We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Outstanding food and service, charming rooms and a well composed atmosphere.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Crabtree's Kittle House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Crabtree's Kittle House
Ranked #1 of 1 Chappaqua B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“Outstanding food and service, charming rooms and a well composed atmosphere.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I wanted to find a nice country inn for a winter getaway. We came on a Friday evening during a blizzard and settled in for an excellent dinner in the Tap Room. The atmosphere was sophisticated, holding together the colonial charm and adding plenty of modern touches (butcher block tables, glass pendants and a new copper ceiling). The fireplace was roaring and piano was getting some attention, making the storm feel even more fitting.

The room we had was absolutely massive and well decorated to hold all of the house's original charm. If you want tons of amenities you're in the wrong place. If you want tall windows on two side pouring light in, hardwood floors, a four post bed and an excellently trimmed room, this is the place to find it with a price that is stunning. The heat was a bit high all night (actually quite sauna-like) but the staff was apologetic. That is also the only negative thing about the entire trip.

Complimentary breakfast is served to order at the table. One other review here said it was limited, but compared to the stock spread you find at some many bed and breakfasts this was a real treat. We both had granola with organic yogurt and fresh berries which is served as if you're paying for it in their main dining room.

Our car was cleared for us in the morning and the area around was really beautiful.

That night we ate in the main dining room. It's clear that they are cooking to a crowd who is used to higher end food. We had the three course dinner, which was excellent and was served with an amuse bouche and petit four capping either end. This was unexpected and a very nice touch. The best part was that the meal was a staggeringly low $38 per person.

There are plenty of reasons to come here and we haven't even had brunch yet! We absolutely will come back and recommend it to all!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank blackmarketbutter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    22
    14
    15
    10
See reviews for
29
44
5
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Mount Kisco, New York, United States
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2013

My latest experience with the Kittle House was out of the ordinary. Over and above the excellent cuisine and service to match, I came to learn that honesty is a high priority as well. I live in the area, and for some reason have not visited this establishment for years. I had no idea what I was missing.

Room Tip: Lovely location and just about equidistant to Mount Kisco and Chappaqua. I am a local, so have not...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Larchmont, New York
Level Contributor
37 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2013

My wife and I joined friends at the Kittle House recently for dinner. It was our first time at this storied Westchester institution, and we were looking forward to a special evening out. The food did not disappoint: appetizers ranging from Gnudi (sweet 100 cherry tomatoes with a nicoise crumble and amazing goat cheese) to beet salad (wonderfully tasty) were all uniformly excellent. The main courses were also superb - the venison was perfectly cooked and incredibly flavorful, while the strip steak was massive and succulent, accompanied by the best french fries I've ever had and a not-too-creamy creamed spinach. Finally, desserts were over-the-top - you have to try the "chocolate gift" of valrhona chocolate in a filo-dough package - wow! Accompanying all was a fine bottle of Seghesio Barolo, 1997 - perfect for the steak and venison.

Unfortunately, the service didn't measure up to the fabulous food. Wait staff were polite and friendly, but inattentive at best. My wife ordered a seltzer with cranberry and lime that was flat the first time, and flat the 2nd and 3rd times they tried, too (finally someone came by and asked if she would prefer a small bottle of Pellegrino). We must have waited 15 minutes before menus were brought out, I waited more than 10 minutes for a martini, and, to top it off, when the bill was finally presented (after waving for a waiter and waiting another 10 minutes), they charged us twice for the wine! They were happy to remove the erroneous charge, of course, but it was the irony of an error on the bill that seemed to cap off the imperfect service with the right touch. I'd like to try the restaurant again, so I'm hoping someone there makes some improvements in the service to bring it up to par with the terrific food.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tony C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 16, 2012

Our stay at Kittle House was wonderful! Fabulous service, great food and drinks at the restaurant. Beautiful and clean rooms. Emilio and MJ at the bar were great. Please consider staying here if you are ever in the area! Thanks John and staff!!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank EJ0515
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2012

We stayed with memebrs of our family over Thanksgiving holiday. I do want to compliemnt them on their tavern and restaurant were the food was very good, if the service was uneven and often muddled. However as an overnight guest in the inn there was very little positive to say. From the moment we walked into the hallway where our rooms were the temperature dropped a good ten degrees and never warmed up. There are bare wood floor which just makes the room colder, although the bed was comfortable and had a good thick comforter but if you were not under the sheets its was not pleasant. The walls are paper thin so you hear the neighbors tv, conversation in hall, etc. Lastly they are very skimpy with the amenities, one bar of soap, two thin towels, not al all the image they present on line. I would definitely wine and dine there again but sleep somewhere else.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank innkeeper2631
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
37 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2012

In early October my husband and I attended a wedding at the Crabtree Kittle House . On a positive note, the rooms were very nicely decorated, wood floors, and the decor reflected the time period they restored. The bathroom was outdated, but a few things like the faucet were updated. The overall environment was gorgeous, very rustic, 1800s, wood panelling etc. But we were there for a wedding, not for a bed and breakfast stay. They seemed overall very disorganized. I think the problem was they were understaffed. The cocktail hour was packed, a long line to get cheese and no where to sit. (This was a small wedding in comparison to the ones I have been to prior). approximately 130 people. The passed appetizers did not even get to the center of the room. When it came to the actual reception, it was a very awkward layout.The dance floor was L shaped, and very small. Some tables could not see the dance floor because of multiple columns in the way. The food overall was OK, but very small portions. The staff was not attentive. There were empty glasses left on the tables the whole night, no refills of water, and the toasting champagne was left there even after hours of the toast being finished. The best part of the wedding was the brunch the day after. The food was delicious, but once again the set up was cramped. I think that this place would be a great place for a small wedding under 75 people. I saw their advertisement in multiple wedding magazines as holding up to 240 people, and I could not even fathom that!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Biogeeklovesfood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2012

Pleasant, professional staff; capacious comfortable rooms; dazzling chef and spectacular wine list. We've stayed here many, many times and never been anything but delighted. Breakfast and a warm welcome included!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jkelman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chappaqua
2.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Mt. Kisco (Westchester Cty)
10.9 mi away
Tarrytown House Estate on the Hudson
9.6 mi away
Castle Hotel & Spa
Castle Hotel & Spa
#5 of 7 in Tarrytown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.2 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#1 of 1 in Hawthorne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 140 reviews
4.6 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Armonk Westchester Cnty Apt
10.4 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Tarrytown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crabtree's Kittle House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crabtree's Kittle House

Property: Crabtree's Kittle House
Address: 11 Kittle Rd, Chappaqua, NY 10514-1800 (Formerly Inn at Kittle House)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Westchester County > Chappaqua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Chappaqua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crabtree's Kittle House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and Orbitz so you can book your Crabtree's Kittle House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crabtree`s Kittle House Hotel Chappaqua

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing