We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“America's WORST Value Inn”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Americas Best Value Inn
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Central Valley
Middlebury, Vermont
Level 6 Contributor
186 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
“America's WORST Value Inn”
Reviewed July 11, 2008

I cannot recommend this motel. It has to be the worst place that my husband and I have ever stayed...we almost didn't go to the room, based on what we were seeing from the outside. I had made the reservation online (1 night, July 13, 2008), where everything looked acceptable. I wasn't expecting fancy, but I always expect clean! This facility was terribly dirty, run-down, and smelly. The dumpster was overflowing with garbage in the parking lot. We asked for a room on the second floor, and the enclosed stairway up to the room smelled like urine. The door handles were crusty, the wood walls molding. The view out the buggy window below revealed an abandoned swimming pool that was filled with debris and cesspool-colored water. Honestly, we almost didn't make it to the room, but because the room was prepaid, we chanced a look. The room was visually better, but having seen the lack of care on the outside, we were uneasy about the inside. We did stay overnight but could simply not enjoy it. The bathroom was so tiny: when you sat on the toilet, you couldn't reach the toilet paper because it was behind the open door, and you couldn't close the door because it wouldn't clear your knees. We roasted in the night because the A/C wasn't cooling properly, yet in the morning there was no hot water for a shower! We called the front desk and were told that he would call us back. About 15 minutes later he called back to say that there would be hot water in about another 15 minutes, and we saw him cross the parking lot to go to what was the boiler room on the floor below us to turn on the hot water. There were a fair number of cars in the parking lot, and I can’t imagine that many customers weren’t disappointed, if not disgusted, like us. Do yourself a favor…if you can, spend just a few more dollars, or minutes of travel time, and select another place to sleep.

  • Liked — Low cost was attractive, until I got there.
  • Disliked — Dirty, smelly, no hot water in AM
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank suzinvt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

261 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    72
    86
    34
    37
See reviews for
97
70
15
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2008

The reason we have chosen this inn is because it is closest to the outlet mall (about half a mile). And we had no idea it can be that bad.

We have not stayed at other Americas Best Value Inn, so we are not sure if others are as bad as this particular one.

The smell inside the room is so terrible. I am sure other guests have complained about this many times already, but they still have not changed the cleaning detegent they are using.

So for the whole night, the smell make you feel like you are staying in a public toilet for the whole night. It is just so uncomfortable.

They are charging between ~$80 to ~$110 per room, and it is so over-price for the kind of room they have. A rate of $29 will be much more reasonable.

Stayed December 2007
Helpful?
3 Thank alexchan88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2007

I don't understand how other reviews can list anything positive. The smell that another reviewers refers to is cheap detergent. You smell it as soon as you enter the room (and we tried three rooms while we were there - they all had this same smell). It is not a pleasant smell but rather a cheap, unrelenting odor that reminds me of poorly maintained public washrooms.
I feel bad for the staff that work there. They are polite and friendly but clearly have to work in poor conditions. The cleaning lady drags around three trolleys, one being a modified grocery cart. She is not given the proper cleaning supplies to maintain the rooms. The window sills are full of dead bugs, mildew and dust. The tubs have stained bottoms and the heaters are damaged and spattered with rust.
The stair case to the second story of rooms is filthy. The concrete steps and floor has peeling paint, more dead bugs, cobwebs, etc. The whole experience was simply gross.
Under no circumstances would I ever stay in this location again.

  • Disliked — the rooms
  • Stayed September 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
6 Thank catt72Toronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
77 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2007

Its ok if u just wan a place to sleep after a day of shopping.
Thot hotel is a short stroll to outlet...nope it wasnt..
tks to e shuttle driver who drive us to hotel after dropping passenger off to outlet from Harriman train station.

Stayed July 2006
Helpful?
Thank zulnas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed October 6, 2005

On a recent trip to West Point Military Academy, we stayed one night at the Harriman Motor Inn in Central Valley, NY. What a disappointment! I made our reservations on-line, afer being impressed with the picture supposedly of the Harriman on their web-site. As it turns out the picture was not of the Harriman at all---no semblance! As soon as we checked in, we went to look for the site of the photo. The photo used as advertisement for the Harriman was of the Premium Outlet Mall a mile or so from the Harriman. Had I seen a photo of the Harriman I would have never made reservations there. Only the barest of essentials are in the rooms...a bed, a TV, a couple of towels in the bathroom. The room was not very clean, had an odor which I could not place, and even the soft drink machine outside of the office was empty. We are glad that we only made reservations for one night there. There are plenty of nicer motels closer to West Point.

  • Stayed October 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
15 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesham, Buckinghamshire, UK
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2005

Dont expect luxury. This is a traditional roadside motel with no additional facilities but the rooms are clean and fairly well appointed. Theres no swimming pool despite some adverts on leaflets for it - the pool closed in 2004.
Its clean and economical for an overnight stop if you have spent all day shopping at Woodbury Common factory outlets which are less than 1/4 mile away and need somewhere to stay at 10pm!

  • Stayed September 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank GroverSmiths
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Central Valley
1.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Harriman Woodbury
Hampton Inn Harriman Woodbury
#1 of 2 in Central Valley
749 reviews
7.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites West Point
10.4 mi away
Inn on the Hudson
Inn on the Hudson
#2 of 2 in Peekskill
212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.3 mi away
The Thayer Hotel
The Thayer Hotel
#1 of 1 in West Point
962 reviews
8.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Chester - Monroe - Goshen
7.0 mi away
Bear Mountain Inn
Bear Mountain Inn
#1 of 1 in Bear Mountain
322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Americas Best Value Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Americas Best Value Inn

Property: Americas Best Value Inn
Address: 139 Route 32, Central Valley, NY 10917-3604 (Formerly Harriman Motor Inn)
Location: United States > New York > Central Valley
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Central Valley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Americas Best Value Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Americas Best Value Inn of Central Valley, New York, located less than 15 miles from Stewart International Airport and an hour from New York City. Visit the famous West Point Military Academy and West Point Museum. Enjoy shopping at the Woodbury Common Premium Outlets, a day of family fun at the Splash Down Water Park, outdoor activities at Bear Mountain State Park, a tasting at Brotherhood Winery, or a night out at Bodles Opera House. Sit down to a delicious meal at one of our local restaurants including Cosimo's Brick Oven-Woodbury, Positano Grill, or Gasho of Japan. Wake up with a free cup of coffee and our free continental breakfast each morning. Appreciate our exterior corridor hotel's stunning mountain views and the exceptional guest service provided by our 24-hour front desk staff. Our on-site business center offers all of the necessary tools to stay on top of your business needs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Americas Best Value Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Americas Best Value Hotel Central Valley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing