We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The North Shore
Nearby Hotels
The Spencer Hotel and Spa(Chautauqua)
$214
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Theater Motel(Westfield)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (13)
Filter reviews
13 results
Traveler rating
5
4
2
2
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
5
4
2
2
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrci timeshare exchangehalf bathoff seasonliving roomchautauqua institutionunithomeslakebedsjamestown
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 13 reviews
Reviewed March 14, 2013

So well organized as far as getting everything ready for our late arrival. Place was dated but clean and spacious.
Loved the atmosphere and fireplace.
The balcony made it a nice place to relax in the evening

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Mungiab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2012

We would rate this unit a little above average (if there was such a rating.) We are very familiar w/Chautauqua and "the season" so we are not evaluating it because we love it.
We've been staying in the area almost every summer for over 20 yrs. 1st time on the grounds and we were excited. Compared to our home timeshare and others we have traded into, this one was a little disappointing. Basement way too cold and air was uncomfortable. Twin beds were hard as rocks, queen comfortable. Problems w/air conditioning (not resolved), plumbing (toilets needed to be flushed midway thru personal business so it didn't rise up to top of bowl (used plunger few times) and dishes/utensils in cupboard were filthy (lipstick, stuck on food, etc.) Dishwasher doesn't clean dishes at all - had to wash by hand all week. Control panel on stove was filthy. Rugs (as mentioned in another review) were dirty - LR had good sized spill spot, EA had spill spots, basement hall rug all spotted & other areas spotted down there. (We were told someone must have spilled since the rugs were last cleaned - told they "shut down units 2 months a yr. to clean, update or whatever,) Spider webs in bathrooms., bedrms. Loft area - no TV, very warm, AC vent in wall is visibly filthy inside(needs cleaning - hate to think about breathing that accumulated dust & dirt in), blind shafts on window bent out of shape), beds comfortable.
Unit is attractive, lvg rm furniture comfortable & in gd. condition. Kitchen well equipped, lrg eating area. W&D worked well. Beautiful view and liked the 2 porches. AC unit is old and inadequate. After maintenance couldn't help w/AC on Sat. (record 95 degrees), Vacation Properties called in HVAC Co. on Mon. He said unit was old and couldn't handle needs adequately. Said he'd come to back to change or clean filter at least. Never saw him again. Vac. Properties offered to send someone out again on Wed. to look at plumbing and AC but we didn't want to continue to have our vacation interrupted w/ workmen (& we like to be in the unit when strangers come in to work) so we declined and said we'd live w/it. We were told that unclean dishes/utensils was due to phosphate free detergent units are required to use. Gutters overflowed during rainstorm.
We met another couple (husband had been on the Homeowners' Board for 6 yrs.) and described our experiences. They were surprised and upset for us - said they didn't have these issues w/their unit (which they own). Said it sounds like we need a new dishwasher and other things checked out and addressed.

Suggestions for Unit A1:
~If units are older and this is original AC unit, perhaps it needs to be replaced. Also, ducts should be cleaned regularly and filter cleaned/replaced per manufacturer's instructions.
~I scrape and rinse my dishes at home - that didn't help here. Replace dishwasher.
~Plumbing should be checked (suggestion - call Roto Rooter.)
~Rugs should be cleaned regularly. Definitely spot cleaned when unit is cleaned for new arrivals.
~Cleaning needs to be notched up a little.

Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
6  Thank sunshineand1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2011

This was our first and only vacation in two years and we found it both complicated and disappointing for several reasons. Primarily, because of the misguidance we received from the property rental office and the misrepresentation of the property.

Originally, we were told by the property rental office RCI properties were available for trade and we needed to make arrangements with RCI. We called RCI and were told the resort needed to deposit the units so RCI could release them. These back and forth conversations lasted nearly two hours. Finally, we were told by the property rental staff that your resort did not have any units available for trade and that we would have to pay for our stay. Completely frustrated, we then asked specifically about the grounds; it’s proximity to the lake, docking our boat and traveling with our truck and trailer to haul the boat. Lodging, pool(s), outdoor grill(s), but most of all, privacy and peacefulness, all of which we were told we could happily take pleasure in during our stay here.

Simply put, this was not the case and we did not enjoy ourselves as we’d hoped.

Obviously, Chautauquans know the lake flies are prevalent in late August/early September and last anywhere from 4 to 6 days and that the lake weeds are at their worst this time of year. Had someone been kind enough and considerate enough to tell us these things we would have re-evaluated our plan to stay at the Northshore.

If these were the only obstacles, we took solace in knowing we could easily dock our boat at the on site pier and safely store our trailer in the lot by our unit, swim in the pools, use the outdoor grills and get a good nights’ sleep.

Again this was not the case, we had to travel to Pendergrast to launch our boat then drive it to the main dock by the bell tower, then leave our trailer unattended in the overflow lot at the institute. Ultimately, we had to call the office to request our trailer be parked in the upper lot on-site. In order to take the boat out, we had to drive each time maneuvering winding roads with our truck and try to find a place to park on an already packed road by the main dock.

The upper pool was closed the next day. The lower pool was filled with children and no regard was given to the adult swim hours posted. The only gas grill, located by the lower pool, has no outdoor light source so one can cook at night.

The only peace and quite we experienced was Sunday through Tuesday evening after dark on the deck while fighting the massive lake fly invasion.

Just a few of the observations we made while in unit D3:
Broken glass and dishware found in the cabinet
Plug in emergency flashlight does not work
Not all windows close and lock properly
One of the jets in the tub doesn’t work
Left window crank in queen bedroom is broken and doesn’t work
Window blind in queen room is not working properly (need two hands to lower it)
Unit is hot upstairs and cold downstairs; air conditioning needs adjustment
Front deck gutters overflow on wooden porch and overall porch is rotting and unsafe

Lastly, and by all means the most important, the beds are AWFUL! Old and uncomfortable, sleeping outside in a tent would have been better; so bad we left a day early due to extreme neck and back pain.

As for the property itself, the grounds are pretty but could be better maintained to eliminate tree pests. The unit on the other hand is outdated with musty linens, blankets and towels. The floors, dishes and cabinets were filthy and sticky and appear not to have been thoroughly cleaned in years.

Parking is extremely limited at the Institution so if you have a truck and/or boat trailer this is NOT the place for you. Dock for condos is a joke and travel with a large vehicle is uncomfortable at best.

RCI should reconsider its affiliation with this property; we wouldn't send anyone there.

Room Tip: Don't get a unit here.
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank BuffaloEllie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2011

The North Shore properties was a great place to stay in the 80's but time has passed this place by. The property exterior is in average at best shape (heavy water rot and carpenter ant issues) but the interior is terribly poor. We stayed in unit D-5 which is a unit with 2 bedrooms, a pull out couch and a loft. The downstairs smelled terribly of mold and was very cold and damp. They have a doorway to the cellar below the basement which houses the ac unit...this area had standing water in it with a broken dehumidifier. The upstairs loft was extremely hot and humid. The windows in the loft had to be pushed open due to the handles being broken.

All furniture and fixtures were terribly out of date including appliances. The master bedroom in the basement was a double and had to be an original mattress from the 80's. The twin beds in the second bedroom were short and a person of average size would have their feet handing off the bed at all times.

The tv in the main room was a small old unit which received 18 channels. No ESPN and actually...No NBC. The master bedroom was a tv the size of a shoebox and the same channels. It was a joke.

The unit advertises that they have wireless Internet. There was NO internet connection in this facility. I actually went outside with my laptop and tried to access it from anywhere on the properly with no success.

The unit came with a washer/dryer but again, it was from the 80's and was a crap shoot that it worked.

The North Shore properties were rated a "silver rating" in RCI...they need to rethink this rating. I would not think of sending anyone to this property.

Room Tip: Stay away from this facility.
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
10  Thank putterpug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2010

My wife and I are expecting our first child in the spring, so we decided to get away for one final week of peaceful vacation. My parents are timeshare owners, so they gave us a gift of a week's stay at The North Shore in Chautauqua, New York. We told them that we just wanted a quiet place with a fireplace where we could relax, watch college football, and read. The North Shore was exactly what we wanted.

Upon arrival, we were immediately pleased with the unusual lay-out of the unit. The main living space, dining room, full kitchen, and half-bath are up a flight of steps from the entry landing. There are two bedrooms and two full bathrooms down a flight of steps from the entry landing. And there is a charming loft with two more beds above the main floor. A gas fireplace kept the main floor warm. We watched many football games on the TV beside the fire. While we were there, it snowed about three feet, so the outdoor scenery was breath-takingly beautiful. We didn't leave our unit for several days, so it was extremely helpful to have the full kitchen, where we could prepare all of our meals with ease. The maintenance crew did a great job of keeping the sidewalks cleared and the parking lot plowed, despite continual snowfall for the entire week.

We really enjoyed the charming town of Chautauqua. We actually took a horse-drawn sleigh ride through the entire Chautauqua Institution. The view over Lake Chautauqua was beautiful. The town was so quiet, as many of the Victorian homes are winterized by covering them in canvas. The handful of locals whom we encountered were friendly. We went to church at the Hurlbutt United Methodist Church just down the street from The North Shore and had a wonderful worship experience.

To be clear, there were a few negatives. It is clear that The North Shore was built awhile ago, and it is starting to show its age. Some of the decor was rather dated. The jacuzzi tub in the master bath was so old that it rather frightened me, and despite my love of hot tubs, I never took a soak. The TVs were old and rather small by today's standards. The wireless internet access, though free, was very spotty. Though we read in some of the literature that the fireplace was wood-burning (and we brought kindling accordingly), it was gas, which was convenient but not nearly as much fun as burning wood. And we were baffled by the furniture arrangement in the living room, with only one couch and two rather uncomfortable chairs.

But despite these critiques, we had a fabulous time. Our unit was much larger than we needed as a couple. A family with up to 4 or 5 kids or two families with one or two kids each could comfortably stay there. It was clear that the summer season of the Chautauqua Institution is a busy place, and I'd actually love to come back during the summer sometime to experience that educational world of theology, art, and culture. But even "out of season," we had a fabulous time at The North Shore. We'd be happy to return sometime, and I certainly recommend it as a wonderful retreat for virtually anyone.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank clo110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews