We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Mixed.”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Athenaeum Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Chautauqua
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Athenaeum Hotel
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Chautauqua
Level Contributor
57 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Mixed.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2011

We came for wedding. Even came a night early. Some others had nicer rooms but ours was the size of a postage stamp and not updated. Mattress and pillow both hard. We only paid $99/night. If it had been during the season and I gad paid more I might have been ticked off.
Also very strange was the woman manager who shooed us all off the porches and out of the lobby because someone else's wedding reception was about to happen---like I was so clueless I'd try to crash. Made me feel like a second class guest.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Marjact
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    32
    16
    13
    16
See reviews for
19
45
5
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2011

We went for a wedding - reception was at the Hotel. It was the first weekend after the "end" of the Chautauqua season. It was very quiet and peaceful. The hotel is an old beauty. If you are expecting the latest and greatest in design and furnishings, you will be sorely disappointed. The interior lobby has a relaxed elegance that is carried out onto the veranda overlooking Lake Chautauqua. This was my first visit to the area...and I plan on coming back!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rasaknits
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, NY
Level Contributor
90 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2011

Chautauqua Institute is a unique place on it's own with hundreds of cultural programs throughout the season. Add to that experience a stay at the beautiful Athenaeum Hotel with it's comfortable rocking chairs and a view to die for, it makes for a wonderful vacation. Also, the service is fabulous. with two refreshes of towels and straightening of room throughout the day. The morning Chautauqua paper is a nice touch as well.

Room Tip: We were in the annex. All rooms have air conditioning I believe which is necessary in the summer. Th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Beebs10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moreland Hills, Ohio
Level Contributor
34 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2011

It is true, the only reason you go to this hotel is for the total Chautauqua experience. I grew up near the institute, and the hotel is a trip into the past. It has not been modernized, and it would be a shame to do so. I spent many summers going there, visiting friends at the summer music programs, and truly enjoying the atmosphere. I've stayed many places in and near Chautauqua, but the Atheneaum--for all of its iidiosyncrasies--is the most memorable place to stay.

One of my friends took his family to to stay there for a couple of days. One of his daughters asked why they were staying there and why was it so special. Then they were seated with Art Garfunkel for breakfast. After that, she understood.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank jmk5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, Tennessee
Level Contributor
20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2011

Our stay was with a conference before the "Chautauqua Season" so our dining experience, which was amazingly good for buffet service, may not reflect service at other times. First, an update on the antique elevator. It has been replaced by a new modern elevator, but the old one is still visible. We requested a room near the stairs to the lobby, which is a small room with a tiny bathroom. Since there is great variation in room sizes and degree of updating you might want to discuss room selection by phone prior to the stay. It is indeed a unique experience if you don't mind uneven floors, etc. If you're into nostalgic elegance you'll love it. If you expect modern you'll probably be disappointed.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MarilynBrien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2011

As part of our visit to the area from NYC we always stay at least a couple nights at the Athenaeum (have been coming for over 30 years now). First off, you have to understand what the hotel is (and the hotel needs to accept what it is). It was truly a boarding house when it first opened, you were meant to sleep there, eat, and then spend the day outside taking in different lectures or events, not locked up in a building (this was one of the main reasons Chautauqua is where it is today, in a sylvan setting rather than a sunbaked city building) the reason there are so many photos from the water is because the "wealthy" and majority of the Institutions patroons stayed at Point Chautauqua across the lake, where the "Grand Hotel" was located which was built as a high class hotel (it's long gone now). If you are looking for a "brand new" cookie-cut hotel, the Athenaeum, let alone Chautauqua Institution is not for you. But if you are looking for an experience not just a stay at a historic building, dripping of hospitality tradition, absolutely beautifully decorated, grounds perfectly manicured, in the center of the Institution, and a staff that will know you on a first name basis year after year, the Athenaeum is the perfect choice.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Salka861
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Alberni, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2011

We spent a wonderful evening watching "Chautauqua" on PBS from Spokane WA. this past Sunday. My wife and I both stated when next in Western New York we will have to again stay at the beautiful old Athenaeum for a few days to recapture the fun we had last time.
We've enjoyed all our visits to the Institute and also the Athenaeum and found the staff friendly, the food superb and the surrounds beautiful. The fact that one can live within history by staying in a building built just after the Civil War is to us an experience not easily duplicated. If we wanted to stay in new hotels we could do that anywhere but to stay in an authentic historic building is a true treat for us old history buffs. Just being able to stay and walk the grounds and to be able to relate with all the artistic and educational events is hard to describe. The rooms were quaint but clean, the service was exemplary, and the experience one needing repeating.
The decorations and pictures within the hotel are art treasures in themselves and all the antiques throughout the interior are to us the crowning glory of the hotel.
The location of the hotel within the community, allows for cars to be parked and forgotten and actually encourages making walking a daily enjoyable occurrence.
Being within a short walk of the amphitheater makes taking in the lectures and evening entertainment something both very enjoyable and very easy to do.
I don't believe we've ever had a more enjoyable and relaxing hotel stay in our lives. The niche shopping experience was enjoyable for my wife and myself.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank PossumPogo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chautauqua
0.1 mi away
The Spencer Hotel and Spa
The Spencer Hotel and Spa
#1 of 6 in Chautauqua
3.5 of 5 bubbles 181 reviews
12.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Jamestown
12.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Jamestown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Findley Lake
13.0 mi away
Comfort Inn Jamestown Falconer
17.3 mi away
The Inn at the Peak
The Inn at the Peak
#1 of 1 in Clymer
4.0 of 5 bubbles 287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Athenaeum Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Athenaeum Hotel

Property: Athenaeum Hotel
Address: 3 S Lake Dr, Chautauqua, NY 14722-2547
Location: United States > New York > Chautauqua County > Chautauqua
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Chautauqua
Number of rooms: 153
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Throughout Chautauqua Institution's summer season, Athenaeum Hotel guests are inspired by a variety of learning, recreational and entertainment programs that are all part of the unique Chautauqua experience. For 140 summers, people have come to Chautauqua's 750-acre community to experience arts, education, concerts, lectures and lively discussions. During the spring and fall months, the Athenaeum Hotel acts as a host to well-organized conferences, beautiful weddings, and special events. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Athenaeum Hotel Chautauqua

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing