We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great value motel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Chalet Inn & Suites
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Centerport
Fernandina Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
56 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“great value motel”
Reviewed May 17, 2014

I was traveling alone and found this motel to be a very good choice. I stayed here since I was meeting friends in nearby Huntington. This place was convenient, clean, and spacious. The price is very reasonable and they provide a modest breakfast consisting of poundcake, pastries, fruit and coffee. The room had a television, ironing board, small refrigerator, hair dryer. The bathroom had a spotless, molded plastic shower (no bath tub) and granite counter top. If I were in the area, I would stay here again.

The bedding was clean and was not old. The room and the facility is not what I would call "upscale", but the price-value is excellent.

I did have trouble making a reservation using their website and had to call in to do it.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jan c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lifeisgood41, Owner at Chalet Inn & Suites, responded to this review, May 20, 2014
Thank you so much for the review! Your support is much appreciated. Also, your feedback about our online reservation portal is very helpful. Unfortunately, at this time we do not have a website that you can reserve a room on. Upon making a reservation or inquiry for availability, you must phone in and we are happy to speak with you. Next time you're in the area, we'd love to see you in for another visit.

Thank you,
Donna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    20
    11
    6
    6
See reviews for
20
12
7
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed December 8, 2013

What a great place to stay,pricing was right.accomadations we're clean ,bed was comfy and the room was spotless .great water pressure in shower,plenty of soap,hair dryer,ironing board.it has a bed and breakfast feel to it.my wife and I were very pleased with the staff,they were so helpfulthe continental breakfast consisted of fresh fruit,bagels,and pound cake,muffins.overall we just loved the place,,and could not find anything wrong,and we travel often.

Room Tip: We stayed up on the hill,it overlooks a pond,and was quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Rich K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lifeisgood41, Owner at Chalet Inn & Suites, responded to this review, December 12, 2013
So glad we knocked it out of the park for you and your wife, Rich! Anytime you two need a nice place to lay your head and unwind, our doors are open. Hope you both are doing well.

Best,
Donna & Debbie, Owners
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2013

We were in the area for a wedding and needed a place to crash overnight. All of the other reasonably-priced hotels within 10 miles were booked solid, so we decided to try the Chalet Inn.

Having read the reviews here before booking, I was pretty much prepared for what we drove up to find: a motor lodge straight from the 70s.

We got there at mid-morning and figured there was a good chance the room wouldn't be ready, but the clerk was able to check us in. The room we got had two double beds versus the king I'd reserved, but at that point it was more important to us to just get settled.

It was, however, a little troubling that the clerk didn't bother to point out the difference or ask if we minded. Also, since we were in town for an evening wedding the following day, we asked if there was any chance we could get a later check-out time, so we wouldn't have to wear our formal clothes all day. Again, rather than saying she'd ask the manager (maybe she was the manager, I don't know) or suggest an alternative, she just said that maybe we could check out at noon rather than eleven a.m. She also said nothing about the continental breakfast, just handed us a key (when was the last time you got a physical key and key fob at a hotel? A real throwback!). I realize we were asking a big favor when it came to the check out time, but I would have hoped for a little more hospitable welcome overall. To be honest, the whole check-in process felt a little like the kind of transaction you might have at a no-tell motel.

Our room was right next to the outdoor stairway that leads to the upper floor of the motel. That proved to be problematic overnight, as people kept running up and down the stairs and talking loudly to each other. (To be fair, they might have been using regular voices; the walls, doors and ceiling weren't particularly noise-deadening.)

The room itself was serviceable though dated in decor. Everything was basic -- about what you'd expect from a Motel 6. The only problem was the shower. Water pressure left a lot to be desired, and it took constant adjusting to maintain a reasonable temperature. Rather than having one central valve with a scald-proofing feature, the shower had two knobs, and we both were frustrated with the need to readjust after 30 seconds of the appropriate temperature. We were only there one night -- far too briefly to have to commit time to learning the intricacies of the room's plumbing.

The "complimentary continental breakfast" advertised on the website consisted of small cups of coffee and the type of cellophane-wrapped pound cake and danish one would find at the corner deli. I think there were a few fresh bagels there, too. It seemed as if they were trying to provide as little as they could and still meet their stated obligation.

All in all, if we find ourselves in the area again, we'll likely look for other accommodations before staying at the Chalet Inn again. It's a place to rest your head and get some sleep (provided nobody's talking outside your door all night), but not the kind of place I'd stay for a weekend getaway.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NewJerseyRaconteur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lifeisgood41, Owner at Chalet Inn & Suites, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to share your feedback with us. First, we wanted to apologize for the miscommunication with the beds and the continental breakfast. We should have been better about setting expectations and this is great to know for future situations. While we do not boast a full on hot meal buffet, our complimentary continental breakfast is designed to help you kick start your day of travel on the right foot! As for the noise level and the shower, did you by any chance mention this to the front desk? We would have been more than happy to switch you to a different room farther away from the stairs and also helped show you how to navigate our showers. Next time, don't hesitate to do this! We want you to be happy. It seems that there was just a communication barrier, but we're confident that we can overcome it, and hopefully you'll give us a second chance to do just that.

Best,
Donna & Debbie, Owners
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ijamsville
Level Contributor
45 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2013

The first bad sign is that you need to be buzzed in to the front office. The second bad sign is that there were some clothing items outside the front door that seemed no one cared to pick up or notice. The place has the feeling of a motel that most people visit with a person who is not a spouse and only stay for a 'few hours'. Beds were very soft and sleeping with a loud air conditioner was almost impossible. On the plus side, the neighborhood is lovely and the price was right. However I wouldn't recommend anyone spend much time in the room and only stay for a night if needed.

Room Tip: not sure there is any 'good' room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kardan127
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lifeisgood41, Owner at Chalet Inn & Suites, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Thanks for the feedback. While I'm glad to hear that you love our neighborhood surroundings, I'm sorry to hear that your stay with us was not as impressive. It was disappointing to be compared to a motel, since we do not see ourselves as that at all. That being said— it seems that there were some issues to be addressed. Did you by any chance mention this to the front desk? We would have been more than happy to move you to a different room with a quieter air conditioner. We aim to accommodate and appreciate the opportunity to rectify an issue on the spot. As for the clothes, this is great feedback and we'll keep this in mind going forward. Hopefully, you will give us another chance to impress. We're confident that one more shot is all we would need!

Best,
Donna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maple Shade, New Jersey
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2013

We were discovering Long Island and the Chalet Inn was what we needed. The check-in was easy, the bed was comfortable, they even had coffee & bagels in the morning. It's all we needed for the night! The only point I would tell them is to watch the conversation going on behind the desk in the morning... Did not need to know about an upcoming trial of a relative

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank vivapd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lifeisgood41, Owner at Chalet Inn & Suites, responded to this review, September 8, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to leave us some great feedback. We appreciate it. We're happy to hear that you found your stay to be nice and comfortable and that you were able to get everything you needed for the night. As for the front desk situation, we apologize for that and will make sure to give your feedback to the appropriate staff to make sure that sort of thing doesn't happen in the future. Thanks again, and we look forward to your next stay with us.

Best,
Donna & Debbie, Owners
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plainfield, NJ
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2013

Chalet Inn and Suites was a great find in a nice area of Long Island. Yes it was quaint, but furnishings worked fine, and it was very clean. Pricing was quite reasonable. My sister forgot her kindle, and when she called from home that night, it had been tagged with the room number and locked up. My sister called "Donna" the next morning and she mailed it back the same day. We would stay again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 215Terry_V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lifeisgood41, Owner at Chalet Inn & Suites, responded to this review, September 8, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to write us a review! I'm glad to hear that not only was your stay comfortable, but that we were able to get your sister her Kindle back. We know how stressful that can be! Thanks again, and we look forward to your next stay with us.

Best,
Donna & Debbie, Owners
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cotswolds, UK
Level Contributor
53 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2013 via mobile

The room as are dark but ours was spacious and clean. The bathroom was small but had an excellent shower. Wifi was good and reliable. Complimentary breakfast is collected from the office: good coffee, fresh fruit and cake.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Longhurst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lifeisgood41, Partner at Chalet Inn & Suites, responded to this review, September 28, 2013
Thanks for the feedback, we really appreciate it! While we're glad to hear that you enjoyed your shower and found your room to be spacious and clean, we were disappointed to hear that your room was dark and that you felt the bathroom to be small. While our bathrooms are on the smaller side, we think it adds a cozy charm to the inn. As for the lighting, did you bring this to the front desk by any chance? We would have been more than happy to switch you into a room with better lighting. Next time, don't be afraid to ask for any kind of accommodations. If it is within reason, we're more than happy to provide. Hopefully, we will see you again soon!—Donna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Centerport
7.5 mi away
Best Western Woodbury Inn
7.4 mi away
Days Inn Woodbury Long Island
5.7 mi away
Oheka Castle
Oheka Castle
#1 of 3 in Huntington
223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Long Island/Commack
16.4 mi away
Danford's Hotel & Marina
Danford's Hotel & Marina
#1 of 2 in Port Jefferson
468 reviews
7.7 mi away
Melville Marriott Long Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chalet Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chalet Inn & Suites

Property: Chalet Inn & Suites
Address: 23 Centershore Rd, Centerport, NY 11721-1526
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Long Island > Centerport
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Centerport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Chalet Inn & Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chalet Inn & Suites is a quiet and quaint inn dedicate to a superior guest experience. We are centrally located on the North Shore of Long Island in the town of Centerport, neighboring the villages of Huntington, Northport and Cold Spring Harbor. Our prime, yet quiet location provides easy access to entertainment and culture, such as the Vanderbilt Museum & Planetarium, Cold Spring Harbor Fish Hatchery & Whaling Museum, state parks, fine boutiques, excellent restaurants and Centerport Beach. Guests find out inn to be a desirable stay for wedding weekends, escapes from the city, couples’ getaways, business stays during the week, and our family friendly amenities.Chalet Inn & Suites recently underwent a renovation of all rooms and offers comfortable, modern, clean guest rooms and suites. Enjoy free Wi-Fi in every room and a complimentary continental breakfast each morning. Our suites offer a full kitchen and dining area and a living room or sitting area, making them the perfect option for longer stays or families. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Chalet Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing