aim to raise social consciousness and tolerance. When attending the lectures, I often think it is sort of what it must have been like to sit and listen to Plato and Socrates.

I don't think i would EVER consider Chautauqua for a bachelorette party. It's not that kind of place. But it, and the St Elmo, let you step back to a gentler time and I, for one, enjoy the respite from the all-too modern world of my everyday life.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
14 Thank wickedwillingwench
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linesville, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 15, 2010

We have stayed here on two different occasions. Both times we enjoyed the stay. However, this last trip we encountered a "wall bed" and found it to be less than satisfactory for sleeping comfort. It was, frankly, stiff as a board and most uncomfortable to sleep on. Our previous stay had a real bed and the sleep factor was wonderful. We will surely return there but never again accept a "wall bed" The rest of the apt was very nice and the service was good. We were there off season so the price was less....Full price and more than a two night stay....... would make the "wall bed" an accomodation to offensive to endure.
The rest of the Chautaugua Institution is fun to visit and roam about in a peaceful nature setting.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank buylamb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chautauqua
0.2 mi away
The Spencer Hotel and Spa
The Spencer Hotel and Spa
#1 of 6 in Chautauqua
185 reviews
13.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Jamestown
15.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Findley Lake
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Jamestown
17.1 mi away
The Inn at the Peak
The Inn at the Peak
#1 of 1 in Clymer
293 reviews
13.2 mi away
Comfort Inn Jamestown Falconer
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St. Elmo Accommodations? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. Elmo Accommodations

Property: St. Elmo Accommodations
Address: 1 Pratt Ave, Chautauqua, NY 14722-2571
Location: United States > New York > Chautauqua County > Chautauqua
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Chautauqua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Studios, One and two bedroom upscale condominium suites. Private balconies, Many amenities. Located in the center of Chautauqua Institution. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
St. Elmo Hotel Chautauqua

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing