We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“LIke Being in Vermont...Without The Drive”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Crabtree's Kittle House
Ranked #1 of 1 Chappaqua B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 7, 2011

We were hit with a blizzard in town last week and we lost power. We reserved a room at Crabtree's Kittle House which is located in our town. Frankly we just needed heat and hot water as we were in the midst of an October blizzard (you figure!) We were incredibly pleased with our choice...the storm seemed far away. My wife and I always choose small hotels whether in Paris or Pittsburgh. The Kittle House is private, wooded and grand on a human scale.

Our room was immaculate and nicely furnished. It was a decent size but most of all it was charming in a very real kind of way...no mass produced prints on the walls like the big box places...no banal signs to save the earth by not washing towels. In short the feeling is more like being a guest in Thomas Jefferson's home as the building and the feeling is of that era. The bed was comfortable and nicely appointed with a soft quilt and feather pillows. The bathroom is modern, clean and sports a great shower

We missed breakfast so no report on that. We did enjoy dinner both nights of our stay as the food is fresh, local and perfectly displayed and prepared. The service is exceptional in both the restaurant and the B&B with the wait staff and managers taking the time to ensure we were fully satisfied!

The wine list is not to be believed. They have a huge wine book with prices that are very fair but exceptionally reasonable on fine wines. I am told the wine cellar is a must see as it is an authentic vestige of the era holding thousands of hand picked wines dating back to the early 20th century.

In short this is a very personal establishment. It is family run and well cared for. They have what seems to be a vibrant business and the reason is all about attention to detail in every way.

We love Vermont, but this is about 5 hours closer to where we live with the same net effect of being away from it all in the forest.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank glovescout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (126)
There are newer reviews for Crabtree's Kittle House
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

103 - 109 of 126 reviews

Reviewed September 21, 2011

We stayed here a couple of weeks ago. It was okay. We had booked months in advance as we wanted to check out the restaurant, but they called us 2 days before our reservation to tell us there was a wedding taking place that evening in there and they were putting us in a room away from the wedding to keep the noise level down. Needless to say we could here the DJ playing wedding music at full blast till 12.30pm. We had requested a king bed but had a room with 2 queens due to this event. Beds were not that comfortable, they decor was tired and the Continental breakfast was disappointing. Also there was a cat wandering around the dining room at breakfast time which wasn't great for me as I'm allergic! (but that's not the cat's fault).

I would definitely go back to the restaurant but next time by next time I wouldn't bother staying unless I was attending a wedding there.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cailindona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2011

Stayed with friends for three nights at the inn. Ate in the main restaurant twice, and the tavern once. The food was great, with an emphasis on local products. The staff couldn't have been more accommodating. We enjoyed the continental breakfast served in the dining room each morning with the French doors open to the lovely garden where weddings often take place, and the view is across the valley over a golf course. A real country feeling, even though the inn is in crowded Westchester County. The location is very convenient to the tourist destinations we had come to see; Kykuit, Philipsburg Manor, Lyndhurst Castle, Sunnyside, and the fabulous sculpture gardens at Pepsico headquarters. I would definitely return for another stay, and recommend it highly.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank innkeeper12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2011

We dined in the Kittle House restaurant several times when we lived in the Chappaqua area. On a return visit to the town for a celebration, we decided to stay the night at the Kittle House. Hotels are scarce in this pricey part of Westchester County NY, which makes Kittle House all the more appealing. The place is old but well-kept, the staff was friendly and efficient. Our second floor room which overlooked a golf course was comfortable, although a wedding in progress when we checked in made for a bit of noise (we were warned in advance by the reservation clerk). The complimentary breakfast (bagels, fruit etc) was adequate but ample. Sunday brunch was offered but we had to leave. We feel we got our money's worth - even if we didn't get to see former President Clinton - who lives nearby and has been known to dine at the Kittle quite often!

Room Tip: If booking on a weekend, ask about possible wedding celebration noise.
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank schmidbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2011

Delightful people, clean homey rooms, fantastic food and an amazing wine list. The value is indisputable, the surroundings lovely.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pthomas900
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2011

We were very disappointed by this inn--it wasn't horrible, just really, really mediocre. The gentleman who showed us to our room turned on the air conditioning unit, but 15 minutes or so later when the room was still sweltering I realized that he'd turned on the heat instead of the AC. The beds were lumpy and the pillows were poly filled, rather than down or feathers. Our room was not as clean as it should have been--the tub had a clump of hair in it and there were cobwebs in the corners of the room. Our east-facing window was missing a shade, so light poured into our room in the early morning. The complimentary breakfast looked appealing--lots of fresh fruit and bread--but some of berries that they served were rotting or moldy. Next time we will be staying elsewhere.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mpat223
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2011

So here's the good news: The grounds are beautiful, and the rooms are clean and quaint. The restaurant is excellent.

And here's the bad news: The staff is terrible. When we reserved our room, we were told that it is a "festive inn", which I took to mean that there might be some noise from live music in the bar. What this actually meant was that they would be hosting two weddings that evening that lasted until midnight. At which point it was time to start putting things away, which also created a lot of noise until around 1:30 in the morning. My wife and I didn't get a lot of sleep that night, and not for the good reason...

The staff was terrible. When we called to complain at midnight, they actually laughed at us. When we asked to speak to a manager the next morning, the owner's mother was incredibly rude to us.

My advice is to stay far away from this terrible inn. Truly, one of the worst weekend getaways of my life.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mdallasm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chappaqua
10.9 mi away
Tarrytown House Estate on the Hudson
2.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Mt. Kisco (Westchester Cty)
9.5 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Tarrytown Westchester County
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.2 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#1 of 1 in Hawthorne
150 reviews
10.3 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton New York, Westchester
9.7 mi away
SpringHill Suites Tarrytown Greenburgh
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crabtree's Kittle House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crabtree's Kittle House

Address: 11 Kittle Rd, Chappaqua, NY 10514-1800 (Formerly Inn at Kittle House)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Westchester County > Chappaqua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Chappaqua
Price Range: $175 - $205 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crabtree's Kittle House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Crabtree's Kittle House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crabtree`s Kittle House Hotel Chappaqua

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing